We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a park, nothing more”

Centennial Olympic Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.99*
and up
Atlanta City Tour by Electric Car
More Info
$69.98*
and up
Atlanta's Sightseeing Bus Tour
More Info
$58.99*
and up
Atlanta Segway Tour: Midtown Sightseeing
Ranked #17 of 291 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built for the 1996 Summer Olympic Games, this public park offers weekly free concerts, a dancing water fountain for the kids and a memorial quilt in remembrance of the victims of the 1996 Olympic bombing.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Vienna, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just a park, nothing more”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

If there was any data about the Olympic bombing and the history, we didn't see it. And we tried to walk from the World of Coke to the CNN tower and had to walk WAAAY around the park. A lame statue, nothing much to see.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,379
    1,252
    494
    58
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Welling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“history and scenery”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The quilt of remembrance after the bombing, the Olympic history and flags, the statue, the water fountains, the music! This is a lovely park where something's always happening. Check out their website for upcoming events.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank hammeretteWelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to see.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The park is very pretty, full of Olympic Games information and the day we were there all sorts of activities were taking place. So full of life.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SallyLynKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Fireworks Show in My Life”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I am not a "fireworks" person. If it's too crowded or too much trouble, I'll pass. But fireworks at Centennial Park in Atlanta for 4th of July was incredible. Since we were staying at the Hilton Garden Inn close by, we could walk there. it wasn't crowded at all, maybe because it had rained all day. Cleared up though. (Warning- no outside food or drink.) There was a stage set up in the middle of the park and the fireworks must have been launched behind the stage. Also, the 2 buildings on either side of the park were used as launching areas. That made a difference in the experience, as you felt like it was surround-sound, surround-sight, fireworks going off Synchronized to music. The fireworks seemed unique and used for artistic effect. For example, there was a song with the word Fire in it, and then in back of the stage, something went off that looked like a huge bonfire. There was a softer song with fireworks that appeared more delicate and twinkly. I was very impressed. The synchronization for the fireworks and music was masterful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dried Up”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We waited for 45 minutes to see the fountains but nothing happened, and nothing happened, and still....nothing. Finally, someone went to the Googie Burger (the cafe in the park) and the folks there said the fountain was broken. Really, no way they could have put up a sign by all the signs stating the show times? Googie Burger, though, did NOT disappoint. Cheap and delicious!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centennial Olympic Park also viewed

 

Been to Centennial Olympic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing