We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Location and great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Atlanta Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Atlanta Midtown
Ranked #96 of 177 Hotels in Atlanta
Tallahassee,FL
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Location and great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at the W Midtown this past weekend while attending a conference at the nearby Marriott Marquis. I have to say I would not recommend this hotel for families. There is entirely too much going on in the lobby area that I would not want my kids around. However, it is an amazing place for couples, friends, solo travel, and is conveniently located for business to downtown and midtown. I would have given an average rating if it wasn't for the staff, they were responsive attentive and very friendly. The entire hotel is designed around a modern party vibe to go with the "whatever, whenever" theme. On the weekends, the second floor club "whiskey park" is packed. I was caught off guard when I realized that there were bouncers actually standing outside for this purpose, however, I heard none of it from my room on the 16th floor. The room itself had a great view of Piedmont park and midtown. I dislike the peekaboo shower door and the sink but it went with the modern vibe of the room. The room itself was spacious with a vanity and sitting area which I appreciated. I definitely laughed at the fact that they stocked the room with everything you need to party: liquor, wine, snack bar, and even an "intimacy" kit.

I dislike the fact that I was told the hotel had a shuttle. They only have a car service which is first come first serve and runs on limited hours. It also does not pick you up. I shelled out more money in cab fare than I expected because I was told there was a shuttle available to guests.

I would stay at this location again as long as I do not plan on doing business downtown.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    390
    259
    169
    102
See reviews for
100
235
100
554
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stay here frequently and every time, I am always very impressed with their friendly staff and service from the front desk to the valet. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. It is a very convenient location in walking distance to many restaurants, bars, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms right next to the elevators can be a little loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaMoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
166 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I've stayed here a few times. It's a very nicely done hotel. The location is great as well. I've really enjoyed my room each stay. The views are very nice. Typical W beds, tvs, mini bar, bathrooms. Good rain shower heads. The lobby/living room area is really fun and great for visiting with friends. Walked through Whiskey Park but it was closed. Spice Market restaurant was okay but nothing too special. I like the rooms here and location better than W Atlanta Downtown. But, I like the pool area downtown better. I'd definitely return to both hotels as I have multiple times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEEPTAHOEBLUE_NICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My overall experience there is always a good, whether on business or pleasure. Staff is always excellent, the food is good. The bathroom wasn't too clean, but the comfortable beds made up for it. I always recommend The W midtown to friends and family.. I'm from Boston so I enjoy the hospitality I get when I'm in Atlanta..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrTunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've enjoyed several business stays at this property over the last year and finally made it my destination for a weekend of fun recently. The rooms are large and comfortable and the overall design is quirky, cool and over-the-top silly in unexpected ways (peek a boo shower?!). But what really sets this property apart is the fantastic staff! From valet to housekeeping, to the restaurant hostess who played double-duty and served us when the restaurant was packed at breakfast - everyone is focused on making your stay the best it can be. My advice for any W is if you take yourself and your surroundings too seriously this is not the hotel chain for you. The vibe is hip, young and a little silly! If you want to relax, be pampered and enjoy yourself in Midtown, this is the place to go!

Room Tip: Even rooms have a beautiful view of Piedmont Park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddearry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear "ddearry,"

Thank you for your review -- we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and fully embraced the fun vibe of the W brand. And I will pass along your compliments to the entire team here -- we appreciate your kind words very much.

We hope to see you again soon!

Take care,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rate was decent and the hotel is very nice. There's a lot of congregating in the lobby around the bar, but it's pretty typical of The W. The rooms are really nice - modern, as one expects of The W, but this hotel really has that type of thing down. The rooms are also pretty big and, unlike some W hotels, the bathroom doesn't have one of those creepy see-thru doors, it's separate and as private as the average hotel room. Ask for a high floor, the view is amazing. Room service is pricey, but that's to be expected. One annoying thing is that, in a city where you have not choice but to drive, the parking is pricey - it's the new hotel racket, very annoying. If you find it - look for a coupon or deal that eliminates the parking charge. Also, self parking will save you about $10 a night and is quicker and easier at this hotel then valet and more convenient than most self park situations, you literally walk from the parking deck to the lobby. There is free coffee in the lobby in the mornings - which they don't announce. The hotel bar bathrooms are super neat. Not the best location in Atlanta either, so all of this adds up to a good experience, not over the top great, but no complaints and it's nice and the rates decent.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabronie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear "Jabronie13,"

Thank you for your review -- we're glad you had an enjoyable stay. You are correct -- we have packages on our special offers page at WAtlantaMidtown.com that include complimentary valet; many people benefit from this as our valet offers unlimited in-and-out privileges while the adjacent parking deck (which we do not own or manage) does not. And while the vast majority of visitors prefer our location in Midtown Atlanta, we appreciate that it may not be ideal for you.

We hope to see you again the next time you're in Atlanta.

Take care,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very modern look, awkward front entrance for those driving themselves and not familiar with the area. Great front patio area for people watching. Staff was competent and friendly. Only downside when arriving was my preferred bed choice was not available - despite my reservation. Overall a good hotel and one I would frequent again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMS06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear "SMS06,"

Thank you for your review -- we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay (and apologize for being sold out of your preferred bed choice). We hope to see you again soon -- weather is perfect right now for people watching on the Living Room patio!

Take care,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#6 of 177 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,648 reviews
W Atlanta Downtown
#53 of 177 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
#62 of 177 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Atlanta Marriott Suites Midtown
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#19 of 177 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Atlanta Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta Midtown

Property: W Atlanta Midtown
Address: 188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#27 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Midtown Hotel offers the coolest stay in the heart of Atlanta's hottest neighborhood, conveniently located near the Fox Theater, Piedmont Park, and some of the chicest clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Starwood, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your W Atlanta Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta
w Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing