We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Atlanta Zoo is a great place to take a walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zoo Atlanta

Zoo Atlanta
Book In Advance
More Info
$81.51*
and up
Atlanta CityPASS
Ranked #17 of 286 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This extraordinary zoo, one of the oldest in the U.S., underwent a multi-million dollar renovation in the 1980s and is still expanding. Its landscaping replicates the natural habitats of the numerous animals, some of which are endangered species. Four panda bears from China delight the crowds, and groups of gorillas separated by moats do their own share of entertaining.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Atlanta
Level Contributor
165 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The Atlanta Zoo is a great place to take a walk”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I think we have an amazing zoo in Atlanta and when the weather is nice and I can get away during the week (when all of the kids aren't there) it is a fun place to take a walk. There is a wide variety of animals & birds and I am particularly attracted to watching the gorillas & pandas, and I love the birds as well. My kids are in their mid-20's so I hadn't visited in quite a while until about 4 years ago when I just needed a mental health break and headed down there for a break. If you think you can go 3-4 times each year I suggest a season pass.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank mjatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,180
    958
    361
    85
    32
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Douglasville, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Great Day with a Bunch of 3rd Graders!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I was one of 4 teachers accompanying 60 3rd graders on a field trip to Zoo Atlanta. When we checked in there was a Zoo employee waiting with a clip board with a list of schools they were expecting that day. We saw at least 8 different school groups, but never felt like it was too crouded. Occasionally we had to wait a minute or two to get a close up view of an attraction, but that did not happen often. They supplied us with a map when we arrived which really helped us navigate the park. The prices in the gift shop are high which is unfortunate because my students are from a low poverty area and it was hard for us to find something they could afford. There are several areas outside of the gate that are perfect for a picnic, which is where we ate our lunches that we brought with us. There is ample parking for school buses, but you can't see it from the gate so ask an employee and they will direct you to the right place.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LindaMakesMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Exhibits and Plenty of Walking”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Really like the vastness of the exhibits and animal environments. Having taken my 3 year old, in a stroller (a must..LOTS of walking!), it took 3.5 hours at a leisurely pace including two rides on the carousel and a brief play in the playground. I visited it just the prior summer, and although enjoyed it, it's not something that I must do every summer as it doesn't change whatsoever. Try and get there near opening, as animals are less active in the heat of the day. Worth a visit.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Larroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average City Zoo, needs improvement and pazzaz!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Atlanta Zoo has been a staple attraction of the East Side of the city for many years, however to zoo is in need of some serious cleaning up. The grounds during our visit were in need of some necessary painting and repairs. The best attractions are still the Lowland Gorilla Paddock, but things will never quite be the same without Willie B. The Panda exhibit is usually pretty crowded, but you can check things out anytime with the live Panda Cam.

Perhaps one of the redeeming qualities of the zoo is the Jazz-zoo Fundraiser that is held every year. Tickets are a bit pricey, but everything collected goes directly to the zoo facilities and the open food and cocktails more than makes up for the fee. All of the food and adult libations are supplied by local area eateries and bars. Both the festival from 2010 and 2011 were great, although it would be nice if the gates opened sooner for people to enjoy the zoo and animals for an hour or two before the drinks start to pour and the music starts to play.

The price is right and if you hold a AAA card you can get a discount at the gate. The other attraction next to the Zoo is Cyclorama which is a Diarama of the Civil War and the Battle of Atlanta. Quite amazing and very educational for children although the noise of the cannons and gun fire can be disturbing to very young guests.

All in all, the zoo is a nice break to take the kids to or for a couple to enjoy walking around for a few hours and seeing the animals.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank SPG-DL-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great day for kids of all ages”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Wear comfy shoes and be ready to visit all the animals in humane natural habitats. Pink Flamingos, Wart Hogs, Silver Back Gorillas, Elephants, Zebras and the list goes on. You will be able to feed the giraffes. Personally I would go somewhere else to eat, high dollar junk food.. but it is truly a great zoo.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoo Atlanta also viewed

 

Been to Zoo Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing