We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting to see live broadcasts”
Review of CNN Studio Tours

CNN Studio Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$81.51*
and up
Atlanta CityPASS
Ranked #7 of 56 Tours in Atlanta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Journey into the heart of CNN Worldwide and get an up-close look at global news in the making! Inside CNN is a 55 minute guided walking tour with exclusive views of Atlanta’s CNN studios and an exciting glimpse of news and broadcasting in action from the world headquarters of the Worldwide Leader in News. Take the Inside CNN VIP Tour for expanded access to CNN’s working studios! The Inside CNN VIP Tour runs daily (except Sunday) and includes a visit to the CNN newsrooms! And on Thursday mornings we’ll take you behind the scenes of HLN's morning show, Morning Express with Robin Meade, on our exclusive Morning Express with Robin Meade Tour. You’ll see the HLN Control Room and go inside HLN’s Studio H to watch a portion of the live broadcast in action!
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Interesting to see live broadcasts”
Reviewed April 16, 2011

I had a long layover in Atlanta and found this tour easy to get to and well worth it. Tour takes less than one hour. I was in the first tour of the day on a weekday and we only had a few people in our group. Tour guide provides a lot of interesting information about CNN and how broadcasts are put together.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    795
    854
    559
    221
    128
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Find out the secret to Harry Potter's invisibility cloak!”
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Came here for a tour with my husband. Despite reading that it was less exciting on the weekend, the only day we could come was on a Sunday.

Since we were early we poked around the store and I was SO disappointed. I felt like I had read on here that is was big and had lots of stuff but it was small and mostly only CNN items and a few Cartoon Network. Turner Broadcasting owns SO many networks I was expecting a giant store with merchandise for all their channels. And I love gift shops but this one was meh.

We went through security and up the big big elevator to start our tour. There are definitely NO pictures allowed and lots of guards throughout. We got to see how they do the programming for what will appear on the tv. We looked in to the newsrooms for CNN and Headline News though they were mostly empty. We got a look at a teleprompter and of course a green screen (mostly used for weather). Then our guide showed us the secret behind Harry Potter's invisibility cloak... it was just a green blanket! Fannntastic.

We got see a studio and it was really interesting how they had one big studio but multiple backgrounds from which they could project different images or colors to change the look. We also passed by some other news studios for CNN in different countries.

It didn't sound like a whole lot of the action took place here in the Atlanta studios. Our guide rambled off a number of tv personalities in NY and all their political stuff comes from DC. I have to say I was a bit confused on why CNN is headquartered in Atlanta when all their stuff happens elsewhere!

Overall it was a good tour and hopefully you can visit on a day when there is more action. There are 8 flights of stairs to go down but it's a few flights at a time so it's not bad.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank caflygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“DONT EVEN THINK OF RESTING!”
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Got to the CNN center to go through the CNN vip tour about an hour early and my friend put his head down on one of the tables just to rest and wooooosh the guards were on us like flies on honey. "YOU CAN'T SLEEP HERE!" It was almost to the point of being scary ,and you got the feeling that if you even looked at them wrong it would be off to jail...very strange! I did realize that this food court mall does attract some neighborhood outcasts and that was most likely the reason for the action but be prepared and DON'T SLEEP! or even look like your are even resting!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank numike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, MO
Level Contributor
343 reviews
219 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“If you like CNN and security guards watching your every move, you will love it!”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Like many of the reviews state, if you are a news junkie or a CNN fan, you will love the tour. I was lucky enough to take the CNN tour over 20 years ago, when it was free, cameras were allowed, and CNN was not completely stuck up with itself. Back then, almost all of CNN came from Atlanta, now most of the content is from other cities so it is highly unlikely you will see a live broadcast. Be warned, security is very tight today, and if you don’t like the airport screenings, you will really hate the screening you will get at CNN!
The CNN Center complex is a great place to visit if you are in Atlanta. Built in the 1970’s as the Omni International, it originally housed the Sid and Marty Croft Amusement Park along with an ice rink and many shops. 12 years later CNN moved into the amusement park (ironic?), but the center pretty much remained the same with two levels of shops and it was a great urban space. The stairs you descend in the tour were actually built to move patrons to the different levels of the amusement park, and as emergency exits. But after the Gulf war, CNN had the center dramatically remodeled, tightened security, closed the second floor to the public and put armed guards throughout the complex who love to pick on tourists. While the food court is jammed at lunch, there are more guards watching you eat than at most federal prisons. The reconfiguration of the center leads to poor circulation for visitors. There are a few shops that sell souvenirs and sports memorabilia, but it is mostly a large food court with Arby’s, Wendy’s, Taco Bell, Chick-Fil-A and Blimpie. There are also some upscale restaurants like McCormick & Schmick’s.
The Omni hotel is one fresh spot in the complex and a stroll through the lobby (up the escalator) is definitely worth the trip. A restaurant and bar overlook downtown Atlanta with one of the best views in town (and they let tourists take pictures even if they don’t buy anything).
In summary, if you like CNN, take the tour. If you like great architecture and a large food court stop by and eat lunch.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank jjctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
142 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it!”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Very interesting tour - lasts one hour, takes you into the studios and shows lots of information / curiosities. Loved the gift shop!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cadi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to CNN Studio Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing