We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Stay in MidTown Atlanta”
Review of W Atlanta Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Atlanta Midtown
Ranked #102 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
“Disappointing Stay in MidTown Atlanta”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The good news is staff is friendly and, for the most part, efficient. On the surface, the property seems to be clean with good attention to detail however, carefully scrutiny would often suggests otherwise.
The bad news is the hotel is getting “tired” and needs attention to things like room furnishings, finishes, other fixed assets and the WiFi (way too slow). My TV did not work properly, there were no umbrellas (it was raining the morning of 17 Oct when I left for a breakfast meeting a few blocks away). Parking @ $32 is egregious in my view. The folks try hard but this is not nearly the standard of the Four Seasons and is really a far cry from the Loews two blocks away (they gave me an umbrella for the day) which is about the same price point (Four Seasons clearly is not). In the end, a disappointment for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YYZGuy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello YYZGuy99.
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are sorry to hear we did not execute with distinction during your visit. We would love to speak with you directly and try and rectify our shortcomings. Please email us at GMWAtlanta.Midtown@WHotels.com. We look forward to personally working with you.
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    444
    297
    203
    120
See reviews for
123
280
113
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, OH
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last weekend with a friend for pride. We got a great event rate. Perfect midtown location, very easy stop from the Marta stop which is a direct 25 minute train ride from the aiport. Marta is only a couple blocks away and there are plenty of places to eat at in Midtown by the hotel. Very safe area.

Staff was very friendly. At check in they had pride guides they gave us. I am a Delta crossover member and they recognized that and gave us a nice upgrade and said a 4 p.m. check out wouldn't be a problem.

They emailed me the folio before checkout which I appreciated. My only complaint was after checked I was emailed a revised folio which had mini bar charges on it that weren't ours, so make sure to review your bill. After emailing the hotel we were assured the charge would be credited.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesteroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello Jamesteroh.
Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled you had a great stay with us for Pride Weekend. We are so thankful to be the host hotel for that event and enjoy the fun weekend. I do apologize about the charge on your bill. Please let me know if that has not be corrected and I will certainly take care of it. GMWAtlanta.Midtown@WHotels.com We look forward to having you stay with us again next year- if not sooner.
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENVER
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

When I am on the road working, regardless of the hotel, I always hope to find someone on the hotel staff who can make things happen. On my recent trip to the W Midtown Terry was that guy. I needed a last minute ice bucket, Terry took care of it. I needed some extra chairs, again, Terry got it done. I travel often for work and know that everything runs more smoothly when a guy like Terry is around. I'll be back at the W Midtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottwebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello ScottWebber.
Thank you for your comments. We are thrilled you enjoyed our hotel. W Atlanta-Midtown is very proud of our team and we will certainly share this with Terry. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit- business or pleasure.
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was in town for a business trip and the staff were all incredibly hard-working and kind. Especially Tasha! The venue is well designed and beautiful. I wish the parking structure was easier to navigate and more integrated with the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebbylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello Rebbylicious.
Thank you for your nice review and we agree- our staff is incredible and Tasha is a true gem. And we do apologize the parking garage was a little challenging. Next time when you stay with us try our Valet service.
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Midtown is always fun. Terrance is absolutely fantastic and is always super kind and helpful to make sure everything is perfect on my stay and he keeps me and my friends coming back!! Everyone else we encounter are always very attentive to our needs as well. The rooms suit us perfectly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waynedcba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello Waynedcba.
Thank you for your comments. We are thrilled you enjoyed our hotel. W Atlanta-Midtown is very proud of our team and we will certainly share this with Terrance. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithonia, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The place is already beautifully decorated! My sister took me here the night of my birthday. All the staff wished me a happy birthday upon my arrival. ( that detail was in our reservation) The bartender sent three glasses of champagne and my own mini bottle of champagne for me. That was just the beginning. After that was on the table a man came over with warm towels soaked in lavender and lemon so we could clean our hands. Talk about a1 service! The waitress was very attentive and the food came out quickly. I decided I'm going back for some after work drinks next week! I loved it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello BrandiL.
Great to hear you had an awesome experience and an even better birthday. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I am an SPG platinum member so I've stayed at a lot of Star wood properties and W may not be my favorite over all but, the staff is phenomenal. Everyone is so nice and helpful especially in Spice Market. I don't feel like I'm having breakfast in a restaurant. It's more dining with friends. The host Shawn always remembers my name and she makes sure I have my coffee first thing in the morning- she's an Angel for that alone. My server Gail gets my food on the table and my behind out the door in a timely manner. Anytime I'm in Atlanta the W has my business.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex2lan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello Alex2lan.
Thanks for the great review and kind words about our team- we will certainly share this with them! We love our SPG guests and especially our road warrior Platinum guests. Look forward to seeing you again soon!
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
W Atlanta Downtown
#56 of 173 in Atlanta
1,047 reviews
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#5 of 173 in Atlanta
2,131 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
#54 of 173 in Atlanta
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Midtown
Atlanta Marriott Suites Midtown
W Atlanta - Buckhead
#68 of 173 in Atlanta
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Atlanta Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta Midtown

Property: W Atlanta Midtown
Address: 188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#29 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Midtown Hotel offers the coolest stay in the heart of Atlanta's hottest neighborhood, conveniently located near the Fox Theater, Piedmont Park, and some of the chicest clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Atlanta Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta
w Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing