We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #130 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great downtown location. If your attending an event at GWCC or Phillips Arena this hotel is within walking distance. Walking distance to Hard Rock Cafe, and multiple restaurants, shops, etc. At the time of my stay (this was Atlanta Marriott Downtown). This was an older Marriott property, room were a little dated. Front desk staff was very helpful and polite. Valet staff was wonderful. I did have breakfast in the onsite restaurant. Service was ok, Restaurant staff seemed very chaotic. Wasn't too pleased with having to wait 35 minutes to take care of my bill. The front desk staff was more than happy to accommodate. I look forward to Double-tree by Hilton being at this location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShoeDiva2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Since you have visited our property, much has change with renovations still on the horizon. We are very excited about the changes here at the Doubletree by Hilton Atlanta Downtown and hope you book your next trip with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review highlighting our great location and enthusiastic staff members.

Best regards,


Mark Gallagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    391
    404
    309
    183
See reviews for
338
254
78
678
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good but could have simple improvements with a bit of training. Making sure staff is also dressed appropriately. I saw a few gentlemen setting up our lunch and pants were sagging and they almost did not even look like staff from the hotel. When we ate lunch one lady stood over us like a hawk and when we put our fork down she took plates even if we were not finished with our lunch. I like to enjoy my food. Some rooms were extremely hot and others like my room was freezing. Small tweeks, but overall a good business place to come to. I would not come on vacation here. Especially when you give a cookie away at check in but do not even offer free coffee.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Julianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2015
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We take pride in hospitality, so I will follow-up with management regarding staff service and appearance. Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to see your experience was not a positive one. If you would like to further discuss the details of your stay please feel free to contact me.

Thanks Again,

April Mosley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

WHile it is trying to become a good hotel, there were a number of maintenance challenges. The "hot line" to someone to report problems with went unanswered. I stood at the desk for 20 minutes while people walked by with no one answering my questions. It needs help...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2015
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to see your experience was not a positive one. If you would like to further discuss the details of your stay please feel free to contact me.

Thanks Again,

April Mosley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed two nights at this hotel as I was attending an exhibition in GWCC. The location of this hotel is excellent, as it is close to everything downtown. I really enjoyed the warm cookie they give you when you check in. There was a lot of space in the room and the balcony gave me a nice view of downtown Atlanta at night. The air conditionning was working well, which was pretty much appreciated since it was really hot outside. There was no refrigerator in the room, but as it was a business trip and I didn't get to spend a lot of time in the hotel, it didn't really matter. The price of the Internet access was quite prohibitive though: I pay 16.95$ per month at home, and there it was 12.95$ for 24 hours, which is ridiculous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
The time spent writing a review is very much appreciated. With our hotel being located in the heart of downtown, we are a great place to stay to see all the local attractions or to attend a conference. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, next time if you would like a refrigerator you can request one to be placed in your room. Hopefully when returning to Atlanta the Doubletree by Hilton Atlanta Downtown will be your hotel of choice.

Best regards,

Mark Gallagher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I was thankful that this hotel had accommodations transferred over from being a Marriott Atlanta Downtown and I didn't have any problems with the change over. The staff was very friendly and promptly available to the needs of my Aunt and I. Thank you for making it a pleasant stay in Atlanta

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Neva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are glad to hear you were pleased with the conversion, and the way our staff handle it. Truly, our hotel has a great staffing team who are very proactive to our guest needs. Your comments are appreciated, and we hope you choose to return soon.


Best regards,


Mark Gallagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
311 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Do not stay at this hotel.
Everything is worn down - looks like they have given up on this hotel and are now just milking what's left.
There are half empty pizza trays in the hall.
The aircon smells highly odd and is at the same time extremely noisy.
The rooms are dark and smelly. No fridge.
I paid the same price at the very very nice Mariott Marquis 2 blocks away. Go there - or anywhere - but never at this Hilton Hotel at any price. I was supposed to stay for 5 nights - but they had made a mistake and put me in a shared room with a complete stranger. I left the hotel and switched to Marquis as soon as I could after 1 night (great service - I got my 4 nights refunded).

Room Tip: Best room is a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeJeWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel, and I do apologize for the experience at our hotel. This isn’t the typical stay though I’m glad we compensated you for the duration of your time with us. Our property will be getting an upgrade this year, and we hope you choose to return to see the improvements. If there is anything we can do further please feel free to contact the hotel.

Best Regards,

Mark Gallagher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Double Tree was very helpful and great. They offered to move my room so that I could be close to my friends without any issues. My only qualm was that there was no shuttle (though we were downtown, so I couldn't really expect that), and maybe if it were closer to midtown. I think it's a great place for anyone to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank maemae08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkGallagher37, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We have received many reviews on the level of our staffing team and we are happy to hear your experience was no different. Our location brings many people to our hotel, since we are conveniently located in the heart of downtown, reason we do not offer shuttles services; though during large conventions the city does offer shuttles for in the downtown hotels. Our staff hope to welcome you back to Atlanta, and if you may need anything please feel free to contact us.

Best Regards,

Mark Gallagher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
#101 of 173 in Atlanta
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown
0.2 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#44 of 173 in Atlanta
722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Address: 160 Spring St, Atlanta, GA 30303-2030 (Formerly Atlanta Marriott Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience exciting downtown Atlanta at the stylish DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown. Walk to many downtown attractions such as Georgia Aquarium, Georgia World Congress Center, Georgia Dome and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Wyndham Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing