We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The home-built wood oven is the secret”

Restaurante Asador El Muelle
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Benaojan
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The home-built wood oven is the secret”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We eat here several times a year and are always very pleased. Service great, prices reasonable, portions way too large and everything home cooked in the brick oven. Except the tinned veg. although they are posh ones with artichoke hearts included in the mix! It is lovely to sit outside and watch the trains go by or watch the Spanish kids playing. The quality of the meat is especially high.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    32
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
2 reviews
“Great meat and great service”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

El Muelle is a place I have to visit when in the area. Dina is such a good host, always welcoming us and offering us a free homemade liquor or 'digestiv' made by her mother. The meat is phenomenal, all cooked in a big arabic oven you can see from outside. The selection is great - beef, buffalo, veal, pork, lamb, chicken and rabbit. Their 'ensalada mixta' is great to start and leaves you with another room for main! Sit outside when it's not too hot and enjoy the views and trains go past.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simple quality”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Have been here 3 times, we make it part of a nice drive out from the San Pedro area. The meat is as good as I have had anywhere at much higher price. It is a very friendly place with a lovely character. This place really is quite simply excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montejaque, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent grilled meat”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

El Muelle is housed in a cosy conversion of a station depot at one end of a platform at Benaoján train station.

Although only open from Thursday to Sunday, this is definitely on the local´s list of places to eat. The quality of the meat from wood-burning grill is what draws extended families to here on Sunday lunchtime when the restaurant is heaving with people. However, they also do very good fish and paella. Desserts are home-made. The sign over the door reads "asador" = spit-roast.

Do try the Iberian (ibérico) grilled pork; the pigs are outdoor-reared, spending their entire lives roaming the mountainsides and eating their favourite food, acorns. Probably the best cut to eat is "secreto", a cut that I never seen outside Spain. I think the closest English-language equivalent is shoulder, but don´t hold me to that. Delicious. The beef comes from Northern Spain, the best Spanish region for beef.

Gina, the owner, speaks English.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyB1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Simply Superb”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I called in for lunch whilst on a motorcycle tour through Andalucia, we were recommended to the restaurant by the chap who rented us the motorcycle. Upon arriving the owner insisted I park the bike in the shade right next to the restaurant to keep it cool before inviting us in.
The restauarnt is an old converted railway shed which has been done superbly and the large doors made sure there was plenty of ventilation. We chose a superb chorizo starter which was big enough for both of us (apparently the chorizo is made in the village) and this was followed by two of the biggest and best cooked steaks its been our pleasure to eat in a long time. The restauarant has a great atmosphere and is reasonably busy on a lunch time. The owners are genuinely lovely (who both speak a bit of Englsih which helped as my Spanish is not that good) and nothing was too much trouble for them. It was great value as well, I actually thought I'd been given the wrong bill it was such good value!
I'd recommend El Muelle to anyone and we cannot wait to go back again in 2013

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Falco9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Asador El Muelle also viewed

Benaojan, Province of Malaga
Benaojan, Province of Malaga
 
Benaojan, Province of Malaga
Benaojan, Province of Malaga
 

Been to Restaurante Asador El Muelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing