We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A moving experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ebenezer Baptist Church of Atlanta

Ebenezer Baptist Church of Atlanta
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.99*
and up
Atlanta City Tour by Electric Car
Ranked #13 of 281 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This sanctuary became a spiritual haven for civil rights activists when Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. served as senior pastor in the 1960s. On the self-guided audio tour, King's inspirational sermons will take visitors back in time, while the new Horizon Sanctuary across the street is home to the present day congregation, highlighted by its traditional tabernacle choir.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A moving experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I visited as part of my tour of the larger MLK park/site complex. On the Monday afternoon that I visited, there were very few people there, meaning I had some time to myself in the sanctuary. Sitting among the pews and listening to the sermons was very powerful. For a moment, I felt as if i was there, back in the 60's, among the congregation. I could feel the passion and the goodness of Dr. King in the room. This is an integral part of the larger park/site visit. Don't skip it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    136
    30
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Historic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I'm not at all religious but when on tour from England we paid this church a visit and I have to say it was a very moving experience. I recall hearing some of Dr Martin Luther King's stirring speeches and sermons many years ago and to be able to be in the very place that they were made was quite something. The museum across the road is also a very worthwhile visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“EBC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Loved being able to see the church where MLK and his father preached. Beautiful interior and exterior; a place for reflection.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If one studies the movement of Blacks to equality, this is one of the places where it began.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The history of the black movement to equality is Atlanta, Ga. This was the church of Dr. MLKing;s father, but it is also where I listened to MLK himself., an important point in our nation's history

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dante S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Humbling Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

A must see if you are visiting Atlanta.
Sitting in the old church listening to Dr Martin Luther Kung Jnr's sermons was so moving. The atmosphere is electric, but in a very calm peaceful way. I am so glad I can say I got to visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank msdelicious82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ebenezer Baptist Church of Atlanta also viewed

 

Been to Ebenezer Baptist Church of Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing