We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than I Expected”
Review of W Atlanta Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Atlanta Midtown
Ranked #106 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We reserved this hotel as guest of a wedding package so I did not know what to expect. I must say the hotel far exceeded our expectations. The staff was very friendly,helpful and attentive. We asked for a shower cap, it was delivered within minutes. The desk staff offered suggestions and travel tips to make our stay comfortable. The hotel is chic with modern furniture and decore. The room size is average. The hotel is in a convenient location within walking distance of the subway. Another plus is the food court directly attached to the hotel. Breakfast at the Spice Bar was another plus. Unfortunately I was too exhausted to go to the bar but judging from the "noise" it sounded like fun. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: This hotel offers a day care center. Rooms close to the center are a bit noisy during center operati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teacheragent101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nice, clean decent size room (especially compared to the NYC W hotels). Staff were very helpful and attentive. Great location in midtown. I had breakfast at spice market which was good.
The only surprise for me was how dead the bar scene was for Friday night happy hour and even later that night. I am used to the NYC w hotels which are always quite lively and fun.
Overall the hotel was quite a good value but just a bit quieter than expected.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamie079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Spent four days here hold up in my room to do research writing.
Hotel is European Chic...techno music in lobby and hotel...modern furniture and decore.
Everyone goes out of their way to be of assistance --even offering cold bottles of water and apples to incoming guests.
Rooms were Chic and large with every amenity imaginable...free in-room wi-fi, i-pod stand, DVD player, large flat screen t.v. A remarkably "cute" in-room candy store, and a better than average in room bar. Daily free bottled water is left in your room (along with the expensive for sale bottle)
Nice size exercise room. Wonderful Spa with yummy smelling "Bliss" products.
Spice restaurant is very comfortable lots of pillows type seating with an asian healthful-friendly
menu. Their lunch menu doesn't have many options, but breakfast and dinner are wonderful.

Within minutes of requesting an additional bar of soap--a bag full of products were sent to my room (the in-room products are the same ones sold at "Bliss"...worth taking with you when you leave!)
Lots of extremely comfortable and inviting "nooks" to sit and work if necessary.

No regrets.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maisha4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The rooms were nice, but oddly set up. Staff was hesitant about helping, as if a request for towels and toilet paper were suspicious. Location is not easily found if you aren't familiar with the area. Good luck finding parking (unless you want to give up your firstborn and use the garage).

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hello Crystal C,
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience at the hotel. We will share your feedback with the appropriate in the hopes to grow from it. Should you chose to return please let us know at GM@watlantamidtown.com
Best,
W Midtown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We met three other couples here for a visit and to see sites in Atlanta. the Lobby or "Living Room" was a great place to meet with plenty of room to sit and talk, plus a excellent cocktails. the reception desk staff were extremely helpful as well as all the other staff. everyone went out of their way to make our stay convenient and enjoyable. the hotel is a short walk to the MARTA stop, the High art museum and a number of good restaruants, including South City Kitchen. the restaurant in the Hotel served tasty food that was well presented. the restaurant service was a little slow, but we ate at odd times. the rooms are very comfortable with a contemporary decor. I could imagine a large wedding party using this hotel. It would also be fun for a rehersal dinner. plus it is a short walk to the botantical garden , which would also be a wonderful place for a wedding.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannea392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed two nights for the Dogwood Festival. We walked to the festival and to restaurants. It was colder than we anticipated so we asked the front desk where we could buy sweaters or sweatshirts. She was most helpful in directing us. The ice machine on our floor did not work so a call for service brought an immediate delivery of ice to our room. On checkout, the valet gave us several bottles of water for our trip. Oh, did I say the bed was FANTASTIC! We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank O4ADAYONTHEBEACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I´ve stayed in this hotel twice now and felt a review was in order.
Initial impressions count and there is a ¨wow¨factor when you walk in. Projections on the walls, video graphics and funky music add to the feeling of being somewhere trendy.
The staff are really friendly and approachable and happy to chat away.
It´s a lovely area, very green and leafy and there are plenty of eateries within easy walking distance and with a food court through some double door on the first or mezzanine floor across from the Spice Market restaurant.
Which brings me to the downside of this hotel. The Spice Market restaurant is pricy for what you get and the service is slow and not very attentive. After one bad experience in there and having talked to colleagues staying with me there who had similar experiences, we decided to head out for some food instead of paying inflated prices for food that was, on reflection, not that great.
The other thing I´d like to mention which got a heads up from others I talked to is ¨Why no coffee making facilities in the Rooms?¨Why on earth you have to call up and request one is beyond me, and although free coffee is available in the hotel lobby, you don´t always want to get yourself ready and head downstairs first thing in the morning just to get a coffee!
If they can manage to out jelly beans chocolate and bottles of alcohol within reach in your room, then why not a coffee brewer?
Apart from these gripes it´s a great place to stay and very comfortable too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
W Atlanta Downtown
#63 of 173 in Atlanta
1,095 reviews
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 173 in Atlanta
2,314 reviews
W Atlanta - Buckhead
#61 of 173 in Atlanta
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
#53 of 173 in Atlanta
716 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Atlanta Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta Midtown

Address: 188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#30 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: $148 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Midtown Hotel offers the coolest stay in the heart of Atlanta's hottest neighborhood, conveniently located near the Fox Theater, Piedmont Park, and some of the chicest clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your W Atlanta Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta
w Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing