We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older W Property that is looking dated/tired”
Review of W Atlanta Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Atlanta Midtown
Ranked #109 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I recently stayed here for 1 night, and have mixed feelings about the property. Check in was quick and smooth (SPG Gold status). Stayed on the 15th floor. The furnishings in the room look a littled tired. Overall the hotel decor looks a little dated. The gym is on the basement level, nothing out of the ordinary, decent machines. The room was quiet, bed comfortable (no bathtub in bathroom, note to families). If you are a SPG member, and need to stay in Atlanta, I would recommend the LeMeridien near the Perimeter Mall. Brand new property, also the Westin in that area I would say is also a better option.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Waitingforvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Hello WaitingforVacation.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review- we do love to hear from our SPG Members. We are currently working on some updates around the property and we do hope you will give us another chance on your next visit to Atlanta- we do think you will be impressed.
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

825 - 831 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

If you want to see where you're going, don't go to this W. Everything in it is dark and dingy. The bathroom lighting is florescent; putting on makeup was a challenge. The closet is a tiny indentation in the wall with a cheesy curtain over it ; the drawer space in the room is inadequate; the restaurants have the slowest service I've ever experienced in a major city. My group placed our breakfast order and advised the server that we had a meeting to get to. After 55 minutes ( a lot of patience for breakfast) the meal had still not arrived, and we had to leave -- hungry. Lunch was similar, I wouldn't risk dinner there at all. There is no newsstand or convenience store in the hotel ( a major inconvenience for a business meeting) and the only decent thing was hot water for showering and hand washing.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a decent chair and light for reading. Others have bizarre little couches. The 23rd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Hello SheilaK.
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We were certainly disappointed to hear you had such an unpleasant experience. Your comments and feedback have been shared with the hotel team. We would love to have an opportunity to earn your confidence back on a future visit. Please let us know if that is something you would have interest in doing. You can reach us at GMWAtlanta.Midtown@WHotels.com. We hope to hear from you.
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Top of the line in hospitality w/ great features & a nice room. Parts show a little wear & tear in basic features of the room but overall, they have kept the rooms & common areas in great shape.

Standard pricing for Midtown Atlanta but along with a high end experience like the Four Seasons, I was impressed with the friendly staff at the front desk, valet parking & even maintenance (who I ran into in the hallway). Those type of "little things" help create a friendly & inviting environment for an overall great stay.

We had the Fantastic Suite & had a great view of Midtown & Buckhead from the 25th floor. One thing we were upset about was that we could not access the outdoor, glass elevator that we have seen numerous times driving by. We were told it comes "randomly" but throughout the night & next morning, it said it was on the 3rd floor the whole time. This was something we were looking forward to but we were a little disappointed that we couldn't take a ride up in it.

Thank you to the team at Whiskey Bar & Spice Market as well, for enhancing our experience while staying at the W.

Room Tip: Fantastic Suite 2509 (view of Buckhead w/ awesome shower)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoey2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Hello Shoey2100.
Thank you for your awesome review. We really feel that we are very lucky to have such a wonderful team here at the W Atlanta-Midtown and thank you for your nice comments about them and our property. And our apologies for glass elevator being out of service when you were here. That means you will just have to come back and ride it then. So when will we see you back at W Atlanta-Midtown?
All the best to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

It was a great stay! Our room had an issue but the concierge gave us great service and accommodated us. Also Byron, helped us find nightlife activities which we thought was great not being from Atlanta. Overall, this hotel was perfect and will definitely recommend others here

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jahquiis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Hello Jahquiis.
Thank you for the awesome feedback! We love our team here (especially Byron) and are glad you enjoyed them as well. Look forward to seeing you soon! All the best, W Atlanta-Midtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel is chic and has a European feel. The staff are very courteous and professional. The rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable. My room came with the snack bar and minibar fully stocked. This is a good location in Midtown Atlanta with lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetset2032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Hello JetSet2032.
Great to hear you had an awesome experience. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Atlanta! All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

W Atlanta Midtown is simply fantastic. The amenities in the room are endless from martini shaker, chaise long to Bliss toiletries. Small Biergarten right outside. Very friendly front desk throughout stay.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Hello SvenP.
Thanks for the awesome feedback! Hope to see you again on your next visit to Atlanta.
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I recently stayed at the W Midtown in Atlanta for a business trip. The hotel was clean, located in the heart of Midtown Atlanta, and overall a great value. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean and very accessible for someone using a wheelchair. The only issue I had in my room with my wheelchair, was the configuration of the door to the room and the door to the bathroom. It was very difficult to open the door to the bathroom while in my wheelchair without getting very close to the wall. It took a few minutes to get into the bathroom. They need to do something with the doors to make it easier. The rest of the room was great. The height of the bed was perfect and there was enough space to navigate the rest of the room. The restaurant in the hotel had great food and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredandSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Hello FredandSusan.
Thank you for the awesome feedback! We will definitely share your comments about the spacing of the doors and easier access for wheelchairs with our Engineering team- thank you for that. We look forward to seeing you back with us again soon.
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
W Atlanta Downtown
#60 of 172 in Atlanta
1,077 reviews
Midtown
Atlanta Marriott Suites Midtown
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#5 of 172 in Atlanta
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
#57 of 172 in Atlanta
690 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Atlanta Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta Midtown

Address: 188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#30 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: $170 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Midtown Hotel offers the coolest stay in the heart of Atlanta's hottest neighborhood, conveniently located near the Fox Theater, Piedmont Park, and some of the chicest clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your W Atlanta Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta
w Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing