We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to see”

Fernbank Museum of Natural History
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.40*
and up
Small Group Tour to Fernbank Museum of Natural History
Ranked #28 of 291 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: At Fernbank Museum of Natural History, visitors explore world cultures, nature, live animals, the prehistoric Earth, and hands-on science through dynamic exhibitions, programs and Giant Screen films. Fernbank also includes experiences in the great outdoors with WildWoods and Fernbank Forest, which combine for 75 acres of nature trails, outdoor exhibits and more. Come face to face with the world's largest dinosaurs, explore the development of life on Earth through Georgia's modern landscapes, connect with cultures from around the world, and engage in learning through a variety of hands-on programs, including live animal encounters, family programming days, Weekends in the Naturalist Center, summer camps and more. Children can't get enough of the immersive 7,000-square-foot children's exhibition "Fernbank NatureQuest," where they journey through ecosystems filled with hands-on discovery, learning and exploration, while adults can't wait to return After hours for the monthly 21+ series, Fernbank After Dark, featuring hands-on science encounters, full museum access for adults only, craft beers and cocktails, live music and Giant Screen Films. The Museum also offers several special exhibitions throughout the year, and correlates field trips to education standards for schools seeking a memorable learning adventure!
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
185 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not much to see”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Considering the size (and price!) of this museum there is surprisingly little to see. The dinosaur skeleton replicas in the atrium are probably the main attraction. The little "natural history" exhibit on the second floor is not bad, but done in half an hour; much less interesting than the exhibits e.g. the Anniston museum of Natural History (which costs about 1/2 the price). Many exhibits are old and look it an half of the hands-on stuff is not working. The Anniston museum or McWane Center in Birmingham are both much better. It took my 10 year old son and I less than an hour to go through everything. The DJ playing loud music in the atrium also added a lot of annoying noise to what could at least have been a serene experience. Save your money; not worth the visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dokness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    300
    150
    64
    19
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“I wish I knew what this "museum" was about!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Calling this place a Museum is really pushing it! I mean, there's the dinosaur skeleton and some fish fossils in the floor tiles, but everything else here is a great big yawner. I took my nieces here to see the IMAX movie (they loved it) but they were dying to get out of the place after ward--the museum did not really offer anything of interest. I do like their Martini's and Imax--but forget about eating their dinner on site--cold food, long lines, and VERY expensive for what you get. The music is very loud but very good. Don't go here for a date if you want to actually talk to him/her.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice, but we didn't spend much time here”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I had Atlanta City Passes and we chose the Fernbank over the High Museum. I had previously been to the High Museum on an architectural studies field trip, and while a nice building and beautiful art, it wasn't something we thought we would like to see together on this trip.

We went to the Fernbank after spending most of the day at the Atlanta Zoo. Unfortunately we did not have a lot of time to spend here. We quickly toured the exhibits and we saw an IMAX film (which was included with the City Pass).

Some of the exhibits were geared more towards children (which we do not have) and we could fly through those pretty fast. I wish we could have spent more time on the featured exhibit it had about Ghengis Khan.

Overall, we didn't miss much. If we could have asked for more time to spend we would have only needed about an extra half hour (more if there were more interesting exhibits).

While researching the museum before our trip to Atlanta, it is said that since this is a popular destination for school groups, it is best to come later in the day to avoid them. We went late in the afternoon on a Saturday and the crowds weren't too bad. There is also free on-site parking, which is also a plus.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not exciting”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I were very disappointed in the museum visit we had today. The best part was looking at the building and dinosaurs on the outside as you walk up to the building. Exhibits were very fake looking and non interesting. Big let down

Helpful?
2 Thank StaceyB0620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“That skeleton is really, really big...”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a beautifully done science museum, complete with rotunda filled with two enormous dinosaur skeletons and a floor made of fossil bearing stone. The exhibit on people and what they wear and why was particularly good. Plan on spending hours.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debora_R_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fernbank Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Fernbank Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing