We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms and Staff are atrocious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #134 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
A TripAdvisor Member
“Rooms and Staff are atrocious”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

To start the staff took over 15 minutoes to check me in because they were busy printing concert tickets for a friend whom was not even a guest at the hotel. Then I was met with an attitude. The bathroom sink and tub were clogged and I reported various times and they did nothing about, I have spent in hiltons all over the US and World but this was by far the worst!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback of your recent stay. Please feel free to contact me so we can further discuss your experience.

Best Regards,
Mark Gallagher
General Manager
678-686-3344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    376
    398
    305
    180
See reviews for
330
248
75
661
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

A good, solid hotel i downtown Atlanta, but not anything to get excited about. The decor is rather dated and this does detract from the experience. The hotel is definitely due an upgrade, but till then there is no need to stay away as this is still a well situated and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THW03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of our hotel. The building is 50+ years old but we are currently undergoing renovations. The fitness center was completed a couple of weeks ago and the restaurant/bar is nearly half way finished. The lobby renovations will begin in early January.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Atlanta.

Best Regards,
Mark Gallagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Be forewarned the area is rife with homeless and does not look safe at night. The entire downtown area is a tourist trap for parking. Find a hotel in another area for less money and save yourself $30 a day for parking.

When I called the hotel upon arrival to Atlanta the operator at the hotel did not speak clearly and I ended up googling directions myself. Upon arrival the desk clerk was nice enough and even told me there was complimentary wi-fi. The fine print says you get one hour of limited speed wifi and after that $10 a day!!! So add $40 if you want internet and parking. After being in the room and turning on the heart I realized the room had no heat. The maintenance worker arrived over an hour after I called and explained he was off proper when I called.

My first day I did not receive any service. When I told the front desk they offered to send up some coffee packets. My sheets were never changed during my fine night stay. The paint was peeling off the walls in the restroom and the room smelled musty. The fitness center looked updated but many of the machines did not function.

The morning of my departure the housekeeper, Adel, woke me at 8:30 AM asking if I was checking out. I informed her I would be out at 11:00 AM. She again returned at 10:40 AM.

Overall the property I found the property really dated, the amenities way overpriced and a culture of sub par service.

Room Tip: There is free parking about five blocks north of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0SEPH_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing the review of your recent stay. I am sorry to see that your expectations were not met. We recently completed the renovation of the fitness center including the addition of new equipment. We will look into this further to ensure all equipment is in proper working order. I will also ensure both the Housekeeping and Engineering departments use your feedback as an opportunity for continued training.

We do offer several internet options, both wired and wireless, that may not have been thoroughly explained to you. I will bring this to the attention of all staff members so in the future this information can be conveyed properly.

Best Regards,
Mark Gallagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Zimbabwe
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

If you want to experience the worst staff attitude, smelly rooms, this hotel is a good case study!I checked out of the hotel after 2 hours! I would highly recommend exercising your options and choosing another hotel. dont say i didnt warn you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Walton Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am disappointed to see you had a poor experience and felt the need to leave after such a short period of time. Please feel free to contact me to review the details of what you encountered.

Best Regards,
Melissa Harris
melissa.harris3@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We reserved hotel through HHonors after looking at pictures and reading what Hilton had to say about this hotel. The information given on Hilton's website was deceiving and incorrect about hotel and quality of location. The hotel looks modern and updated in the pictures online, but when we arrived it was an old hotel that needs updating. The location of the hotel has construction outside in all the roads surrounding the building. Which made it very hard to get to the hotel. The front desk staff was very quick to check us in, and didn't explain anything about facilities in the hotel. REMEMBER when looking at this hotel online the reason why there isn't too many pictures is due to the hotel not being honest about where your staying and posting deceiving pictures. I expect more staying at a hilton hotel and luckily we found a nice hotel in a different hotel the next night.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teckmo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. The hotel became a DoubleTree in April of this year but the building itself is actually over 50 years old. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations in the restaurant/bar and then additional renovation work will begin in the lobby. The road construction outside of the hotel is ongoing as the City of Atlanta installs the new streetcar tracks. Once all of the work in and around the hotel is complete new photos will be available.

Best Regards,
Mark Gallagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night. Room was comfortable but was showing its age. The wood trim on the mirror in the bathroom needed refinishing. My travel mate checked into one room that "stunk" and had to be moved. Faucet in the tub had a slow drip. Hotel is very convenient to several good restaurants, and centennial plaza. There were renovations going on in the lobby.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DiverScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. Even though your stay did not meet your expectations, we sincerely value your response and will use your comments to improve our hotel. We are currently conducting a public space renovation starting November 12th with our lobby, lounge, fitness center, guest room corridors carpets, and elevators all being addressed, with more to follow in 2014. Again thanks for the feedback.

Thank you,
Mark Gallagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

stayed in for 4 days, old and ok hotel. too many loud Saints fans in there. the front-desk is not very friendly when i first tried to early checked in. and it is under renovation so it is a little bit messy there

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you very much for the feedback, it is greatly appreciated. I am happy to report that the hotel as you noticed is currently under a public space renovation, with the Fitness Center, Restaurant, Bar, and Hotel Lobby all being addressed. On the Guest Room floors we have already in place the Doubletree Sweet Dreams bedding package, and will be undergoing a full guest room corridor remodel that will be completed by February of next year. We have plans to continue to re-invest in the hotel over the coming months in 2014 including updates to our guest rooms.
Your opinion is very valuable to us and I appreciate you taking the time to write

Best Regards

Mark Gallagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
The Inn at Centennial Park
#122 of 173 in Atlanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#36 of 173 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Address: 160 Spring St, Atlanta, GA 30303-2030 (Formerly Atlanta Marriott Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience exciting downtown Atlanta at the stylish DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown. Walk to many downtown attractions such as Georgia Aquarium, Georgia World Congress Center, Georgia Dome and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Wyndham Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing