We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another world”
Review of Molino del Santo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Molino del Santo
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benaojan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and I have returned from another wonderful stay at the Molino, we have been so well treated in the past that we approached the trip with trepidation. When we told our friends Allan and Sandra that we were returning they insisted on joining us as they did on our last trip. We were wondering if the standard was still there! We were welcomed by Jose at reception as if we were the owners. The room was excellent and the food was even better than we remembered. The service was professional but informal with just the right amount of friendliness. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and we plan to return every year ( and a few times in between) A memorable stay, thank you Andy and Pauline, and Eddie. John and Fiona Mijas Costa Spain.

Room Tip: Try the superior rooms, they are a little larger. We had no noise from the A/C at all. The rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyMolinoSpain, Owner at Molino del Santo, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear John and Fiona,

It is always so rewarding to have such lovely comments from returning guests which we all really appreciate. Eddie - the hotel dog - was very pleased to meet you too and looks forward to welcoming you back as do Pauline, the staff and myself.

Hasta Pronto

Andy Chapell, Hotel Molino del Santo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

We travelled to the hotel by train from San Roque which was a relaxing and comfortable experience, the train being unexpectedly modern and providing an armchair view of the changing countryside as we made our way steadily up through the hills. Reaching our destination all too quickly, in an hour and a bit, we arrived in the small station and just a few minutes walk brought us to the beautiful Molino del Santo, and as we stepped over a flower lined pathway to reception we were met by a warm welcome, and greeted by the owner who has sympathetically developed the complex from scratch and takes an active part in the running of the hotel. Our room number 3 was comfortable and spacious, with absolutely everything we needed, the bed comfortable and bathroom offering a shower and proper sized bath. Our own balcony provided a peaceful spot to take in the delicately blossom scented air and enjoy the view over the gardens and quaintest adjacent buildings, with the bougainvillea in full bloom, purple and clambering and tumbling over the white stucco walls. We travelled with six friends, and everyone declared their rooms comfortable and well appointed, especially our young couple, who enjoyed their elevated room and balcony fit for newleyweds . The gardens are certainly beautiful, carefully tended and offer endless opportunities to relax in the shade or sunshine, either by the refreshingly heated pool or under trees on the lawns or terraces, in shady bowers. We were delighted by the little surprises, a frog pond with chirruping, croaking frogs, who would pop their heads just above the pondweed to amuse us with their melodious calls, and two different types of lizard which darted up the stone walls in the heat of the day.

The decor of the hotel is perfect, embracing traditionalism, but with a few modern twists, and some original features such as an olive oil press, carefully preserved and picked out in an attractive shade of coral. The subtle scents in the air are sublime, a lingering charcoal waft by the old fireplace, and beeswax from lovingly polished wood. Perhaps linseed from the hand made clay tiles.

The meals were delicious and served by a competent team of attentive staff. We dined outside on the beautiful terrace, under the stars at night, and in the morning and during the day in dappled sunshine. We enjoyed breakfast lunch and dinner, punctuated by freshly brewed coffee and tea, and some admirable wines, accompanied by the soporific background sound of water rushing down the river. We had planned to visit Ronda and explore nearby caves with their ancient cave paintings, but as things worked out, with the location being so lovely, we decided the best thing was to soak up the ambience and just relax. Next time we visit we will stay a little longer and maybe get around to exploring the area further. Just before we left, our host gave an illustrated talk about how it all began, in a lovely new function room above the restaurant, and explained how he and his wife made the decision to run a rural retreat in Southern Spain, and built up the old mill to become the beautiful Molino del Santo. What an achievement, and what a location! We plan to return in the not too distant future. Thank you to everyone who helped to make our experience a very positive one.

Room Tip: The hotel staff provided recommendations for the perfect choice of each room for our party of eight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyMolinoSpain, Owner at Molino del Santo, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Wow - that is such a lovely review - bordering on the poetical. It was of course a pleasure to welcome all of you to Molino and I am so pleased that you had a "wonderful weekend".

I do hope you will return for a longer visit as you mention.

Best wishes from the frogs and from me.

Andy Chapell for Molino del Santo s.l.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed at Molino del Santo for 3 nights. My parents stay there every year and so I was treated like a princess. The staff are extremely friendly at the same time as being incredibly professional. The environment is perfect - everything at the hotel is beautiful and you are surrounded by the wonderful Andalucian countryside. There is lots to do if you want to - gorgeous walks, and trips to Ronda and other towns. But you can equally really relax, do very little, and know that you will be very well cared for. A real tonic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyMolinoSpain, Owner at Molino del Santo, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for the very kind words about Molino del Santo. It was a real pleasure to meet you after so many visits of your parents and we hope you will be able to return again soon.

Andy Chapell, Molino del Santo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We only stayed for two nights but enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. The staff in the reception were friendly and welcoming in fact all the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was large and light and had a good sized terrace. The pool was quite big and warm with plenty of loungers to relax in, perfect after a days hiking. Breakfast was a buffet with a large selection of hot or cold food to choose from.The hotel is in a beautiful location with a stream running past it and plenty parking spaces. It is a bit pricey but we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bulls_Fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyMolinoSpain, Owner at Molino del Santo, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for your kind words about Molino del Santo. We are delighted to learn that you are part of the very large group of people who value the work that our brilliant staff do on behalf of all of our guests.

We hope to see you at Molino again soon.

Andy Chapell , for Molino del Santo s.l.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was my second stay at the hotel and was just as wonderful as my first. The food was excelent. The room with its own balcony was fantastic and had the quietest air conditioning I have ever come across. We had a wonderful dinner out on the veranda overlooking the stream. As an art lover I had a great time exploring the nooks and crannies to look at all the art on show and found the wealth of local artist work inspiring. if you want confort along with a something to spark your imagination this is a hotel to check out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyMolinoSpain, Owner at Molino del Santo, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

I am delighted that you enjoyed the art work at Molino so much. It also gives us great pleasure to be surrounded by such beautiful images and creations.

We hope to see you at Molino again very soon.

Andy Chapell for Molino del Santo s.l.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights last week. We'd booked back in March and had requested Room 14 - mainly due to the reviews we'd read that it was a smaller room but had great views. On arrival we were given Room 6. Room was lovely and large but the views from the balcony were disappointing (see photos attached). The room was beside the stream and, as it was in full flow day and night, very noisy. It is also directly above the restaurant so there is constant noise from that in the afternoons/evenings. There were also dogs barking in the land opposite - each early evening for an hour or so and on 3 out of our 5 nights they barked constantly between 3 - 4 am.

We did try to change our room on arrival. The receptionist did try to be helpful, but due to the hotel being full, could only offer us several changes of room for our 5 nights. We felt we had no choice but to remain in Room 6 as moving rooms several times would not have been very relaxing! We simply stayed inside our room and did not sit out on the balcony.

There were many good things about the hotel. Unfortunately, Room 6 is not one of those!

Room Tip: Probably any room other than Room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JackieMcP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyMolinoSpain, Owner at Molino del Santo, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

We do listen to our guests and we do try to please as many people as we can. Unfortunately the room that these guests requested had been reserved months before we received their reservation. They did not book directly through the hotel but through an online booking agent. We always prefer to have direct contact with a potential guest so that we can ensure that we know exactly what they want.

I am very sorry that for this particular guest the "noise of the stream in full flow" was a problem. but other guests have commented that they love the white noise of a stream flowing by.

I should also comment that "our" stream - and we do feel affectionate and a little proprietorial about it - is not in full flow in July. Of course I understand that any sound that is not familiar is unsettling and I am genuinely sorry that it was an issue for these guests. One guest has contacted us recently to tell us that she plays a recording of our stream to lull her to sleep in London.

I have already replied directly to the guests about the sound of the dogs. Unfortunately this is an occasional problem hat we have but if guests let us know when they are staying with us then we can talk to the owners and to the local authorities and the issue can be addressed. As we were not informed that the dogs were a problem at the time we were unable to raise the matter through official channels. I also hasten to add that this is only an occasional problem and these are the first guests this year as far as I am aware that have had an issue with dog noise.

Each room at a hotel like ours has advantages and shortcomings. Some people like room 6 for the privacy of its terrace which is not overlooked and I am sorry that this was not appreciated by these guests. .

I am very pleased to know that our staff did all that they could to remedy the situation for these guests and am genuinely sorry that we were not able to meet all of their expectations. We will keep doing our best to meet the requirements of our customers. Of course it is much easier to do this if people contact us directly rather than book through on-line agents and we would urge everyone to do so.

Andy Chapell for Molino del Santo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Just returned from our 3rd stay at Molino. This is the only hotel to which we have ever returned for a holiday. It gets better every visit, with friendly owners and staff who make you feel part of the "Molino" family. Facilities, garden and pool are excellent and always well maintained. The food is various, delicious and of a high quality. We look forward to returning for our 4th time.

Room Tip: All rooms we have stayed in have been excellent but our favourite is No. 11. The beds are very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyMolinoSpain, Owner at Molino del Santo, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you Christine for your very kind words - and to all the others who have taken the time and trouble to write such lovely things about Molino in the first half of our 2014 season.

70% of people staying with us have been before or have recommended friends to stay and very many tell us verbally and via questionnaires and on online sites how much they enjoy their stays.

We are very lucky to have an amazingly concerned staff. Any cause of dis-satisfaction is talked about and solutions are discussed ad infinitum. Of course we are not perfect - at the end of the day we are only human - but there is a huge ethos here of all of us trying to do the best we can for the guest. Always. And it is so great that so many people appreciate what we are doing. Thank you to everyone who supports us in so many ways.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benaojan
7.1 mi away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
391 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
6.2 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
5.0 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
5.2 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#3 of 40 in Ronda
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molino del Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molino del Santo

Address: Avenida Estacion, 29370 Benaojan, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Benaojan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benaojan
Price Range: $141 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Molino del Santo 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Molino del Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molino Del Santo Benaojan
Molino Del Santo Hotel Benaojan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing