We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great for the entire family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zoo Atlanta

Zoo Atlanta
Book In Advance
More Info
$81.25*
and up
Atlanta CityPass
Ranked #17 of 281 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This extraordinary zoo, one of the oldest in the U.S., underwent a multi-million dollar renovation in the 1980s and is still expanding. Its landscaping replicates the natural habitats of the numerous animals, some of which are endangered species. Four panda bears from China delight the crowds, and groups of gorillas separated by moats do their own share of entertaining.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Dallas, GA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great for the entire family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Allow about 2-3 hours to enjoy the zoo. The pandas are a must see. We also enjoyed seeing the elephants, gorillas and monkeys. The reptile building is old, but it's been well maintained, and the exhibits are cool--snakes, big lizards, etc.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MACON51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,146
    939
    349
    84
    30
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It keeps you interested”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Zoo Atlanta is a small zoo with the appearance of just having been plopped down in a residential neighborhood a little bit east of downtown. Once their tiny parking lot fills up you're left with only on street parallel parking. The zoo itself isn't too bad. Due to time constraints we only spent a couple of hours there, but I don't think there was much more to see. However one of the more anticipated sights was the giant pandas, and two panda cubs less than a week old. We watched the happenings inside the mother panda's den via a live video feed. The artificiality of some of the animal dens was readily apparent, and some seemed to me to be much too small. Overall it was enjoyable and a great place to take the kids.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The splash area was a pleasant surprise on a hot day. The zoo is small but did not care for their food selection. Prices for Mack's are higher thn Disney so hat is major for us. We went because of the city pass otherwise I think we would have skipped it. But the exhibits are good

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Nice Way To Spend The Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We took the bus from downtown to the zoo, it was fairly straight forward and fairly uneventful. To get in the zoo I used my membership card from "The Florida Aquarium" so I got half off. Zoo Atlanta is a member of the AZA so you can use other memberships to get 1/2 off. Land wise the zoo is of good size and it is sectioned off into areas, African Plains, Safari, Oriental, Animal Trade, petting zoo and Carnivores I think. When I went some of the animals were off exhibit, Red Panda, Lion and Giraffe, but I still enjoyed it. There was a fountain for the children to play in and fans for the adults to sit at. Went in the AM so while the animals were being fed, it was nice, would go again. The highlights of the trip was feeding the birds and seeing animals I've never seen before.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
316 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Small But Entertaining for the Youngsters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was my first Atlanta City Pass selection because I received a free roundtrip taxi ride from my hotel, the Hampton Inn on Spring Street. The zoo is small compared to what I usually experience in Indianapolis and Cincinnati, but it was worth the visit with kids.

Several volunteers and interns were stationed throughout the zoo to display different types of snakes. Although visitors could not hold the snakes, they were invited to touch them and pose for photos. Other interactive exhibits included feeding various animals, including giraffes and parakeets. The gorilla and monkey exhibits were very interesting, and it was easy to understand the hierarchy within those animal groups.

Zoo Atlanta also has a unique panda feature, and twin pandas were born just before my visit. The babies weigh about 4 ounces each, and they're about the size of cell phones. A video of the mother with a baby was shown on a monitor, but I don't know if it was a live feed. In addition, the baby was so tiny that no one could see it on the screen. A baby rhino is expected soon, so the staff and volunteers are very excited about these newborns.

The City Pass included all-you-want rides on the carousel and train plus the playground and rock climbing wall. Exhibits are set up for stroller viewing, and strollers and wheelchairs are available for rent. Of course, ending the day at the splash area was a huge hit for the young'uns, and a few old'uns.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank redink46142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoo Atlanta also viewed

 

Been to Zoo Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing