We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to take kids!”

Fernbank Museum of Natural History
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.40*
and up
Small Group Tour to Fernbank Museum of Natural History
More Info
$81.51*
and up
Atlanta CityPASS
Ranked #27 of 290 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: At Fernbank Museum of Natural History, visitors explore world cultures, nature, live animals, the prehistoric Earth, and hands-on science through dynamic exhibitions, programs and Giant Screen films. Fernbank also includes experiences in the great outdoors with WildWoods and Fernbank Forest, which combine for 75 acres of nature trails, outdoor exhibits and more. Come face to face with the world's largest dinosaurs, explore the development of life on Earth through Georgia's modern landscapes, connect with cultures from around the world, and engage in learning through a variety of hands-on programs, including live animal encounters, family programming days, Weekends in the Naturalist Center, summer camps and more. Children can't get enough of the immersive 7,000-square-foot children's exhibition "Fernbank NatureQuest," where they journey through ecosystems filled with hands-on discovery, learning and exploration, while adults can't wait to return After hours for the monthly 21+ series, Fernbank After Dark, featuring hands-on science encounters, full museum access for adults only, craft beers and cocktails, live music and Giant Screen Films. The Museum also offers several special exhibitions throughout the year, and correlates field trips to education standards for schools seeking a memorable learning adventure!
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Cedartown, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to take kids!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Adults could learn a lot from this place but it is really meant for the education of kids. Every Friday night they do a Martinis and IMAX show which is more geared towards adults but all other times the place is meant for kids. I brought my 18 month old twins there and they had a blast. There was plenty for them to do. I would highly recommend it but that being said the price is a bit high.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hmcwhorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    306
    152
    65
    19
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hiawassee, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sad; needs updating!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

It used to be spectacular. Now it just belongs to another era. It's tired. Not worth the price of admittance.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Impressive exhibits with the friendliest staff I have ever met”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This museum is not as large as some of the ones I've been to such as the Museum of Natural History in NYC, or the Smithsonian Museum in Washington, DC. However, it is just the right size for families and elementary school children. The museum is beautifully architected with three levels of permanent, temporary, interactive, and cinematic exhibits. After you make your way past the outside gardens, you will be drawn to the giant Argentinosaurus engaged in battle with predators. When you stand next to him, you have the comfort of knowing that if you had lived 100 million years ago--chances are that he may not even have noticed you because you are approximately only as tall as the height from his foot to his ankle. For the amateur geologist, or avid jewelry collector, the gift shop has the most beautiful geodes and crystal jewelry seen at such affordable prices. The IMAX Theatre is a fantastic treat for a separate fee. You will enjoy the film and the breath-taking view. There is a lovely indoor and outdoor food court with a grand piano. One of the staff members played beautifully while I ate my lunch. The staff is comprised of volunteers and they are the friendliest and most informative staff I have ever met. Plan on spending about 2-3 hours with your family.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank blazingburgundy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A great educational afternoon”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I took my sons, ages 10 and 12, and my retired parents. There was something for everyone. My dad the biochemist loved the Georgia's Natural History exhibit, especially the dinosaurs. My favorite was the culture exhibit with all of the clothing and jewelry from cultures all over the world placed with things from our culture, like a pair of Jimmy Choo's. We caught a live reptile talk, and enjoyed the IMAX show on West Papua's oceanlife. The boys favorite part was the 3rd floor interactive: Giant Bubbles! The guy at the front counter told us that the museum could be done in an hour and a half. I don't know what planet he's from, but we could not get to everything. If you're a reader, there's a lot to see. We really enjoyed this visit. It wasn't cheap, but it was worth it. I think my ticket was $26 for the entrance/IMAX. The kids were $22 each. And my retired parents were $24 each.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Everellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Boring”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Overall, this museum was extremely boring for both adults and kids. The IMAX movies were really good but I can't say they were worth the 13 dollar price tag. The whale exhibit was interesting. I did find the staff to be extremely knowledgeable and courteous.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2ndgradeteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fernbank Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Fernbank Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing