We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Overall A Pretty Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Atlanta Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Atlanta Midtown
Ranked #98 of 177 Hotels in Atlanta
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Overall A Pretty Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rate was decent and the hotel is very nice. There's a lot of congregating in the lobby around the bar, but it's pretty typical of The W. The rooms are really nice - modern, as one expects of The W, but this hotel really has that type of thing down. The rooms are also pretty big and, unlike some W hotels, the bathroom doesn't have one of those creepy see-thru doors, it's separate and as private as the average hotel room. Ask for a high floor, the view is amazing. Room service is pricey, but that's to be expected. One annoying thing is that, in a city where you have not choice but to drive, the parking is pricey - it's the new hotel racket, very annoying. If you find it - look for a coupon or deal that eliminates the parking charge. Also, self parking will save you about $10 a night and is quicker and easier at this hotel then valet and more convenient than most self park situations, you literally walk from the parking deck to the lobby. There is free coffee in the lobby in the mornings - which they don't announce. The hotel bar bathrooms are super neat. Not the best location in Atlanta either, so all of this adds up to a good experience, not over the top great, but no complaints and it's nice and the rates decent.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabronie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear "Jabronie13,"

Thank you for your review -- we're glad you had an enjoyable stay. You are correct -- we have packages on our special offers page at WAtlantaMidtown.com that include complimentary valet; many people benefit from this as our valet offers unlimited in-and-out privileges while the adjacent parking deck (which we do not own or manage) does not. And while the vast majority of visitors prefer our location in Midtown Atlanta, we appreciate that it may not be ideal for you.

We hope to see you again the next time you're in Atlanta.

Take care,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    392
    262
    174
    105
See reviews for
103
235
102
560
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very modern look, awkward front entrance for those driving themselves and not familiar with the area. Great front patio area for people watching. Staff was competent and friendly. Only downside when arriving was my preferred bed choice was not available - despite my reservation. Overall a good hotel and one I would frequent again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMS06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear "SMS06,"

Thank you for your review -- we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay (and apologize for being sold out of your preferred bed choice). We hope to see you again soon -- weather is perfect right now for people watching on the Living Room patio!

Take care,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just stayed at the W in Atlanta and booked a Heavenly Suite. There was a Bose surround sound system set up that was incredible! I love the W hotels, but this one is top-notch. Tamara is the front desk manager and she is just awesome. Ask her for anything, and she tries her best to make it happen. Room service was great. Of course, the heavenly beds are perfect for just melting right into them. The location is great, just a short two block walk to Piedmont Park. Will stay here every time possible!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear "Crystal23,"

Thank you for your review -- we're thrilled you loved our hotel, the beds, room service, and location. And we'll pass along your lovely compliments to Tamara.

We hope to see you again soon!

Take care,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

This is my preferred hotel in Atlanta. Good location, nice bar and restaurant. Newly designed rooms, great staff and location.
The rooms were very spacious and well appointed with a comfortable bed.

Great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGrl727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear "TravelGrl727,"

Thank you for your review -- we're thrilled to be your hotel of choice in Atlanta and glad you love our location, bar and restaurant.

I'm sure we'll see you again soon -- thank you again for your kind words and loyalty.

Take care,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

All of the staff at this hotel are very friendly and accomodating, from the bar to the front desk and insiders. Even though they were very busy with a wedding, and a big volleyball conference, they really took the time to make our stay incredible. Special thanks to Tamera Lang, Jessica Howell, David Jarrod, and Byron Barkley. It was my first time to Atlanta, and W Midtown could not have been a better way to be introduced to the city. I hope to go back very soon!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear "Hayley M,"

Thank you for your review and lovely compliments. We're so glad you had a fantastic time here at the hotel and for your visit to Atlanta. I'll pass along your kind words to the team -- they'll appreciate it very much.

Hope you'll come see us again soon!

Take care,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We enjoyed staying at the W -midtown it was incredible!From the moment we drove up to valet til they brought the car round for the return trip such attention was paid to every aspect of our stay- definitely will recommend - cant say enough about the room ,the service,the amenities - will stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear "Gerard J,"

Thank you so much for your review and compliments. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and will pass along your kind words to the full team here .

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I can't disagree with what the other reviews say about the way this hotel wants to do luxury but fails in so many ways. It's inexcusable for a Starwood hotel, especially one in Atlanta's Midtown. That said, it's a convenient and relatively affordable place to stay if you want or need to be in midtown and to have relatively easy access to I-85.

What you see as you pull up is a large driveway for valet parking. The public, self-parking lot is to the left, and it isn't much cheaper, unfortunately. When you enter the hotel, there are 3 desks where you can check-in. Two were in operation when I was there, and the line was slow moving. This hotel needs more staff at the front desks. The bar and lounge area is not inviting and nobody was hanging out there except for some school kids (but I wasn't there during the evening).

The room I had on the 12th floor resembled the size and style that you would find in an Aloft room, except there is no complimentary bottled water, no coffee maker and the room is filled with snacks and alcoholic drinks at outrageous prices. Yes, the shower stall is half-open, and I liked that a lot actually. Yes, the hall was a bit noisy and the walls did seem a bit thin. They serve free coffee in the lobby in the morning.

I would say that if you can afford to stay somewhere else, or really want a good night's sleep, find a different hotel. But if you are looking to stay at this hotel because of the location, it's fine.

Room Tip: FYI - the 17th floor is where they try to put guests with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear "Ilya W,"

Thank you for your review -- we're sorry for the ways in which we disappointed you. We will use your comments to improve, and hope that you'll give us another try the next time you're in Atlanta.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
#65 of 177 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#5 of 177 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,698 reviews
W Atlanta Downtown
#57 of 177 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Atlanta Marriott Suites Midtown
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Atlanta Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta Midtown

Property: W Atlanta Midtown
Address: 188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#28 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Midtown Hotel offers the coolest stay in the heart of Atlanta's hottest neighborhood, conveniently located near the Fox Theater, Piedmont Park, and some of the chicest clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your W Atlanta Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta
w Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing