We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you expect from the W hotel brand”
Review of W Atlanta Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Atlanta Midtown
Ranked #101 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What you expect from the W hotel brand”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel reception is funky and there is a lovely bar area with seating outside. The drinks menu is extensive and not too expensive. I had a glass of New Zealand Sauvignon and it was $ 11. This is a cool place to hang out.
The hotel room was clean and had the obligatory Bliss products.
My only gripe was that the shower is not very powerful but the bed is comfy.
There is no coffee machine in the room but complimentary coffee is available in the morning in the lobby

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello Jo T,
Glad to hear you had a nice stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back again soon!
All the best, W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    444
    298
    204
    120
See reviews for
124
281
113
626
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Two good things: Terrence and Terry! Terrence at front desk was very kind and helpful. Terry did he very best to help us sort through the continuing issues.

All other things not Terrence or Terry:
Check in: On arrival, our group of women lugged our own luggage into hotel, though there were 3 available bellmen next to us - never offered to help. When Terrence at front desk asked them why they did not assist us, the guy told him, unkindly to "chill out, man."

Lunch: Our service at lunch: one entree never arrived and it took 40 mins. to get mustard we requested. A pan-handler solicited everyone on the lunch patio for money. When I alerted the bellmen to the issue, they completely ignored me and did nothing.

Room service: No menu in our room and took two calls to finally get one.

Sleep: Little. Though I am an SPG member and usually this guarantees a higher floor, we were on 11. The noise from the club on level 3 was unbearable. I was told that last call would be at 2:30am and then things would quiet down.

Lots of other terrible service misdemeanors, but these were main issues. Our room ended up being com'd, thank goodness, but we will never return to this W.

I've been to the W downtown twice and it was an entirely pleasant and different experience.

Room Tip: Ask for ear plugs if you are on the same side as the club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear SModan,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We were certainly disappointed to hear you had such an unpleasant experience. Your comments and feedback have been shared with the hotel team. We would love to have an opportunity to earn your confidence back on a future visit. Please let us know if that is something you would have interest in doing. You can reach us at GMWAtlanta.Midtown@WHotels.com. We hope to hear from you.
All the best, W Atlanta Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlanta hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I booked a room for one night at the W mainly because a friend was getting married and she is a little bit older so we just wanted to have a quiet evening. We arrived and checked in, it was pretty easy and the girl that checked us in was extremely friendly and sweet. We came down to the bar and had a few drinks outside in the lounge are and we also checked out whiskey blue, overall very nice. The room and amenities were amazing, a bit pricey for the things they offer (snacks and drinks and room service but all hotels are like this so not unusual). Our neighbors were playing really loud music and one call to the fd made that stop really quickly. So very attentive staff. Overall the stay was amazing (i loved the mattress, pillows and bed coverings..these were the most amazing ever and I wanted to take them home, no wonder W sells these) and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Atlanta.

Room Tip: Get a room a little higher up if this is your first time to Atlanta, it is pretty at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kizkaizminska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello Kizkaizminska,

Thank you for the awesome feedback! We are so thrilled you had a great experience at our hotel and look forward to having you stay with us again. All the best, W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good location, blocks from the MARTA. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Bar and Food terribly overpriced. Rooms average, but clean. Took until evening for housekeeping to catch up. Number of great restaurants within close walking - Joe's on Juniper an the Tap especially good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodbybronze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello Rodbybronze,
Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry to hear that it took that long for Style to clean your room. Next time please call down to our Whatever Whenever department so we can send someone to correct an issue like this. We hope the rest of your stay was good. Please let us know at GMWAtlanta.Midtown@WHotels.com if there is anything we can do.
All the best, W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very outdated decor, dark and gloomy. Staff promises one thing and does another. I called for early check-in and they said absolutely - no problem! When I got there they said it would be another hour or so. In the meantime, another friend from our party came to check-in and they gave her a room right away. I went and asked again about it and got a room right away. At check-in, they ask you what time you will be checking out but someone still comes at 9:00 in the morning and gets you out of bed to ask what time you are checking out! If you are an SPG memeber you get some vouchers for free drinks, appetizers, etc. Some SPG memebers in our party got them and some did not. There seems to be no rhyme or reason for what they do or say and don't consult the computer to see if you have already given information...they just do whatever....very poor communication. There is very little signage in the hotel and was hard to figure out where to go. Overall, I had very high expectations and was very dissappointed It was just outdated, poor service and not clean. Dark purple carpet, black furniture, shiny silver and pink wallpaper accents do not make me think luxury hotel. Our room also smelled like stale smoke.

Room Tip: ask to look at the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumford40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello Mumford40,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We were certainly dissapointed to hear you had such an unpleasant experience. Your comments and feedback have been shared with the hotel team. As a SPG we tremendously respect your loyalty to Starwood. We would love to have an opportunity to earn your confidence back on a future visit. Please let us know if that is something you would have interest in doing. You can reach us at GMWAtlanta.Midtown@WHotels.com. We hope to hear from you. All the best, W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The W Midtown was our midway stop on a 10 day roadtrip. Being from Canada, our perception of Atlanta was rather negative, and we opted to spend more money for a well-known hotel. It was definitely a great choice for us to do so. The W Midtown is like any other W - trendy, upbeat, modern, and clean. The room was beautiful with an awesome bathroom, tons of mirrors (which for 3 girls sharing a room was actually quite handy), and super comfortable beds. I'm not sure why other reviews are saying their rooms were bad, because ours was perfect, as far as hotel rooms go. We had a lot of fun in the hotel bar at night time. The location was great - I can't say enough about the Midtown area - it was way beyond our expectations in terms of street cleanliness. Clearly an affluent tourist area. We were close to some cool attractions like the Margaret Mitchell House and only a short drive to the Atlanta History Centre. My only issue with Atlanta (not the hotel) is that the city is seriously lacking in taxis - give yourself extra wait time if calling a cab to the hotel. The girl we spoke with at check-in was absolutely lovely with excellent customer service skills. I wish I remembered her name (she was working in the evening on Friday Aug 2nd).

TIP #1 - PARKING COSTS $30/NIGHT. If you haven't stayed in Atlanta before beware - this caught us off guard and ended up being an extra $60 that we hadn't anticipated spending. However that does give you as many ins-and-outs as you require with the valet service. It apparently costs you more to park yourself. Just beware.

We also incurred $20 a night in taxes/occupancy fees.

TIP #2 - from my own experience, and from speaking with others who have stayed at W's in other cities - watch the charges on your folio. I guess the shelving/bar unit/mini fridges have weight sensors on them, and if you move anything it triggers the computer system to bill your room for that item. We moved all of the liquor out of the frige and moved the food on the shelves to make room for our stuff, and we were billed for a candy bar and one of the beverages ($30 total). A quick email to the hotel cleared that up though, as it was an honest mistake. Just be wary of it if you stay at a W.

In all, great hotel, great area, good service!

Room Tip: Standard room is a King, which we had booked intentionally to share, but we just asked if there were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnMarieGoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Sunshine dmg,
Thank you for your review. We were happy to hear your experience at the hotel was a good one! Parking prices in the city can certainly be surprising but we take pride knowing ours is cheaper than other hotels. That being said, you are correct it is cheaper than parking in the attached parking deck and much more easy to get in and out privileges. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Atlanta. All the best, W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

All in all its not a bad hotel. I travel for business so I'm used to a bit of service in hotels. The service provided at what seems to all W hotels worldwide now is party central. What made me think this is a party hotel? Perhaps the marijuana smell in the halls, the cops breaking up fights out front and the scantily clad drunk girls looking for fun. Granted it was on a Saturday but still... Needing to show the cops your room key to even get near the premises is, well, bad.

Overall the rooms are average. Not very good. Beds are comfortable and there are nice views. The internet is a bit on on the slow end but it works. There are good restaurants around the hotel and I suggest you get out and find them, staying away from the party that is the W.

Summary: go here for a party and a good time. Dont go with kids or if you are on business.

Room Tip: away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AgileDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hello AgileTraveler,
Thank you for your review -- We sincerely apologize for the negative experiences you encountered; we pride ourselves on exceeding every guests expectations and we regret that we failed with you. When you have a moment, would you please email us so we can discuss your stay and make it right: GMWAtlanta.Midtown@whotels.com. We hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
W Atlanta Downtown
#56 of 173 in Atlanta
1,049 reviews
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#5 of 173 in Atlanta
2,137 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
#54 of 173 in Atlanta
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Midtown
Atlanta Marriott Suites Midtown
W Atlanta - Buckhead
#65 of 173 in Atlanta
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Atlanta Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta Midtown

Property: W Atlanta Midtown
Address: 188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#29 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Midtown Hotel offers the coolest stay in the heart of Atlanta's hottest neighborhood, conveniently located near the Fox Theater, Piedmont Park, and some of the chicest clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Atlanta Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta
w Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing