We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roomy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Ranked #26 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Statesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Roomy!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights for a Six Sigma class at Georgia Tech. Got a good deal on Orbitz for a 650 sqft room. Great historic hotel with a beautiful lobby!

Likes:
Room Size - HUGE... 2 bedroom / 1 bath apartment. Full kitchen, laundry room, living room
Fitness Center - Very nice with free weights and cardio machines. Lap pool on the rooftop.
Location - Across the street from the Fox Theater. 4 blocks to the Management building at Georgia Tech.

Dislikes:
Wireless Internet - painfully slow! I was able to find a 25ft ethernet cable in the closet and the connection was MUCH better!
Parking Fee - $25 per day self parking, but did include in/out

Overall a very nice place for an extended stay!

Room Tip: Spend the extra 10 bucks to get a larger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukerenfroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such positive feed back about our rooms. We take pride in knowing that no other hotel in Atlanta has the square footage that we offer. We are also very proud of the amenities available to our guests. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    452
    214
    137
    126
See reviews for
370
461
87
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was my second visit to The Georgian Terrace Hotel. lt will be my last. Being from Atlanta, I so want this place to measure up to its heritage. Sitting directly across the street from the Fox Theatre with its beautiful facade, it should be a warm and inviting trip back to the old South. It is not. The front desk employees are rude and insensitive and only one of the gentlemen out front seemed to understand that a hotel's primary job is service. Otherwise, no one here seems to understand that.

If you want a large room, the renovated 2 bedroom units are quite large - even include a washer and dryer. That would be great if I was looking for an apartment, but when I visit a hotel I want service and more service. I want to be made to feel special. This place just doesn't offer that.The unfriendliness of the employees still amazes me one week later.

The restaurant is equally as uninviting. We were running 10 minutes late for our reservations. When I called to tell them that, they told me they would make no promises that my table would be available unless I arrived on time. Have they ever driven down Peachtree Street? We were doing our best and I had the respect to call and let them know we were running a few minutes late; they didn't have the respect to honor my reservation.

The price is good for the size of the room. But unfortunately, size is not always the most important factor in choosing a hotel room.

Room Tip: ALWAYS ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us why our service did not meet your expectations. We have every desire to address the areas where we fell short and prevent such service failures reoccurring in the future. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience you were caused. Again we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ball Ground, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were very impressed with the staff, the restaurant, the layout, and the amenities of the hotel. The place has lots of history but isn’t old and stuffy. We plan to go again and see a show at the Fox Theater across the street.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Contemporary re-designed hotel in a classic architecture building. Very pleasant looking. Confortable and great atmosphere.

However, this hotel deserves much better that the actual manager.
1) Room amenities are minimal.
2) Some towels were missing some days.
3) A/C deck system just in front of the window is not "helping" for a quiete night.
4) After "a vomit accident" during saturday night in the elevator, odor was still present and really annoying all the day. (why to organise a noisy private party in the hotel bar when plenty of rooms are booked for a business conference ?)
5) some dirt in the corridor have been cleaned for couple of days.
6) cocktail menu in the bar (really nice looking bar, contemporary) is poor.
7) Incompetent frontdesk both day & night. Unfriendly valet service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Streetadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We rely heavily on suggestions for improvement from our guests like you, in order to aggressively work at cultivating a more positive experience for our visitors. We apologize for your inconvenience and will use your comments to address each of the areas you mentioned. We hope that you'll be willing to visit for a return trip. If we do have the opportunity to serve you again in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to our staff for anything you need, as we would be happy to serve you and make your next visit a positive experience.

Thank you again; we truly hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is well located, the staff at the front door are plentiful and friendly and the concierge is good, as is the WiFi.

On the negatives, the room service is poor and expensive. There was no cutlery in our 2 bedroom apartment (you pay 25 dollars extra to get the cutlery put in the room). The valet parking is 30 dollars and self parking is 25. The room we had was spacious but needs a serious makeover / facelift. The linen was also low quality / threadbare and some items had holes. Pool is outdoor and unheated so not useful in winter.

We had no issues with security but heeded the advice not to walk south of North Ave.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babyboo01nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and suggestions with our team here at the Georgian Terrace. Because we are a historic property, we rely heavily on guests like you to help us determine the improvements we'll be making to the property during renovation periods. We have undergone a few so far, and will continue with improvements in various spaces in the future. That said, we are definitely always working to better the amenities and cultivate a more positive experience for our visitors. The suggested adjustments have been noted and added to our renovations.
We hope that you'll be willing to come back for another visit, and see that your recommendations have been applied! Thank you again; we would love to see you for a return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Generally a good experience, an historic hotel at a nice location and staff that provides a friendly professional service.

The concierge Brent was exceptional and provided us with world class assistance, guidance and insight. He went out of his way to make our stay pleasant, and contributed much to my positive view of the hotel. I will definitely be back

I liked the;
location of the hotel close to many nice restaurants, The Fox Theatre, Marta.
size of the room - a suite with separate lounge and kitchen
friendliness of the staff and valet
very elegant bar ( music can be too loud )
restaurant ( Livingstone) great dinner time menu

I did not like;
very very slow lifts I ended up taking the stairs
room although big and airy very outdated
no crockery / cutlery in kitchen
the street noise but it did not disturb my sleep ( my room faced Peachtree street)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank so much for the kind words about our Concierge. We are very proud of Brent and can confidently say that he is one of the best concierges the city has to offer. We are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here because we wanted to be directly across the street from the Fox Theater, attending the Chris Tucker Show. I must say that this hotel is beautiful, the staff was great and the food was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#16 of 173 in Atlanta
1,664 reviews
Midtown
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#2 of 173 in Atlanta
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Midtown
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlanta Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Property: The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Address: 659 Peachtree St NE, Atlanta, GA 30308-1928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#24 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#45 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Georgian Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Midtown icon, The Georgian Terrace Hotel is located in the heart of Atlanta's business and cultural district, across from the Fox Theatre. The hotel delivers a brand of service rarely found - southern hospitality at its finest. When you stay with us - you are home. We're set to please with everything from big modern suites to versatile event and meeting spaces. Our business facilities are state of the art. We offer a world-class conference center, an impressive boardroom, classic ballrooms and secure, onsite parking. Just off our lobby, Livingston Restaurant + Bar serves award-winning American cuisine. Reserve one of our 326 rooms or suites today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Georgian Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Georgian Terrace
Georgian Terrace Atlanta Ga
Georgian Terrace Hotel
Georgia Terrace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing