We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #133 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Chattanooga, United States
1 review
“plumbing”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel in in a perfect location for the gift mart. Doubletree has been a good hotel for me in the past. This time they were out of hot water for my two night stay however. They did help out with 1/2 for 1 night on the bill and points on my Hilton card. A shower would have been better for working the Americas Mart though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melharris3, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay. We were aware of the plumbing situation which was caused by a broken water pipe due to the freezing temperatures and worked quickly to correct the problem. If you would like to discuss your experiences in further detail please feel free to contact me at your convenience.

We hope you will stay with us again for the next event in July.

Best Regards,
Melissa Harris
Revenue Manager
678-686-3357
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    376
    394
    304
    180
See reviews for
330
248
74
656
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucker, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

There are a few nice associates, like Saeed (sp?) Who are friendly and make you feel valued, but Mercedes exemplifies the management type that missed customer service training. We made reservations on priceline and were early to checkin (never been a problem anywhere else) but, instead of accommodating us when they had plenty of avail rooms, she wanted to charge $100 extra for us to simply retain our reservation , or she would move it (to the day before, so we would have to check out in a few hours ) for only $50 extra. The room only cost $60 to begin with, so all of these options are absurd. She unapologetically laid these options out and did not seem the least bit concerned about the impact on us. This hotel is in bad condition, with sprinkler leaks and structural problems. It's noisy and the location is about all its got going for it. I stay at the Hilton alot and am an Honors member-never had issues like this there, and this is a Hilton property. Mercedes does a poor job representing the brand. I hope i never get booked here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melharris3, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. The hotel operates under a check-in time of 3pm with a check out of 12 noon. Early arrivals, as well as late departures, are subject to additional fees. When you arrived in the pre-dawn hours on the confirmed reservation date you were given the option to check in early at the cost of an additional night which is a standard procedure. I apologize if this policy was not made clear upon your arrival.

Best Regards,
Melissa Harris
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swampscott, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

It is close the merchandise mart so if you are on business the location is very good. The hotel physically needs a lot of work. Shabby lobby, sinks don't drain, and the heaing system is old and very loud. Sounds like a get engine. Only one speed. The bed is clean, comfortable, and the linens soft. That was the best part. Food quality terrible There was plenty of staff and they were very nice - just did not seem to know what to do.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melharris3, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay. The property is 51 years old but is currently undergoing renovations in the public spaces. There are additional plans to continue renovations on the guest room floors in 2014. If you would like to discuss the details of your experience further please feel free to contact me at your convenience.

Best Regards,
Melissa Harris
Revenue Manager
678-686-3357
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We recently stayed in Atlanta for the Chick-fil-A Bowl played on New Years Eve in the Georgia Dome. It was a short 10-15 minute walk to both the Georgia World Congress Center (where we enjoyed Fan Fest celebrations), and to the Georiga Dome for the game. There was plenty of food choices within walking distance, a the hotel was immaculate. Even during very hectic checkin and checkout times, our waits to get in and out were short and the Valet service was speedy. Our only issue was that with all the late night revelers on New Years Eve (both inside the hotel and one the street), we didn't get much sleep! The bed was very comfy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melharris3, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review. New Year's Eve is a very busy time with all of the festivities happening within a few blocks of the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your overall experience in the hotel as well as the surrounding area.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Atlanta.

Best Regards,
Melissa Harris
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have been to this location on 4 locations, between July and December 2013. This is a summary of all those visits.

Pros:

Very comfortable and "higher end" establishment, which includes room service, valet parking, and of course the famous, still hot cookies when you check in. The service staff, in general, seem to be above par in that they treat their guests like VIPs. When I stay here I feel like I am someone important, and heck, who doesn't want to feel that way?

The rooms themselves are very nice; great city view everytime I was there, plenty of space, beds are newer and very comfortable, coffee pot and service is well displayed and yummy, bathrooms have all the expected amenities.

Side note, perhaps, but I LOVE the soap they use. It doesn't dry out my skin and I just love it.

The decor overall of the hotel is pretty nice; I love the halls and carpets on the floors I stayed on.

The restaurant is fairly okay, though more so for its convenience than food that makes you want to dance. The buffet (including omelets made to order) is VERY good and worth the expense, but know that this is NOT a "hey free breakfast to our guests" situation. Be prepared to shell out about $15 for breakfast when all is said and done. Dinner, meh.....I'd walk to any of the closeby restaurants - and there are plenty!

Note (and this is important) - as of December 2013 the restaurant was under construction, so no buffet. Food was.....palatable but not much else. And, at least when I was there, only 30 guests were staying in the hotel and the service seemed to (at times) forget ANY guests were there. But I think this was more an exception based on my 3 other stays.

Close to many sites within the city and I felt comfortable walking day or night around the downtown area. Not sure if that is niave of me or not.

Cons

There is virtually no parking at this hotel. It says $15/day self parking, but in reality the way to go is valet parking which also includes in and out parking. Plan to spend $30/day plus tips for this. I will say the valet staff are very friendly and quick.

In December 2013 there was street construction that freaked me out a little. But you don't have to be freaked out; you can still get to the hotel if you calm a bit. The hotel is off a one way street (Spring) and you will be tempted to turn left when you see it, but don't. Circle around following the one ways and enter the street perpendicular to the street you approach it on. Sorry I don't have the street names with me right now. But the area to drop off for valet is small so depending on when you arrive, it may look and feel a bit hectic.

Internet service is not free, unless you have Silver+ status with HHonors. The do have free internet access in the lobby, but it bugs. I ain't gonna lie.

There aren't a ton of outlets near the bed for your iPhone or other items. There is adequate outlets at the desk.

Lightbulbs are the "let's save energy and money" wattage. I felt like there was little light in my room, though it was a pretty room.

Overall, I do recommend this hotel and obviously like going there.

Room Tip: If you don't see the omelet section open for the buffet, don't be afraid to ask to have one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaMR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melharris3, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay. I am so glad you enjoyed the overall experience despite a few minor setbacks. Your loyalty to the hotel is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again during your next stay in Atlanta.

If there is anything I can do to assist you on your next visit please feel free to contact me via email at melissa.harris3@hilton.com.

Best Regards,
Melissa Harris
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The staff and service at this hotel is stellar. Staff made sure that we were treated with the utmost respect and hospitality. However, the hotel is under construction, and needs a bit more updating of the current infrastructure. As always, Hilton delivers in hospitality and service!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melharris3, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay. You kind words regarding the staff and service are greatly appreciated. As you noticed, the hotel is currently undergoing renovations in the public spaces. We have plans to continue these renovations further in 2014 to include upgrades on the guest room floors.

We hope to be your hotel of choice for your future travels to downtown Atlanta.

Best Regards,
Melissa Harris
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Manager was available when I checked in and she is an awesome person to come in contact with. She is worth the stay. The hotel is clean throughout and smells fresh. Although a couple of her staff were not as friendly and helpful, I would recommend friends and family to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melharris3, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Atlanta.

Best Regards,
Melissa Harris
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
The Inn at Centennial Park
#122 of 172 in Atlanta
582 reviews
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#38 of 172 in Atlanta
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Address: 160 Spring St, Atlanta, GA 30303-2030 (Formerly Atlanta Marriott Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience exciting downtown Atlanta at the stylish DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown. Walk to many downtown attractions such as Georgia Aquarium, Georgia World Congress Center, Georgia Dome and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Wyndham Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing