We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Clean, Beautiful”
Review of Zoo Atlanta

Zoo Atlanta
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.04*
and up
Zoo Atlanta Admission
Ranked #17 of 289 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This extraordinary zoo, one of the oldest in the U.S., underwent a multi-million dollar renovation in the 1980s and is still expanding. Its landscaping replicates the natural habitats of the numerous animals, some of which are endangered species. Four panda bears from China delight the crowds, and groups of gorillas separated by moats do their own share of entertaining.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun, Clean, Beautiful”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The zoo is always fun. Everyone loves the zoo, right? The Atlanta zoo is very well mapped out. It's not too big but its not too small. It is just the right size. They have new baby pandas.
Take your swim suits and a beach towel there is a splash park for the kids. They sell bracelets for the rides but there aren't that many rides. There is a carousel, a rock wall, and a jump house. You can take your own drinks in if you have them in your backpack. The bathrooms were very clean and they are convenient.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,209
    973
    372
    85
    32
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Day”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Enjoyed our trip to the zoo. Kids enjoyed feeding the animals and just enjoyed the whole place overall.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Multi-generational fun”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited the zoo over Labor Day weekend with three generations from ages 5-66. It kept us all entertained. This is a very accessible attraction. It has motorized scooters and wheel chairs for rent, which helped since I broke my toe the day before in the hotel. The scooters have a wonderful turning radius and clip along at a nice speed. Although the visit was shortened by rain, there are many places you can ride out a rainstorm. They could use more misting fans. They only had 2. The Marta at the airport to Five Points and the bus to Cherokee Street leave you right at the zoo entrance. I nice way to spend the afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PegasusGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Maine
1 review
“Zoo Atlanta....Great place to visit”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went to the zoo in August with my sister and brother-in-law who is in a wheelchair...all entries were accessible for him.... the people were very informative and got to see new babies that had been born...wonderful experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mollybug1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed...”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I was very excited when I found out that Zoo Atlanta has a Red Panda and a Sloth.
Turns out they don't actually have either of those animals... Contrary to their website... BOO!!!

*The otter feeding was way too cute!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank StaceyPerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoo Atlanta also viewed

 

Been to Zoo Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing