We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fernbank Museum of Natural History
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Atlanta
from $55.00
More Info
from $21.77
More Info
Reviews (985)
Filter reviews
919 results
Traveler rating
348
326
154
69
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
326
154
69
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews imax movie nature quest dinosaur skeletons science center special exhibit interesting exhibits bottom floor all ages year olds rainy day kids and adults atlanta area whole family georgia atrium forest citypass
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 919 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Took the kids out for the day to visit Fernbank and get some fun and education in at one time. Great place to visit and gain some more knowledge of history. The 3D movie was well worth the time as well.

Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernbankAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Fernbank Museum of Natural History, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for visiting and sharing your feedback. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience at the museum and in the 3D theater.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to Atlanta to go to the Aquarium and fell in love with the Fernbank Museum and Old Growth Forest. It is truly a special museum with exhibits and Nature that is both accessible and inviting. And none of the crowds the Aquarium got. I would highly recommend it for anyone who loves a nice walk in a forest, a museum with HUGE dinosaurs, a children's sensory area that's amazing and a decent cafe for lunch.

1  Thank Jcp650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernbankAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Fernbank Museum of Natural History, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We're glad you found us on your visit to Atlanta and even happier that you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for experiencing the museum and for sharing your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As a Auntie I love this place, I go here every Wednesday with two of my nephews. We love walking in the forest. The forest rangers are so smart and so knowledgeable. My nephews have leaned so much from all of them. Especially our very favorite forest ranger Gabe. My nephew Charles wants to be just like Gabe when he grows up. It’s so refreshing to have another man that my nephew looks up to besides his father and grandfather. I think it’s so important for young boys to have strong male role models and Gabe is that for both Charles and Christian. Thank you Gabe and everyone at this wonderful magical place.

2  Thank supergirl114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was such an enjoyment and a nice learning experience visiting the museum today. The service was very good, everyone was always helping out and any question we had they answered. It will be awesome to visit with your kids and your family it is a family atmosphere we also saw the 3-D movie about the ocean that was very good and I’m learning experience for 3-D theater. I will recommend it to my friends and family. Thank You

Thank bladbalmaceda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernbankAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Fernbank Museum of Natural History, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting and sharing your review. We are thrilled you had such a good time. We'll also pass along your compliments to our customer service team. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hands-on Kid Fest venue, with Dinosaur Skeleton dominating the lobby. Nice diversion for a rainy day!

Thank Suellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

With us being adults, very few of the attractions actually kept our attention too long, but we wanted to check it out (it was, afterall, part of the city pass) and see for ourselves. It is large, but the exhibits do not compare to other natural history museums here in the states, such as The Field Museum in Chicago. I would say, if you had school aged children it would be a great way to spend the day. We did enjoy it, but perhaps not as thoroughly as if we had children with us.

Thank AmbyrLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018

Not impressed and definitely not worth the admission price. There were only a few collections and they were terribly curated. In the Georgia history section the displays were poorly lit, out of order and the video presentation at the beginning was blurry and in desperate need of an upgrade! The two large dinosaur fossils in the atrium were the highlight of the museum but be prepared to climb the steps a million times, especially since the bathroom is on the bottom floor!!!

Thank luna_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernbankAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Fernbank Museum of Natural History, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We're sorry your experience didn't live up to expectations. We'll be the first to admit that our directional signage doesn't help guests discover everything we have at the museum, including approximately 10 indoor exhibits/displays and 75 acres of outdoor experiences (with 3 more large exhibit areas). While you might have experienced everything and still felt the museum didn't meet your expectations, it's all-to-possible that you could have missed some areas. That's on us and I apologize.

I'm also sorry that you the restroom signage is not more visible (again, it can be improved as is something we have on our "to do list!"), as we have restrooms on every floor, including multiple locations on the top floor.

It's valuable to hear feedback like this and I will be sure to share with our exhibits and curatorial team. Overall, I wish you had a better visit but sharing these critiques in your review is incredibly helpful and will allow us to improve in the hope that you return for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

The museums it's small, has a lot of stuff for childrens. The have outdoors pathways so make sure its sunny outside. It's an ok Museum has cool stuff but if you have go to New York museum I would not recommend going here. For price we both the city pass and I found it resonable. But the movies are not included.

Thank Celinel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

Haven't visited this museum in years. Decided it was time for another try. Fernbank has added paths through the 75 acres of forests since I've last visited.
Still big exhibit on dinosaurs. Fascinating exhibit about how some small glass beads found in south Georgia led to extensive archaeological figs still going on and revised ideas on De Soto's explorations.
Another interesting exhibition about different cultures.

Thank panpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernbankAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Fernbank Museum of Natural History, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Welcome back! We're so happy to hear that you visited again and enjoyed all the new additions. Thanks for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

We brought our ~6 year old granddaughter here this past weekend. She loved it, especially the kids play area where she could have spent hours running around and exploring with the other kids. The adults enjoyed the natural history education and the well thought out displays. Great experience! We expect her parents will bring her back again at some point.

Thank LifeCoach7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernbankAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Fernbank Museum of Natural History, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

We love hearing about the great experiences our guests and their grandchildren have at Fernbank. Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We definitely hope we get to host your granddaughter and her parents soon (and we hope you get to come back, too!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews