We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead
Ranked #33 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here on business. Guest services and all attendants were very helpful and pleasant. Location is most convenient. Marta station is across the street. Lenox mall is next door with a covered walkway to it, wife LOVED that. Houston's restaurant across Lenox Rd was superb(see separate review). Room was quite nice and the bedding was fabulous. The negative was the AC was on 67, woke up hot, turned it down to 63, woke up in the am still hot and it wasn't one of those blistering days that you can experience in ATL. Otherwise the hotel was very good and modestly priced for ATL considering the quality.
PS: The parking lot requires the room key to use to exit and there is a box to drop it in, if you have checked out. A strange set up and I wasn't informed about this when I checked out. Had to buzz the desk and get them to open the gate, which held up 4cars behind me wanting to leave.

Room Tip: The parking lot requires the room key to use to exit and there is a box to drop it in, if you have c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Giamundo, General Manager at JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments and feedback. I am sorry that you were too warm in your guest room and had some challenges with your garage departure. Rest assured we will have our engineering staff check the guest room thermostats and review our departure process in the garage. Thank you for letting us know. I do hope that you will consider visiting again to enjoy our services and conveniences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    327
    119
    34
    32
See reviews for
176
202
59
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was my first stay at a JW Marriott property, and I didn't regret it! If you find yourself in Buckhead, JW is a nice choice given the price point and value. For a little under $200 a night, you have a top notch property with excellent service.

You don't have to valet park, save yourself some bucks. There is a parking garage next to the hotel that charges $22 a night. There is also a Starbucks in the lobby, so that's always a plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Giamundo, General Manager at JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We enjoy welcoming our first-time guests to the JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead. Thank you for taking the time to post your nice comments following your visit. We are so glad to know you felt we have a top notch property and provided excellent service. Our goal is to make you want to visit again and I do hope you will return for your second visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great location. Marta station across the street so easy access from ATL airport. Next door to Lenox Mall which has awesome shopping. Hotel employees were very helpful and VERY positive attitudes. Everyone was smiling and attentive. Beds were very comfortable too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDW2757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Giamundo, General Manager at JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for commenting about your recent stay. I am thrilled to hear that you loved the hotel. We have a great team that really enjoys providing personalized service to each guest. I hope you will return for another restful nights sleep in our comfortable beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from the Marriott at bunk head. Wow what a wedding. The hotel was top notch, everything was perfect. The Marriott arrange everything perfectly. My wife and myself had a king size bed, which was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was spotless.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devildog1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Giamundo, General Manager at JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I am so happy you enjoyed the wedding and your accommodations! Perhaps you will visit us again whether to attend a wedding or whenever your travels bring you to Atlanta. Our hotel is a very popular venue for weddings or any other social occasion. We also have one of the best catering teams to assist with all the planning details. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I recently enjoyed a two-night stay at the JW Marriott Buckhead while in town for a friend's wedding. First off, full disclosure -- I'm a self-professed Marriott snob and look for its brands whenever I travel, in large part to load up my Marriott Rewards account. I'd never stayed in a Marriott brand above its namesake (usually at Courtyard or SpringHill Suites locations), so I didn't quite know what the difference would be. Here's what I found:

Unmatched sleeping experience: The bedding was the best I'd ever encountered for a Marriott brand. You had foam and feather pillows to choose from, and the mattress was soft yet supportive. You could draw the drapes completely closed to create pitch-black darkness, even at 11 a.m. in a room with huge windows facing the sun. And even on the seventh floor, with the soundproof windows, the normal hum of Lenox Road and Lenox Square Mall didn't register a decibel.

Amazing shower: The water was instant-hot and plentiful and the tub was elongated so my wife could stretch out for a bath after a long day of travel from the West Coast. The fixtures and appointments were high-quality as well, exactly what you'd expect from a luxury hotel.

Beautiful, happening public spaces: The lobby bar was well-appointed and lots of fun the Saturday night we were there, with a diverse mix of groups (from LSU and Georgia football fans to fishing groups, family reunions, etc.) and a nice menu of bar bites available into the later hours. It was nice to be able to have fun and just take the elevator up to our room (vs. fighting for a parking spot to check out a Midtown or Highlands hotspot).

Helpful staff: Even though we checked in at 1:30 a.m. the night we arrived, the front-desk staff checked us in swiftly and delivered our bags promptly to our room. They even delivered wedding clothes to our room that friends had dropped off hours before.

Great location: If shopping's your thing, it's hard to beat Lenox Square Mall (Phipps Plaza may be nice, but you might actually be able to afford something at Lenox). This hotel has a connection directly into the mall. No navigating the crazy parking lots and parking decks (and while we were there, rampant construction). I believe there's a MARTA train stop adjacent to the hotel, too (we didn't take advantage of that). And you're near Buckhead, which has amazing restaurants and a great breakfast/brunch spot I found on Yelp (Joy Cafe on Pharr Road).

Price: Without a doubt, this is a business-oriented hotel. It caters to travelers with expense accounts, but we scored a AAA weekend rate of $220/night. Still a lot relatively speaking, but for a special occasion (a wedding and the tail end of our own honeymoon) it was well worth the cost.

Along that same vein, I wasn't thrilled having to pay a la carte for in-room Wi-Fi, and the $22/night self-parking option is excessive, but for the most part that's reality when staying with a luxury brand. Marriott periodically promotes weekend rates that include Internet and parking, and they're worth seeking out.

The JW is a luxury address within Atlanta's luxury destination. You get what you pay for, and it's worth every penny (just look for those weekend specials if you're not traveling for business).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaymagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Giamundo, General Manager at JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful comments. The JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead actually has a motto professing that we are the “approachable luxury experience finely crafted in today’s genuine Buckhead style”. It sounds as though you described everything we strive to live up to each day. During the weekdays we do cater to a large volume of business travelers but we also have some amazing weekend packages and shopping packages for those coming to Atlanta to experience the city sites so be sure to watch for them. Business or pleasure -- we want you to have a luxury experience and leave with pleasant memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was my first time staying at this property and will probably stay again. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the room spacious and clean. Its connected to the mall which is great if you need to pop in for something or to stroll around and window shop. Plenty of places nearby to eat, meet, etc.

I stayed on the concierge floor and stopped in quickly for a bottled water at the concierge lounge at breakfast and it seemed fully stocked and comfortable, too. Didn't get a chance to hit the gym and didn't eat or visit the lounge (was Family Weekend at Georgia Tech) but the lobby bar seemed very comfortable and a nice place to relax with a cocktail and watch a game. There is also a mini-Starbucks in the lobby.

Room Tip: My Marriott profile requests a room away from the elevator and a high room, this room was particular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tg225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Giamundo, General Manager at JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and sharing your comments. I am happy you found our staff friendly and accommodating and your guest room spacious and clean. We are very fortunate to be in a premier location with access to Lenox Square Mall and many of the Atlanta restaurants and entertainment venues. I am sorry you did not get a chance for a workout or time to relax in Nox Creek Lounge. We have received many compliments on our state-of-the-art fitness equipment and have just re-invented our locker room and in-door pool facilities. Perhaps you can plan a nice weekend visit just to unwind and pamper yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I cannot think of how we could be treated any better! Upon check-in, all our requested items for our infant daughter (crib, microwave and mini-fridge) are all ready in the room. The 23rd floor room has a nice view of Atlanta downtown skyline.

Valet and bellman always addressed us by Mr. / Mrs. + our last name --- I wonder how they did it with so many guests in the hotel. Staff in Concierge Lounge were very helpful; and their food and wine were excellent.

I wish we could try their pool as well -- it was closed during our stay there. We stayed in the hotel for four nights, and really enjoyed this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlesdwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Giamundo, General Manager at JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments. We strive to anticipate our guest’s needs so they can truly be free to enjoy themselves while visiting. We have a wonderful bell staff that I am truly proud of and I too am amazed at how they so often remember our guest’s names. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and left with some wonderful memories. I do hope you will come back soon to experience our re-invented pool and locker rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Buckhead
Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead
Buckhead
Atlanta Marriott Buckhead Hotel & Conference Center
Buckhead
Westin Buckhead Atlanta
Westin Buckhead Atlanta
#30 of 171 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buckhead
The Ritz-Carlton, Buckhead
Buckhead
Courtyard Atlanta Buckhead
Courtyard Atlanta Buckhead
#80 of 171 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead

Property: JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead
Address: 3300 Lenox Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30326-1333
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#14 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#28 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#33 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#36 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Atlanta
Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta
Marriott Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing