We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Molino del Santo
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Posada del Fresno(Montejaque)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Don Benito Hotel(Ronda)(Great Value!)
$277
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$136
$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Plaza de Toros(Ronda)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$318
$292
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$155
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,215)
Filter reviews
1,215 results
Traveler rating
1,118
74
13
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,118
74
13
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat foodnothing is too much troublean oasissecond visitmany yearsowners and stafftucked awaybeautiful settingthe riverswimming poolhigh standardlittle gemvery special placeold friendswalking holidaywonderful staylovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
977 - 982 of 1,215 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2009

I had heard many great things about this hotel - incuding from another hotel owner whose opinion I respect - and, if anything, my expectations were exceeded.

My thoughts: The Molino del Santo is indeed a "hidden gem" that most definitely merits seeking out. The food is divine, the location superb, the service exceptional, the professionalism 100% and the rooms of the absolute highest standard. However, what sets El Molino apart from 99% of all the other hotels I have stayed in is their attention to detail.

I had the best night's sleep I have had for years and years in any hotel and everything else was just absolutely perfect. As a fussy vegetarian I was delighted to find that there was an abundance of dishes that both my doctor and my stimach would approve of. No, not even my ex Mother-in-Law could have found reason to complain. (She is famous for such classics as "The water was too wet" (in a German swimming pool) and "the icecream was too cold" That was the final blow to a courier who had endured her on a 10 day coach tour of Austria-Switzerland)

Incidentally, the taxi driver who took me back to the coast commented that ALL the guests always praise the hotel and although he can't speak English he says that for the past 16 years it has always been a pleasure to pick guests up from there. Even if the passenger speaks no Spanish and he can only say "Good Day" and "Thank You" in English, he is sure that all the guests are delighted.

Enjoy! I did .....and I will return when it's a bit warmer as the pool looked VERY inviting!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank thisisspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2009

This hotel is set next to a babbling stream beneath towering crags where eagles circle. The atmosphere is extremely tranquil and the food, service and hospitality are second to none. The surronding countryside is unspoilt and easily accessible and the numerous "white villages" within a short drive offer some tremendous views and oppotunities to stroll around and experience the local culture.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfc762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2009

Our stay in Molino del Santo in October 2008 was the sixth or seventh time we have visited and every occasion has been a delight. This converted mill is a quality renovation in a timeless, simple style in delightful surroundings. The main buliding houses reception, some of the rooms, conference facilities and the restaurant, with the remaiing guest rooms as mini annexes. It boasts a fine swimming pool and grass lounging area. Despite being run by an English couple, the Molino has lost nothing of its Spanishness and a measure of how well it is run is that staff turnover has been minimal. The cuisine is superb and served either in the dining room or on the patio next to the river, when weather permits, which it generally does. A variety of activites is available, including lounging by the pool, yoga, massage, birdwatching and lovely walks and more. Finally, the Molino only has a two star rating!! Why? It deliberately does not have some of the irritating modern refinements - like TV in the rooms - required by the star rating system. It's a superb place!

Stayed: October 2008
Thank Maharajpore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

We arrived at the Molino after a bit of searching on a pleasant mid October afternoon. Once we passed through the portal we knew we had entered another world. The pretty connected cottages (obviously added over time) surround a lush Spanish courtyard setting with all manner of plantlife creating a world apart. This outdoor courtyard leads to the main building and several other levels with swimming pool, outdoor eating areas and a marvelous gazebo. Beside all of this cozy exterior set in the rocky crags of Grazelema runs a gurgling millstream that provides an acoustic and marvelous visual backdrop.
The rooms are comfortable and clean with adequate beds, storage and plenty of room to move around. Ours even had a couch and private terrace. The bath facility was also above average and very clean with fullsize shower and long double bowl vanity!
The original "mill house" serves as reception area, library, living room filled with cozy corners for that rare rainy day. Downstairs is another large living area with plenty of expert reading available on the local Ronda and the white villages. Adjacent to this area is the bar and then on to the dining area with it's sizeable outdoor terrace overlooking the rush of the stream. The restaurant serves a generous breakfast (included) at table and is open to the public for dinner. The restaurant is excellent and apparently is a destination for locals as the food is some of the best we had in Spain.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abeBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

This is our third stay at this lovely hotel and as usual it was a beautiful, peaceful retreat - even during a very wet week in September. The wonderful view from the balcony of our very comfortable room ,the great food, lovely walks close by, the heated pool in lovely gardens and most of all the warmth and friendliness of the staff is why we shall keep on returning to Molino del Santo. The extra touches, like the comfy sofas in front of the big log fire in the lounge on wet days, all make this hotel extra special plus the fact that feedback sugggestions are taken seriously and the owner e mails guests personally to acknowledge their comments. There is a train station close by but to make the most of this beautiful part of Andalusia, a car is a must.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Worldreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews