We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I will never stay here again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of W Atlanta Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
W Atlanta Midtown
Ranked #99 of 177 Hotels in Atlanta
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I will never stay here again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I only ask three things of a hotel...comfortable bed, clean bathroom...and a functioning internet. The internet not only was dysfunctional, but kept bringing up an entry screen that made it look like it was working! After a half-hour of frustrating time-wasting effort, I called the IT support. They did not understand what was happening either. Then, spontaneously the internet started to work...for a day...and then the next day the same @#$ thing happened. Only this time, IT said it was because of a scheduled maintenance that shut down the entire system. Thanks very much for letting users know not to waste their time trying to troubleshoot the issue! No information was given. I threw up my hands in disgust. This problem dwarfed the smaller problem that the concierge did not know what he was talking about when referring to local restaurants. In short, never again the W!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    392
    262
    172
    105
See reviews for
102
235
102
559
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at the W for a night using a Groupon. The stay was nice but one day does not give you enough time to hang out at the pool Check In is at 3 Pm but if you get there a little early they will accommodate. There are a lot of bar/pubs in the area. We had a few drinks at the W bar called Spice Market. The drinks(soco and sprite) were average and $10 a piece. So I would advise going to any of the other bars a block down the street for half the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello Aaron P,
Thanks for your feedback. We hope you come visit again for more time to enjoy all the facilities!
All the best,
W Atlanta Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

First let me qualify my review by admitting that I'm generally not a fan of W Hotels as in my experience they are usually much more focused on style than substance. Also I think, truthfully, that I'm a little too old for the W brand, but as a Starwood Platinum member I still do patronize W when there are no other Starwood properties conveniently available to where I'm staying. Regarding the W Midtown, it's just overall a very disappointing property. I hesitate to be too negative, but it's down-at-heel with chipped paint, worn out carpets, paper thin sheets and blankets, and a generally dingy feeling. Of particular note was dirty dishes sitting outside of rooms for several hours - something that's just unacceptable in a hotel that purports to be an upscale 4 star hotel. I think I'd call this hotel "W-Lite", as it has all the outward stylistic trappings that define the brand, but when you dig a little deeper it's not really up to snuff.

As other reviewers have noted it's also very loud - we were on the 20th floor and could still hear music from the nightclub downstairs (or perhaps from another club nearby?), and the walls are paper thin. Luckily we weren't surrounded by anyone hard-partying neighbors, and the A/C is reasonably effective with white noise to drown out the thunka-thunka-thunka-thunka noise from the club, so we did get a good night's sleep; but still - any hotel that asks you to sign a specific "no parties in your room" agreement on check-in should give you pause if you're not a night owl intent on living it up into the wee hours. Perhaps it's different on weeknights, but most of the patrons we ran into on the Friday evening we stayed seemed to be very young and very club- and party-oriented.

On the plus side the staff was all very friendly and service was what you would expect at a premium hotel. The location is also very nice, although we didn't get a chance to explore as we only stayed one night. A suggestion on parking - you're probably much better off to pay the valet at the hotel vs. parking in the adjacent garage. In and out in the garage is $4.50, and the overnight fee was I think $22 or so. If you're going to be driving around and leaving/coming back a few times, I think the valet all-day fee will work out to be cheaper.

Overall, I can't recommend this hotel and I wouldn't stay again, brand loyalty notwithstanding. We actually checked out a day early to move to the W Downtown, which was much better in all regards (and cheaper!)

Room Tip: Best rooms would be at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pw_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear p_sf,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We were certainly dissapointed to hear you had such an unpleasant experience. You comments and feedback have been shared with the hotel team. As a Platinum member of SPG we tremendously respect your loyalty to Starwood. We would love to have an opportunity to earn your confidence back on a future visit. Please let us know if that is something you would have interest in doing. You can reach us at GM@Watlantamidtown.com. We hope to hear from you.
All the best,
W Atlanta Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee,FL
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at the W Midtown this past weekend while attending a conference at the nearby Marriott Marquis. I have to say I would not recommend this hotel for families. There is entirely too much going on in the lobby area that I would not want my kids around. However, it is an amazing place for couples, friends, solo travel, and is conveniently located for business to downtown and midtown. I would have given an average rating if it wasn't for the staff, they were responsive attentive and very friendly. The entire hotel is designed around a modern party vibe to go with the "whatever, whenever" theme. On the weekends, the second floor club "whiskey park" is packed. I was caught off guard when I realized that there were bouncers actually standing outside for this purpose, however, I heard none of it from my room on the 16th floor. The room itself had a great view of Piedmont park and midtown. I dislike the peekaboo shower door and the sink but it went with the modern vibe of the room. The room itself was spacious with a vanity and sitting area which I appreciated. I definitely laughed at the fact that they stocked the room with everything you need to party: liquor, wine, snack bar, and even an "intimacy" kit.

I dislike the fact that I was told the hotel had a shuttle. They only have a car service which is first come first serve and runs on limited hours. It also does not pick you up. I shelled out more money in cab fare than I expected because I was told there was a shuttle available to guests.

I would stay at this location again as long as I do not plan on doing business downtown.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stay here frequently and every time, I am always very impressed with their friendly staff and service from the front desk to the valet. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. It is a very convenient location in walking distance to many restaurants, bars, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms right next to the elevators can be a little loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaMoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
166 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I've stayed here a few times. It's a very nicely done hotel. The location is great as well. I've really enjoyed my room each stay. The views are very nice. Typical W beds, tvs, mini bar, bathrooms. Good rain shower heads. The lobby/living room area is really fun and great for visiting with friends. Walked through Whiskey Park but it was closed. Spice Market restaurant was okay but nothing too special. I like the rooms here and location better than W Atlanta Downtown. But, I like the pool area downtown better. I'd definitely return to both hotels as I have multiple times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEEPTAHOEBLUE_NICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My overall experience there is always a good, whether on business or pleasure. Staff is always excellent, the food is good. The bathroom wasn't too clean, but the comfortable beds made up for it. I always recommend The W midtown to friends and family.. I'm from Boston so I enjoy the hospitality I get when I'm in Atlanta..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrTunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
#66 of 177 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#6 of 177 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,694 reviews
W Atlanta Downtown
#55 of 177 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Atlanta Marriott Suites Midtown
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Atlanta Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta Midtown

Property: W Atlanta Midtown
Address: 188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#28 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Midtown Hotel offers the coolest stay in the heart of Atlanta's hottest neighborhood, conveniently located near the Fox Theater, Piedmont Park, and some of the chicest clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your W Atlanta Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta
w Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing