We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME PLACE”

Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.99*
and up
Atlanta City Tour by Electric Car
More Info
$69.98*
and up
Atlanta's Sightseeing Bus Tour
More Info
$58.99*
and up
Atlanta City Sightseeing Tour by Segway
Ranked #5 of 290 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Start at the visitor center and then work your way around the three main sites in this historic park: the home in which the leader of the Civil Rights movement in America was born, the church where he preached and the memorial site where he is buried. A major Atlanta attraction, the park draws some 500,000 visitors each year.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
South Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
“AWESOME PLACE”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I visited this National Historic Site a while ago. It was amazing. A very somber place. I highly recommend it. The surrounding neighborhood is cool - be sure to walk around and look at all the history there.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank tczig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,800
    636
    150
    27
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable collection of sites”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent a couple of hours visiting the museum, the church, the tomb and outside the birth home.

The museum wasn't very in-depth but informative nonetheless. We didn't go inside the home as the tours were full but we saw a video at the museum describing the house and I was satisfied with that.

You get a real sense of the history walking past the pews in the church and walking up the steps on to the house. Aside from personal contributions this was free and a definite must-do for a couple of hours when in Atlanta.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PS581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go early”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I wanted to see the house that he grew up in. I arrived at 11am, and was advised by the Park Ranger that the next available tour was at 3pm. It is a max. of 15 people per tour. So even if you arrive early, you still might not be able to see the house. I went into the gift shop next door, and there was some pictures of inside of the house. That was fine for me.

As all that I wanted to see was the house, I left shortly thereafter.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“don't miss this”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I am a white native Atlantan. While this is a period of history I am not proud of I am proud Dr. King's Legacy is being preserved in tsuch and outstanding manner to show change is possible.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank princes110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hits home in more ways than one”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Being from Cali and learning about MLK in school is not the same thing. The house tour (abreviated free version due to final 4 event) museum and church tell the story well, and take you back in time. Teenagers got a lot out of it as well as parents.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cfc113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing