We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near on perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Molino del Santo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Molino del Santo
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benaojan
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Near on perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

We stayed at the Molino Del Santo as part of a 10 day walking holiday and would certainly recommend and go back - just to stay there. The owners really care about their hotel and guests which makes all the difference and we really felt that everything we could have wished for was catered for.

  • Liked — attention to detail
  • Disliked — room a bit cool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stickyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    69
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
257
594
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2008

When we go on botany holidays in Europe with Susan Worner Tours, PO Box 26, Boroughbridge, York, YO1 9YU we always stay at beautiful hotels with flowers on the doorstep. The hotel Molino del Santo is one of the best where you walk on terracotta paving through flower gardens to your room set into the hillside, each room with its own private patio. At a lower level the big blue swimming pool is set into the huge green lawn surrounded by sun loungers, with scented jasmine tumbling over the white walls above. The hotel has been developed from an old olive and flour mill and on hot days we had delicious lunches in the shade of the willow tree by the rushing mill stream. On hot afternoons we sat under the fig tree reading, painting and watching the vultures soaring over the mountains. We had tea and home-made cake at 5 O'clock. This was during our four day extended stay.

What happened to the botany? Well it rained, and how it rained, and it was cold, when we went in April. On days we could not go out there was a log fire in the comfortable lounge, hot chocolate in the bar, puzzles and and games to play, an excellent selection of books to read and a big lecture room upstairs with picture windows where you could watch the mill stream in spate, or indeed have an entertaining talk. In Spain the evening meals are late and leisurely but the food and wines were good and well worth waiting for.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

We have just returned from our 10th visit to Molino del Santo.
There is nowhere quite like it! We have stayed in many places around the world - this is the only one we feel compelled to return to year after year.
Andy and Pauline have created the perfect holiday experience.
Friendly and efficient staff. Clean quiet rooms (except for the rushing stream !) Fabulous food. Magical surroundings.Wonderful countryside for walking - the wildlife and flowers especially in the spring are not to be missed.
There are so many lovely places to visit - especially the white town of Ronda and its amazing gorge. Cordoba, Jerez, Granada are all possible for a day visit.
Can't wait for next year.

  • Liked — Spotlessly clean,quiet, wonderful surroundings,friendly efficient staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Berkshiresammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2008

We wanted a quiet place to spend a few days in the Ronda area and relax. We were encouraged by how friendly and helpful paco and Inma were in making our reservations. The hotel is located by a creek only a short walk from the train station in Benaojan. As soon as you seat yourself under the trees on the terrace by the creek you know you have come to the right place. All the staff were great. The food was terrific. Their Sangria was some of the best we had in Spain. We stayed in 2 rooms, one overlooking the creek and another overlooking the pool. Both were very nice, clean quiet and comfortable! This is another lace you need to stay and enjoy for several nights. There is a lot to do in Ronda, in the nearby natural park, the nearby white villages, the hiking and birdwatching. All in a very beautiful mountain setting. One review recommended hiking to the next village for lunch and taking the train back. We will certainly do that on our next trip. A great place to relax and enjoy beautiful Andalucia Spain.

  • Liked — Great staff, clean, nice rooms, beautiful country!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swamptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Barrios
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2008

Where can you enjoy a delightful meal, al-fresco, overlooking a gushing mountain stream, watching dippers and grey wagtails by the water, black wheatears perching atop the boulders above, and griffon vultures circling high in the sky? At Molino del Santo at Benaojan. As seasoned birdwatchers in Andalucia, we have yet to stay in a hotel that tops Molino for comfort, friendly ambience, lovely rooms and, of course, for being in an area rich in bird life. An absolute gem!

  • Liked — beautiful location
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earlybirdLosBarrios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2008

Lovely small hotel in a beautiful and peaceful setting. Friendly, very helpful service and excellent food. Situated near to a railway station so opportunity to walk the well marked path that follows railway line and river through stunning scenery to the next (downhill) station, have a delicious lunch and catch the train back! Many other opportunities for walking in the area. This is a beautiful area with some lovely scenery and the hotel is an excellent base from which to enjoy it all.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ore0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2008

JP Scotland April 2008
This little hotel is a hidden gem. Despite travelling extensively for both business and leisure, every year we return to Molino del Santo for a few days of peace and relaxation. The hotel is a delightful old watermill sensitively converted and extended to create just 18 rooms. The rooms are spotless and designed to fit with the character of the traditional style Spanish buildings. Set in beautifully landscaped gardens adjacent to the rushing waters of the mill lade, the setting is ideal for people looking to get away from it all and to laze by the pool. However, there are also plenty of activities if you venture further afield. The hotel provides detailed information about the numerous walks across the surrounding valleys and hills, which abound with birdlife, flowers and butterflies. Explore the numerous picturesque white villages of the area and visit the nearby town of Ronda, which, while often busy with tourists, has a spectacular setting and plenty of interesting museums.

The hotel food is Spanish but with adaptations to suit international palates. Breakfasts offer a spread of continental delicacies as well as one or two cooked dishes each day. The real delight of this hotel though is the staff – they are all extremely welcoming, efficient and helpful. I’m already checking out dates for my next visit!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benaojan
7.1 mi away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
5.0 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
24.6 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molino del Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molino del Santo

Property: Molino del Santo
Address: Avenida Estacion, 29370 Benaojan, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Benaojan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benaojan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Molino del Santo 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Molino del Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molino Del Santo Benaojan
Molino Del Santo Hotel Benaojan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing