We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People make things good. The staff here make it excellent!”
Review of Molino del Santo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Molino del Santo
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benaojan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2014

My only slight worry when booking this hotel was another reviewer's comment."A little piece of England in the sun".We arrived mid Sunday afternoon and the place was alive with Spanish families finishing their lunches. What a relief!
I'm glad we chose this location for our 15th anniversary. It's homely, honest and understated yet stylish and right up to date.
Above all though the staff make it stand out. They care, it shows and you feel it.
Many guests seem to return year after year making the intricate and private buildings seem a little like a well run club, perhaps an old friend. Don't overlook your new ones though. See you again.

Room Tip: We moved to stay an extra night. From our experience both our rooms were good and so much better for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPSTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

I visited Molino del Santo last week - I have been before, my parents have been many times and this was my husband’s first experience.

On arriving I was treated like family (albeit it not having been for 12 years!). The team are absolutely brilliant, from reception to the cleaners they are polite, happy and helpful.

The rooms are very comfortable and if you get a room with a balcony you get that extra little private feeling. We had room 14, which I note others have said is the best. We had sun all day (when it was out) and had the most perfect relaxing week.

The food at Molino is superb - for foodies, you have to try to tasting menu with matched wines. We did this on our final evening and it was a stunning meal and the wine, really well matched. Saying that, all the meals we had were superb, from breakfast, snacks at lunch time through to the evening meal.

We spent each evening at the bar for pre-dinner drinks - worth trying the local gin.....it's great, and the measures are most certainly on the generous side.

Molino is a place to go if you want to chill out and do nothing - it really is like being at home. If it does happen to be cold, you can snuggle up on the sofa by the open fire and read until your heart is content. If you want to be more active there is lots to do - places to visit, walking, horse riding, a fab swimming pool on site and now cooking lessons.

I have known some of the team for 20 years now and each of them greeted me as if I had been there the month before - what a special team they are. They help to make Molino what it is - perfect in every way.

Andy and Pauline, the owners, make everyone feel equally welcome - they may encourage you to buy a little local art or they may tease you all week (if Andy thinks you can handle it!) but they will be perfect hosts and do everything they can to make your stay very special.

We are planning to head back next year......so it's clearly been a hit for my husband too!

Room Tip: Room 14 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacketsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Molino is a home from home, this was my third time here & I have felt so welcome every time. The staff are so welcoming & helpful with information and always have time for you, even though they are busy. The rooms are spacious, clean & big. The food is delicious and delivered with a smile & sense of humour by the staff.

The atmosphere is so relaxing, it is a wonderful place to kick back & enjoy the tranquil area. The owners, who are as welcoming as the staff, have created an unique place, that once visited you will always want to go back, don't take my word for it, go & try for yourself, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms outside enjoy the tranquil away from the noise of the dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy007863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I chose the Molino to celebrate our ruby wedding anniversary on March 11th 2014.
What a wonderful place to spend a special few days. The whole place is fantastic and the staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing was to much trouble. The food was incredible, DELICIOUS. Definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We have just spent two nights here. The hotel is in a glorious spot, the hotel grounds are immaculate and in another few weeks the roses and geraniums will be out and glorious I think. Our room was lovely and spotless, great maids as well. The staff are brilliant especially on reception and the breakfast ladies. The breakfasts are superb!! We enjoyed 3 lovely walks from the hotel (take sensible boots or shoes!!) We took the train into Ronda, shame not very regular, but driving in takes no time at all and there are some great tapas bars there.

All in all this hotel is extremely well run and one must praise the owners and staff. We are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny_Smith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is an ideal hotel for the nervous traveller. It is all very calm and peaceful, surrounded by some beautiful countryside ideal for walking and your fellow guests will almost certainly be British. The hotel complex is very pretty with gardens and balconies tucked away. The manager (English) works hard trying to charm the female guests and is very helpful and knowledgeable about the region. There is a lovely little pool and as there are no TV's in the rooms your sleep will not be disturbed by noisy neighbours. The food is very good although service can be rather slow if the restaurant is busy. We would have liked the chance to try some local specialities but there are good tapas bars in nearby Ronda - an interesting old town well worth a visit. Shame about the ghastly music at breakfast!

Room Tip: Our room didn't have much natural daylight but the patio was sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavender20186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a rural end to our two week culture vulture road trip around the sites of Andalucia. And we fancied a bit of walking. We booked Molina del Santo for these reasons, and on the strength of the Trip Advisor reviews. And we were not disappointed.

The staff, including the owners, were absolutely charming, and couldn't do enough to make the stay pleasant (and in the case of owner-Andy, entertaining). The food at dinner was excellent, enough so as to undermine any enthusiasm for wandering off elsewhere to eat over a few night stay, frankly! The breakfast offering tended towards a more basic approach, but lacked nothing (including a cooked breakfast of the day). In any case, one can happily have one's food on one's room balcony, which adds to the options, particularly at night to stargaze.

The grounds are well kept, indeed very pretty, and the (heated) pool & poolside idyllic. The rooms are more basic in flavor, with the furniture a bit on the older second-hand side, but not such as to cause a problem, and they are certainly comfortable, clean and very well-maintained.

The most impressive thing is simply the overall atmosphere: it's a relaxed but entirely enticing and comfortable ambiance. Like sitting in a comfy chair, with an old friend on one side and an excellent glass of wine on the other. This place is worth it's weight in gold, in my estimation.

Walking in the area is dead easy, with lots of suggested routes at the hotel (again the staff are happy to suggest/direct), either starting out the front door or after a short drive. Indeed there's a local train station a five minute walk away with infrequent but regular trains which will take you a couple of stops in either direction so you can walk back (or do the reverse) (and go into Rhonda by train instead of driving). The area is stunningly beautiful, and we really did have some tremendously scenic and enjoyable walks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benaojan
7.1 mi away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
395 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
6.2 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,509 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cortijo Las Piletas
Cortijo Las Piletas
#18 of 40 in Ronda
184 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molino del Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molino del Santo

Address: Avenida Estacion, 29370 Benaojan, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Benaojan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benaojan
Price Range: $133 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Molino del Santo 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Molino del Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molino Del Santo Benaojan
Molino Del Santo Hotel Benaojan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing