We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You could spend a long time here -- it is great!”

Atlanta History Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.50*
and up
Atlanta Historical Homes Tour
Ranked #8 of 291 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome explorers of the world! If you're looking for history, knowledge and adventure, you've come to the right place. The Atlanta History Center is located in one of Atlanta's most vibrant communities where the stories and mysteries of our region thrive. Our 33-acre experience features award-winning exhibitions, historic houses, enchanting gardens, interactive activities and a variety of year-round adult and family programs. With ticket admission, our guests enjoy complimentary parking and all-inclusive access to Atlanta History Center destinations. The Atlanta History Museum is located at the Atlanta History Center. The Atlanta History Center also features the Swan House mansion, Smith Family Farm, the Margaret Mitchell House, the Centennial Olympic Games Museum, and five permanent exhibitions. Last historic home tours begin at 4pm
Bothell, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You could spend a long time here -- it is great!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a very tastefully done museum, complete with an authentic 1928 southern mansion (Swan House). Great exhibits on the south and the civil war, and they even have a chic fil a inside. A must stop for anyone interesting in learning about the history of Atlanta and the South. Great tour guides as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sethtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi W, Public Relations Manager at Atlanta History Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, Seth! We appreciate your visit and would love to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    752
    298
    55
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta GA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great visit”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the variety and breadth of exhibits! We spent the most time in the Civil War section and will go back soon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BoCRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi W, Public Relations Manager at Atlanta History Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for visiting us! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at the Atlanta History Center. We hope to have you back again soon. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Awesome museum”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My fiance and I are from Baltimore and we enjoy going to city history museums/centers. This one was awesome. The '96 Olympic games exhibit was amazing. I was 10 when the games were played and dont remember any of it. They have a civil war exhibit, I'm an American Revolution history major, it was well laid out. The Folklore art was neat, I didnt know about the South and their folklore art. The gift shop had the normal stuff about the local area books and gifts. Nice and knowledgeable staff. Only went to the museum didnt go to the other things on the grounds.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi W, Public Relations Manager at Atlanta History Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Justin - Thank your for your review of the Atlanta History Center. We are happy to hear you and your fiance enjoyed your time with us. Next time you visit, you will have to check out our historic homes and gardens. Thanks you for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Interesting exhibits”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I love the exhibits in this museum. The curator understands the history of Atlanta and knows how to demonstrate it to the museums visitors

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virginia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi W, Public Relations Manager at Atlanta History Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Virginia - Thanks for taking time out to review the Atlanta History Center. We pride ourselves on educating the public on the history of Atlanta and the South East. I am happy to hear you enjoyed yourself. Please come to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Mixed visit”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Worth seeing if you have time, particularly the civil war exhibit, but as a whole the experience just didn't compare to the wonderful Martin Luther King Jnr historical site (which is free, the Atlanta history centre is paid for). We felt the Swan House tour was a waste of time, it was just an opulent, modern home owned by a rich family without historical significance. Maybe being Scottish we are spoilt when it comes to heritage and old buildings but we couldn't understand why anyone would care about a house from the 20s where nobody of note lived. If you're pushed for time in Atlanta, skip this.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank loladelorean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi W, Public Relations Manager at Atlanta History Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
HI loladelorean -

Thank you for taking time to review the Atlanta History Center. We are sorry you didn't feel we lived up to your expectations. I do wish we could make it up to you.

I must point out the Swan House does have historical significance to the city of Atlanta. The Inmans were an influential family in Atlanta and their story (along with the rich history of their employees) tells us about life in the 1930s here in Atlanta.

Admission to the Atlanta History Center includes the museum, our signature exhibits, 22 acres of gardens, Swan House, and Smith Family Farm. Admission also includes the Margaret Mitchell House located on our midtown campus.

I must also say we love the MLK Historic Site as well!

Thanks again for visiting us. We value your feedback and hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlanta History Center also viewed

 

Been to Atlanta History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing