We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“it gave us all alot to think about.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site

Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site
Book In Advance
$28.99*
and up
Atlanta City Tour by Electric Car
Ranked #4 of 274 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Start at the visitor center and then work your way around the three main sites in this historic park: the home in which the leader of the Civil Rights movement in America was born, the church where he preached and the memorial site where he is buried. A major Atlanta attraction, the park draws some 500,000 visitors each year.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
bournemouth uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“it gave us all alot to think about.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

very discreet, but poignant,reminded us just how animportant figure martin luther king was, how brave and dedicated to his lifes work, albeit cut very short.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank koftepofte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,589
    562
    134
    22
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This entire park is very interesting: His boyhood home, Ebenzier Baptist Church, the museum & the grave. My only surprise was how dirty the reflecting pool was. There was someone cleaning it but it was a bit surprising to see it was not pristine. That seemed a bit disrespectful to the memory of the man.
But, overall, it is worth the time to visit this park and it should not be missed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pm914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet Reflection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

A positive, educational and interesting experience. The museum is fairly small so the visit doesn't take long. The church, if open, is also worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LFP_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Less than what I expected for this historic site”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

With the impact the Dr. King had, I would have thought the historic site would have been more than what it is. It seemed like the site was less well maintained and didn't convey a connection between the past with the hopes for the future like other sites like the John F. Kennedy Library in Boston, for example. The reflecting pool area where Dr. and Mrs King are buried looked like it is poorly maintained.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank uvabrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
883 reviews
547 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Centre across the road from the house has a wealth of information on MLK and the Civil Rights movement. It's definitely worth a look. It held much more than I could possibly expect. we didn't go into the house he was born in as we were there late in the day but we saw it, which was nice. It was also nice to see the eternal flame burning for him and his tomb.

I wish we'd had more time to check out this area but it was getting dark and I didn't feel particularly safe in the general area. If you're planning on checking this out, make sure you do, but go earlier in the day!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KiaOraKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing