We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent meal at Molino del Santo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Molino del Santo

Restaurant Molino del Santo
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Benaojan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“An excellent meal at Molino del Santo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Travelled again to Molino del Santo, this time by train with my wife, her sister and husband.
The weather was great and we were welcomed by the friendly staff. We had pre-booked our table, which I think is essestial. It was a Wednesday lunchtime and most tables were occupied over the next hour.
There was a large and varied menu. All our choices were beautifully cooked and presented. Andy and his staff were friendly, attentative and professional. As usual our food and wine were excellent. Our table was beside the river that runs past the mill, with the wall festooned with geraniums. After 3 hours it was all too soon and we had to leave to catch our train.
This is the first we have done this journey by train, although many fellow travellers joined us at San Roque and apparently regularly use this route. We travelled from Algeciras at the beginning of the line that goes to Ronda and Granada. We travelled through beautiful countryside once we had left behind Algeciras, La Linea and Gibraltar. For much of our journey we were travelling along gorges alongside the Rio Guadiaro. I would recommend this journey as great way of starting and finishing a visit to the most excellent restaurant that is Molino del Santo. Even better stay at it's Hotel for a greater experience. Hope to return soon.
John Cracknell

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnCracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulineElkin, Owner at Restaurant Molino del Santo, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
I was delighted to read your review which explained the wonderful train journey from Algeciras alongside the River Guadiaro. I hope lots of people read it and are encouraged to do the same - if we don't use the trains we'll lose them! Not only is it a wonderful experience but you can have a lovely meal in the middle! Thank you for pre-booking your table - it's also worth saying that it's sensible to pre-book the train tickets as the new trains don't allow standing room!
See you soon we hope - and thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    51
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
eastbourne, england
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“beautiful location, service average!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We recently enjoyed lunch at Molino del santo. I wanted to check it out with a view to staying at the hotel in the future. We were warmly welcomed by the hostess and sat outside, its a beautiful terrace right next to the river. I cannot remember the meal, the serving staff were clearly focused elsewhere and we did not feeling welcome, we ate an average meal and we did not linger. I am sure it was probably someone having an off day, shame!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ardy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulineElkin, Owner at Restaurant Molino del Santo, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
What can I say - apart from I'm SO sorry you didn't have a more pleasurable experience with us.
I'm going to try and sort out exactly what happened on this lunchtime and get back to you.
Once again profound apologies - we strive to make everyone happy but something failed with your table - and thank you for taking the time to let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahamas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you are in Andalusia - Make the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Had lunch and dinner and breakfast here whilst staying overnight at the hotel and enjoyed every minute.
The staff were attentive, knowledgeable but, happily, not over fussy. For the region, the food was exceptional and I cannot wait to go back. The wine is sourced locally, which I consider to be a plus and was fairly priced.
Diners here will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank r747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulineElkin, Owner at Restaurant Molino del Santo, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
The Team and I are SO pleased you enjoyed all your meals with us - it makes all the hard work worthwhile! Also delighted you tried our local wines - we are so lucky to have such quality wines growing on our doorstop.
¡Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“best restaurant in Andalusia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The food was extremely good. Fresh local ingredients, a creative menu and a super friendly staff. The best food we ate during our trip in Spain.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulineElkin, Owner at Restaurant Molino del Santo, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We're delighted you enjoyed your visit to Molino so much and thank you so much for taking the time to write a Review - please spread the news to your friends in California! ¡Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“We can't keep away from this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Every year we try to eat here and we have never been disappointed. This summer the only sad thing was that the goats and chickens from the farm next door seem to have vanished. It would be a shame if the place no longer felt as if it were in the depths of rural Spain - which it most certainly is. Loved the tasting menu with matching wines, and another night the BBQ langostinos were fabby too. The staff are wonderful and make seriously dangerous jugs of sangria.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulineElkin, Owner at Restaurant Molino del Santo, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing Review - and delighted you tried the Barbecue AND the Tasting Menu.
Re the rural life : it still is totally rural here but it's true, the last comercial flock of goats at the Estación was sold this Spring...tragically it costs the goatherds more to rear them now than what they earn from them...buy more Andalucian goat everyone!
Re the Sangría : Victor loves making his special mix!
Hasta pronto espero...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Molino del Santo also viewed

Benaojan, Province of Malaga
Arriate, Costa del Sol
 
Benaojan, Province of Malaga
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
Benaojan, Province of Malaga
 

Been to Restaurant Molino del Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing