We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
Day at the Zoo

I grew up in Atlanta and always when we went to the Zoo we had to make a trip to the Cyclorama... read more

Reviewed April 26, 2016
jmhr555
,
Atlanta, Georgia
Used to be a Great window into history

Went there several times growing up. It was a great window into the past. It is closed and being... read more

Reviewed March 22, 2016
terri h
,
Helen, Georgia
Read all 342 reviews
  
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveler rating
145
126
39
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
126
39
12
8
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 330 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2017

Very instructive and well maintained. The visit to this museum will take you back to the past, as if you were living the horrors and great achievements of civil war. You will know about curious facts that are not usually seen in history books.

Thank PAULA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016

The Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum is now closed and under restoration. When we visited the exhibit, it was a sight to behold. Everyone sits in their theater seats on a large turntable that turns in front of the world's largest oil painting and artifacts, depicting the horrific battles of Atlanta. Sound effects and dramatic narratives render the scenes most realistic. When it re-opens, please find time to visit. You will not be disappointed.

Thank gordonrlangford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2016

I grew up in Atlanta and always when we went to the Zoo we had to make a trip to the Cyclorama- it's right by the Zoo and there is so much Atlanta history here! Never gets old

Thank jmhr555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2016

We used to go see this regularly as kids. It is historic, impressive and definitely worth a visit if you place any value in art and history.

Thank Georgia_Peach30650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2016

Went there several times growing up. It was a great window into the past. It is closed and being relocated. I can only hope the new location lives up to the past. It is worth a visit for anyone who even remotely has an interest in history.

Thank terri h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2016

This is a circular miniature creation of several Civil War battles. It is highly detailed. The descriptions are informative. The circular seating moves ever so slowly in the middle of the display. It's a one time thing worth seeing.

1  Thank nannymomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2016

Dad took me there when I was a kids. Took two young people there last weekend and was so disappointed. Just a big picture. NOT worth the time or the money. Never go back. Never recommend.

1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2016

I was very impressed by the Civil Warm Museum. It uncovered details that I could have never imagined. It was done with displays and maps and words, but never felt like a textbook. It takes you through all the years, so that you can understand what people were thinking at the time -- one exhibit shows what was in the soldier's knapsack, considering that he thought the war would only last a few months or a year! = I have given a more detailed review of the entire grounds of the Atlanta History Center. The ticket $16.95 includes all bldgs and grounds (with some discounts available) and free parking. The new Cyclorama was not up when I went there. But this museum alone is worth the money. All the tidbits you learn will be great conversation pieces in the future. It helps us understand what people went through in both a personal and educational way. Plan to block out a couple of hours to view it, as, once you start walking thru the rooms and learning, you wont want to leave or rush thru. but even viewing a portion of the collection is worth it.

Thank ColoradoCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2016 via mobile

Came here with the in-law and wife, but unfortunately the Cyclorama was closed down in July 2015 to relocate and open again in early 2017 at the Atlanta History Center according to the sign posted on its door window. Bummer.

Thank Dustin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2016

I've been coming here since I was a child. Now the seating area rotates as you sit and watch the show. One of the most amazing attractions you will ever witness and such a moving production. You will not be sorry.

Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews