We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Ranked #21 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Campinas, Sao Paulo BRAZIL
11
Reviewed March 22, 2006

After one night at the big Mariott in downtown, I was very concerned, expecting that it would be an old hotel. But the place adds the charm of old to a very clean and beutiful building. It is also in a central location, and just a block of walking distance to the Marta Station. An essencial benefit for who is traveling without a car.
The room was also very nice with facilities like hair dryer and iron table. There wasn't much difference from the previous hotel, except for the rate and the staff, always very friendly.
Definetively a place to return.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Rooms
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,809)
There are newer reviews for The Georgian Terrace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,717 - 1,723 of 1,809 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
225
Reviewed March 18, 2006

Got a nice one bedroom for $129/night from priceline(-) (door price is $169). The room was like a regular 1 bedroom apt with amenities including washer & dryer. Clean and comfortable. I needed a crib for my baby but that was not available. Friendly hotel staff upgraded our suite to two bedroom (list price$235/night) for free, which included a king and queen bed with tempurpedic mattress. Location is good, across the fox theatre and everyplace in downtown-midtown district is $8 if you take a cab. Only negative point is $25/day parking. I parked to the garage on 3rd street around the corner for $7/day.

Stayed: March 2006
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2006

The lobby of the hotel is, as others have mentioned, beautiful. The front desk staff is pleasant enough. The problem was our room. It was extremely small! The website says that "many" rooms have kitchens along with walk-in closets and balconies with sliding glass doors. Well, they must keep those rooms for people who do not book through Hotwire/Priceline/etc - we had NONE of those things. We did have a room that was big enough for the DOUBLE bed and not much else. The tv was a 19-incher! I haven't seen one of those in a long time. The bed was one of those memory foam jobies and boy was it REALLY uncomfortable! Also, the tub dripped loudly and constantly.

If you're going to a show at the Fox, the location of this hotel is fine. If you're doing anything else, well, you'll have a long walk. Also, parking is HORRIBLE! They charge $25 per night for valet and $22 if you self-park. Use the parking lot across the street (Ponce). It charges a max $7.

I won't stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelPitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2006

Lobby was updated and nice but that's where it ended. Room was musky and very outdated. Bathroom was very small, toilet ran all night, and tub was chipped. Bed was uncomfortable and the TV was about the size of my laptop screen. Was hasseled by pan-handelers right infront of the hotel. Looked interesting on the website but never agian at any price.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nheeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2005

We stayed at the Georgian Terrace when visiting Atlanta for a trade show in October of 2005 and we were impressed by the location and the value. Right in the midtown section of Atlanta, across from the Fox Theater, it sits on a lively stretch of Peachtree Street which is great for people watching while having drinks or a meal at the outdoor terrace restaurant that extends out in front of the hotel.

For under $300/night (I believe in the mid $200's), we got a 2 bedroom suite complete with full kitchen, living room area with dining area, and a large bathroom that included a washer and dryer.

Pros: Lots of space for the money, centrally located, awesome memory foam beds, great outdoor terrace restaurant, roof top pool.

Overall a great experience, and if and when I return to Atlanta, I will definitely stay at the Georgian Terrace.
Cons: We were missing a tv in one of the bedrooms, the kitchen is fairly small, and the roof top pool area was a little disappointing (but the view was great)

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Georgian Terrace this past weekend, and I honestly am surprised at some of the negative reviews I've read on this site. Our experience was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and our room was gorgeous! We had a one bedroom suite and it was very large - separate living/dining area, separate full kitchen, and separate bedroom and bath. We were on the 17th floor facing Peachtree Street, which afforded a great view of the hustle and bustle on Peachtree. There was also a small balcony that you could actually go out on (not big enough for furniture, but large enough to stand on).

There is an old part of the hotel and a new part of the hotel, so maybe some of the negative comments about quality of rooms and furnishings were from people who stayed in the old part - we stayed in the new and were very impressed. We felt $119 a night was cheap for such high-quality accommodations.

Our only disappointment was that a wedding party had booked the entire restaurant and bar, so we weren't able to sit in the bar and listen to live jazz that evening. But there is still plenty to do within walking distance - many restaurants and bars.

Although we live in the Atlanta area, we decided to stay at the Georgian Terrace because we were attending a show at the Fox Theatre. We will definitely do so again - convenient location and great accommodations and service. We took MARTA (Atlanta's public transit) from the suburbs to the North Avenue station, which was only 2 blocks from the Georgian Terrace (and much, much cheaper than the $25 per day parking at the hotel). All in all, we were very pleased and our expectations were exceeded.

Stayed: November 2005
8  Thank maraelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Scottsdale, AZ
114
Reviewed September 27, 2005

Upon arrival you will be taken by the beauty of the hotel- marble, light, old classic charm and more. As soon as you reach the front desk though, you will feel as if you arrived at a freeway motel. The service and professionalism of the front desk staff is horrible- I had the privilage of having eyes rolled at me, no eye contact, being told to walk downstairs and wait in line if nobody answers the phone when calling from my room, having a honeymoon delivery sent to the wrong room, billing issues and more. If you ask for help, you are directed to someone else, who directs you to someone else. No accountability.

Bottom line is that if you expect empowered service oriented people, you are at the wrong place. If you want a big room in a beautiful building with a great location, you might be able to overlook being treated as if you are an inconvenience.

Another note: the restaurant and bar are understaffed and close as early as 11:00pm. Parking is steep-$25 a night. Good dining nearby and the Fox Theatre is right across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#14 of 172 in Atlanta
1,704 reviews
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#5 of 172 in Atlanta
2,221 reviews
Midtown
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Midtown
Atlanta Marriott Suites Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Address: 659 Peachtree St NE, Atlanta, GA 30308-1928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#24 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#44 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: $181 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Georgian Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Midtown icon, The Georgian Terrace Hotel is located in the heart of Atlanta's business and cultural district, across from the Fox Theatre. The hotel delivers a brand of service rarely found - southern hospitality at its finest. When you stay with us - you are home. We're set to please with everything from big modern suites to versatile event and meeting spaces. Our business facilities are state of the art. We offer a world-class conference center, an impressive boardroom, classic ballrooms and secure, onsite parking. Just off our lobby, Livingston Restaurant + Bar serves award-winning American cuisine. Reserve one of our 326 rooms or suites today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Georgian Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Georgian Terrace
Georgian Terrace Atlanta Ga
Georgian Terrace Hotel
Georgia Terrace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing