We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully located, excellent staff; need to keep up appearances”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of W Atlanta Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Atlanta Midtown
Ranked #102 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautifully located, excellent staff; need to keep up appearances”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Spent 3 nights at the W during Feb '14.

It's an interesting place with the entrance more akin to a dark night club with security staff letting you in.

You can tell that a lot of thought has been put into making this place feel different, though it's not my preferred taste of hotel decor.
My 12th floor room was well appointed, great bed & shower but in the daylight you could start to see traces of the decor looking old - scratches in a door here, chips out of the table there.

If you can I'd ask for a Nth facing room to watch the freeway juncture that separates the North and South sides of the city. The W is within minutes walking distance of the Atlanta Aquarium and World of Coke and the soon to be completed dome.

The restaurant downstairs was ridiculously good. I was part of a group of 10 and every single meal that came out was highly rated by the person eating it. And you'll pay for it being so! If you're after a simpler fair, there a more casual dining experience across the road from the hotel

Used the gym each day - it is a GENUINE gym - free weights, running machines, cycles and more along with a speed ball and bag, weight machines and a yoga/stretching area.

Perhaps the most impressive thing about this hotel were the staff - on the ball, quick to handle requests or offer advice as needed. Our group came in from all over the place - South Africa, Australia and across the US and bookings handled with ease

Another great thing was that it was just a couple of hundred meters walk from the train station back to the airport - don't bother with a cab as the MARTA was quick, clean and perfectly placed

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RightFuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hello Right Future.
Thank you for your review. We were happy to hear your experience at the hotel was a good one! We are very proud of our team here and will be sure to share your comments with them. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Atlanta.
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    433
    289
    193
    116
See reviews for
115
265
110
611
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I misplaced my Seattle Sea Hawks Jersey on my travels to Atlanta. Attending a Superbowl
Party during a Week Long Business Conference. Arrived at W Hotel and realized my Jersey was missing. 3 hours before Game time. Searched nearbye Sports stores, called Sports stores and No Jersey Available. Asked the Consciege could they help since I was heading into a meeting. 30 min before Game time they delivered not only a Jersey but a Jersey with Russel Wilson Number. It was the fantastic. The New Lucky Jersey will be worn at every game and remind me of the extra touches provided by W Hotel. The Hotel was great, great location, good food and Consciege did work to make me ( guest) extra happy to be staying at the W.

Room Tip: My room was excellent with a great view. Quiet great view and the bed was really comfortable. Hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hello JamesD.
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review for us! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and even more so that you got another jersey. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here this weekend for my husband birthday...AMAZING is all I can say...staff very nice, rooms nice and clean!!!!! We never had to leave the hotel for any thing a bar and a club 24 hr room service great food .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kesha30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello Kesha30.
Great to hear you had an awesome experience. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Atlanta! All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

After several hours stuck on the highway in the ice of January 2014, we arrived at the W. While it was extremely cold and the staff were bundled up, they were amazing. They too were stuck at the hotel for 3 days - same staff and same smiling faces for several days. Given all of the challenges that week, they remained positive and professional. The staff worked on a skeleton crew and must have been exhausted and missing home, but they did everything they could to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. I was very impressed to see them remain positive during these challenges. In addition, the food and accommodations were quite nice. I would recommend this hotel to those visiting the Atlanta area!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello Kelley K.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review during SnowJam #2 in Atlanta. We really are so thankful to have such an amazing team here at the hotel and appreciate you recognizing the same thing. We are definitely going to share your nice comments with them. Glad you made it home safely and we do look forward to seeing you back again soon...with NO SNOW!
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I spent a week at this hotel. Outward appearances are good but it is let down on a number of fronts. Though I had a lovely large suite, the maids seemed unable to systematically clean the rooms and restock. On several occasions I ran out of shower gel. Also the in room coffee machine spewed coffee everywhere but in the cup.

In top of this the hotel was noisy, not just from the weekend and Super Bowl partying but also the elevators. You could hear them all night long going up and down.

And a final annoyance, the room keys were useless. I went through 4 different keys. And no I didn't have them next to my phone, nearly everyone I spoke to had had the same problem. Ok but when you are on the 24th floor and it takes on average 5mins for the elevator to get you anywhere it's a real pain.

So nice and trendy place but it lacks the basic service you'd expect.



Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Acwtall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hello Acwtall.
I appreciate you taking the time to send your review. However, I hate to hear your stay was one not up to both of our expectations. When you have a moment, would you please email me so we can discuss your stay and make this right for you? GMWAtlanta.Midtown@whotels.com. Thank you again for your review; I hope to speak with you soon.
Sincerely,
Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

this is a classic W hotel, decent bar/restaurant on the 2nd floor with asian fusion food. good place to stay if you are in town for business but want access to other parts of the city. good concierge service

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hello Chris D.
Thanks for your nice review. We will definitely share your comments with our team. We do hope to see you back in Atlanta real soon.
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I like the location of this hotel and have stayed there 3 times now on business trips to Atlanta. I have never written a review on trip advisor before, but feel compelled to now because so many things were wrong with my room: drywall was dinged in multiple locations... hooks and fixtures attached to the walls were falling/pulling out of the wall... furniture was damaged, missing hardware... doors were dinged, lots of greasy fingerprints everywhere... the light fixture in the bathroom was missing the glass canopy/cover and had been replaced with a paper/canvas piece... I found a boot and water bottles from previous guests in the room! I stayed for 5 nights and had agreed to the "green housekeeping option" when I checked-in which meant not DAILY towel service, but at least one cleaning while I was there. Cleaning never happened once. All this just added up to an unsatisfactory experience at a supposedly premium hotel brand.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hello Brian H.
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are sorry to hear we did not execute with distinction during your visit. We would love to speak with you directly and try and rectify the shortcomings. Please email us at GMWatlanta,midtown@whotels.com. We look forward to personally working with you.
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
W Atlanta Downtown
#58 of 173 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 173 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
#56 of 173 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Atlanta Marriott Suites Midtown
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
#11 of 173 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#16 of 173 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Atlanta Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta Midtown

Property: W Atlanta Midtown
Address: 188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#28 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Midtown Hotel offers the coolest stay in the heart of Atlanta's hottest neighborhood, conveniently located near the Fox Theater, Piedmont Park, and some of the chicest clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Atlanta Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta
w Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing