We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent facilities and a very experienced and well trained staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Atlanta Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
W Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #55 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Riverside IL
1 review
“Excellent facilities and a very experienced and well trained staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

If you are going to the Convention Center, this is an excellent hotel to stay at. Its location is very convenient to the Center as well as the MARTA System, which is just a block away. You only have a 15 minute train ride to Buckhead. In addition the facilities are top notch and its staff is experienced and well trained. Had some elevator issues during my stay that was unfortunate but the work out center was excellent as was the bar. I would highly recommend it for the business travler.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Texpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    237
    135
    62
    53
See reviews for
100
243
70
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hohenwald, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

The W in downtown Atlanta caters to a narrow demographic. The hotel boasts black hallways, muted gray carpet, and dark purple walls in their rooms and lamps lit with flashlight bulbs. It has a very swankya nd very club like atmosphere. The purple leather-like lounge in our room was handy to hold the suitcase - but not for kicking back and reading or watching tv. There was no reading the book I brought anyway- since the dark walls sucked up what little light came from the very strange lamp in the room. Our personal Verizon wifi picked up only when the laptop was propped up against the window tho I am sure the hotel wifi - at $$ a day picked up great. The bed was "luxuriously soft" so much so that we and our fellow travelers felt twinges from bad backs for three days. I can see how "twenty-somethings" might love this hotel. It is not for families or mature travelers. The valet parking was $30 a day, in this part of Atlanta, even at that price - it was worth it to us. As for cleanliness of the hotel, who knows - it is too dark to see...what was easy to see was the vast collection of hotel items for sale in the room. The fridge is chock-full of stuff to buy and there were bottles of wine, whiskey, water,and vodka as well as candy, mints, gum umbrellas, t-shirts, candy and condoms. Not a good idea for people traveling with children...you will either love this hotel or hate it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schoolmarm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Comtemporary decor, fabulous furnishings, comfortable rooms. Take the metro rail for quick and economic transportation from airport.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaCajunTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

We had a business event at the hotel, the staff accomodated all our requests some of which were out of the usual even offering to have a driver pick up goods from a store when one of our visitors forgot something.
The hotel was clean, friendly and safe with a comforting atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammydocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

We loved the atmosphere in this Hotel. The staff were so helpful and kind. They really went out of there way to make it a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacq41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

I've stayed at all three W's and this is the best. The Drink Shop bar has great cocktail's and is lively. The pool is a usable size. The gym is well equipped. The acura took me everywhere I needed to go; and The bed rocked as always. What more to say.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HookahMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

I recently stayed at the W Downtown Atlanta and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The hotel is brand new with modern decor. Very nice. The staff was wonderful. From the manager Tim, to the maid service, to the check-in personal to the bartenders. They were all very wonderful and accomodating. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bep22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Twelve Centennial Park
Twelve Centennial Park
#87 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#34 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Peachtree Plaza
1.6 mi away
W Atlanta Midtown
W Atlanta Midtown
#101 of 172 in Atlanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta Downtown

Property: W Atlanta Downtown
Address: 45 Ivan Allen Jr Blvd NW, Atlanta, GA 30308-3052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#18 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#22 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#29 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#30 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Atlanta Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Downtown energizes and inspires, a wonderland of sensual style amid major corporations and specialty shopping. Close to Georgia Aquarium, Centennial Olympic Park and the Georgia Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your W Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta
w Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing