We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of Atlanta's Best Family Attractions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Center for Puppetry Arts

Center for Puppetry Arts
Ranked #26 of 281 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Center for Puppetry Arts is a unique cultural treasure - a magical place where children and adults are educated, enlightened and entertained. Since 1978, the Center has introduced millions of visitors to the wonder and art of puppetry and has touched the lives of many through enchanting performances, curriculum-based workshops and the hands-on Museum, as well as Distance Learning and Outreach Programs.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of Atlanta's Best Family Attractions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Although family puppet shows appear geared to children only, there are two levels of humor in many of these productions, truly making them a joyous family experience. The puppet-making workshops after the shows are more child-centered, but a walk through the museum again delights both adults and children. I highly recommend the Center as a family destination, allowing 2 and a half hours for the show, the workshop, and the museum. For many years I took great-nephews and great-nieces to these and delighted in our shared artistic experience. On occasion my husband and I have attended adult shows in the evening with more serious content or more adult humor. But my favorite experience is still the family productions! The best ages for the children are in the 4 to 12 years of age range.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanr0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    84
    25
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Such a fun experience for the kids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

My kids thoroughly enjoyed Rumplestiltskin (ages 6 & 8). The puppets were beautiful & the puppeteers really did a fantastic job with them. My kids laughed a lot during the show and were totally into it. I think it's a great value since it is a 'live show.' Afterwards they let you make your own puppet which my 6 year old was so excited to do. My 8 year old was reluctant at first (he's getting to that stage where he has to decide if something is for babies or not) but he ended up getting into it - especially because you can decorate it & he wanted his to look the best :). Very fun outing during our visit to GA (we're from Southern California).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SupSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The center was easy to find. I went for free with a library pass. I love the Big Bird exhibit and other Jim Henson exhibits. Learned a lot and would recommend to others. There is adequate parking as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tayla2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I took my kids here last summer to see Peter Pan, and I thought it was way too expensive for what it was. While the show was somewhat amusing for the little ones, I found that it lacked quality, and turned out to be somewhat boring for the grownups.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Perfect for Families”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was a huge Jim Henson Muppet fan when I was a child, so I wanted to see some of his puppets. Some of the puppets at the museum include Big Bird, Cookie Monster and the Fraggles, to name a few. Seeing the puppets brought me back to when I was a young child watching sesame street and the Muppet movies. There is also a section of international puppets from Indonesia to Germany. Overall, it was interesting but I expected more.
FYI: They have puppet shows available for young children and their families.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank educator26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Center for Puppetry Arts also viewed

 

Been to Center for Puppetry Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing