We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Atlanta History Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.60*
and up
Atlanta Historical Homes Tour
Ranked #8 of 291 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome explorers of the world! If you're looking for history, knowledge and adventure, you've come to the right place. The Atlanta History Center is located in one of Atlanta's most vibrant communities where the stories and mysteries of our region thrive. Our 33-acre experience features award-winning exhibitions, historic houses, enchanting gardens, interactive activities and a variety of year-round adult and family programs. With ticket admission, our guests enjoy complimentary parking and all-inclusive access to Atlanta History Center destinations. The Atlanta History Museum is located at the Atlanta History Center. The Atlanta History Center also features the Swan House mansion, Smith Family Farm, the Margaret Mitchell House, the Centennial Olympic Games Museum, and five permanent exhibitions. Last historic home tours begin at 4pm
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The Atlanta history center offers a wide verity of cool things love the olympics museam

Helpful?
Thank Acurry7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    728
    289
    54
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Fl
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Audio Tour of "Turning Point - The American Civil War"”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

"Turning Point - The American Civil War" in the DuBose Gallery has some of the best Civil War artifacts we have ever seen, thanks to the Audio Tour. When walking through a musuem, it is too difficult to read all the exhibits, and it is easy to overlook something. For example, there is a small carving a wounded soldier made out of his own bone for his girlfriend (now who wouldn't want that gift!). However, he died and the nurse couldn't locate the girlfriend. We never would have noticed this without the audio tour, which are free at the front desk.

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank Geo-Dome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pricey, exhibits not working, cafe closed, ecclectic”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Attended on a Sunday in July, hot, of course, paid $16 each. Almost all of the 6 minute films throughout were not working. Can you imagine the exhibit tracing Atlanta's history from rural to modern times skipped the Civil War because the film for that era didn't work? Button to show video about MLKing didn't work either. House tours were timed, but were not memorable either. Rural setting had huge Atlanta buildings as backdrop. Cafe closed because it was Chick Filet, no other place for food or drink but vending machine. Don't waste your time going to the houses if you can get on one of the inside tours of the Civil War exhibit. The tour guide Sunday was EXCELLENT. The Folk Arts exhibit was worth your time, too. Olympic exhibit was very dated.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank lstoneham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the temporary exhibits!”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I've visited the Atlanta History Center with my husband, with my granddaughters (then 7 and 8) and this time alone, and each time I've come away with a new perspective of Atlanta. The permanent exhibits are good, the Tully farm and Swan house tours well worth the time, the gardens always lovely, but I also appreciate the temporary exhibits. We loved the Jim Henson exhibit when it was here, but this time I was overjoyed to discover "The Lost Gone With the Wind Manuscript" and "War in Our Backyards." I read GWTW as a girl and I teach composition, so you can imagine how thrilled I was to read Margaret Mitchell's handwritten edits in her last chapter. Her letters, also exhibited, revealed her respect for historical accuracy and her wry sense of humor. The exhibit on the Civil War battles that took place here in Atlanta was also interesting and instructional in military and local history. I'd always pictured Atlanta burning as Selznick portrayed it, but the actual historical accounts are much more interesting and accurate. Try to catch both these exhibits while they're still here!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank NoEmptyNestHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Love the history, hate the city”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The history center provided us with hours of enjoyment and interesting things we never knew about. However, Atlanta itself is one of the worst cities to visit. Even during non-rush hour times the roads are jam packed and good luck finding your exit without using a gps. During rush hours, don't try to go anywhere.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlanta History Center also viewed

 

Been to Atlanta History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing