We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in one bite!”

Restaurant Molino del Santo
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Benaojan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $49
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfection in one bite!”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I was fortunate recently to dine twice in three days in the newly reinvented restaurant at the Molino Del Santo. Having dined at the Molino on numerous occasions over many years I thought that it had no more surprises to offer. I was wrong! Under the guidance of their new chef, the improbably named Gordon Brown, the Molino is producing some truly stunning and highly original dishes.

My first dining experience took place in the formal restaurant area. Four of us dined and all of us thoroughly enjoyed the offerings. The details of all the courses escape me but 14 hour cooked pork, a soup resembling a cappuccino, a fabulous lamb dish and a dessert far too beautiful to eat (I did though) spring to mind.

The second meal took place on the magnificent Molino river terrace where the gurgling of the mountain stream and dramatic mountain views provide an unparalleled environment for eating. Sampling the lunch time menu was a pleasure with the four of us sharing a mixture of local and not so local dishes. Tortillas, black pudding (Spanish style), bean salads and Iberian meats formed but a small part of our overall spread. Once again detailed memories escape me but the overall impression is one of flair, imagination, colour and above all great tastes.

Served at all times by highly professional yet friendly staff, both meals were accompanied by a fine selection of local, regional and international wines.
I cannot recommend the restaurant at Molino highly enough.
What a treasure it is!
I shall be returning in August 2011 for round 2!!!!!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SurbitonFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    53
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A Restaurant with the WOW factor.”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Our friends have a home in Andalucia and when we stayed with them recently they promised us a meal to remember at the Molino del Santo. Gordon Brown the new chef greeted us on arrival which was a pleasant start to a memorable lunch in a stunning setting. The service was understated yet extremely attentive, and the pace was just right with time to enjoy the ambience and the very good wine between courses. The menu was extensive, a La Carte or "Menu of the Day" which was very good value and both sourced frm predominantly local produce. There was also a sharing menu, a pre starter and we tried the Chariso in a Honey, Garlic & Balsamic dressing, which was maginificent.
The meal was a delight in a beautiful setting, and what better way to enjoy an afternoon with friends.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thomoLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A lovely place in the Ronda Sierra”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We went to El Molino del Santo looking for a romantic country restaurant with good food near Ronda.
We found a lovely place in an incredible setting in the mountains by the bank of a river. The service could not have been friendlier and the the food was excellent. Only ten minutes away from Ronda Molino is the place to go to escape the crowds.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marbelliamericana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Gastor, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just keeps on getting better and better”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We have known the Molino del Santo for many years and have always enjoyed lunch on their riverside terrace - one of the most beautiful spots around. Waiters Victor and Diego are professional but friendly with it and owner Andy (when there) spares a moment for all his guests and stops for a quick chat and catch up.

The food has always been good but since the arrival of new chef Gordon it has become exceptional - long may it last. My brother (who very kindly treated us) was amazed at the value for money and couldn't get over the fact that the house wine was only 9 euros.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMcA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetnole Dorset
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Outstanding experience”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

My husband and I have visited this hotel and restaurant many times over the past sixteen years.The food has always beeen of a high standard but this year under their new young scottish chef Gordon brown it has reached a new level altogether. The dishes created from good ,where possible local products ,are delicious.They are interesting, very imaginative and beautifully presented.They also now bake their own bread. There is a good choice from an excellent menu del dia with additional two dishes of the day and an extensive a la carte and gormet tasting menu , so something for all pockets and taste and all prepared with the same care and attention. The wine list which includes many local wines is also very good.

The lovely outdoor dining area is set beside a clear rushing river surrounded by beatiful well tended flowers and overlooked by mountains and there is always shade for those hot summer months if you need it. The indoor restaurant is equally charming in its own way.

As always with this hotel and restaurant it is the smiles, welcome and personal attention given by the owners and staff which makes dining here an outstanding experience .

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimble02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Molino del Santo also viewed

Benaojan, Province of Malaga
Montejaque, Province of Malaga
 
Benaojan, Province of Malaga
Arriate, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurant Molino del Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing