We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little B&B”
Review of La Mejorana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grazalema
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Mejorana
Ranked #1 of 2 Grazalema B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 18, 2012

La Mejorana in Grazalema was the perfect base for exploring and hiking the Sierra de Grazalema. We spent 3 nights there in May, and Ana was the perfect hostess. She helped us with anything we needed, and provided good tips for hiking trails, restaurants, etc. The view from our room was amazing! Grazalema is a quaint, beautiful town that merits a visit if you'll be in the area.

Traveler's Tip: Driving and, especially, parking in Grazalema is a challenge, to say the least. Purchase the insurance on your rental car, and don't try to park as close as possible. If there is an open spot within reasonable distance, take it! It may be the last free spot you find, especially in the evening

Traveler's Tip #2: Be patient with the permit system for the trails in the national park. Prepare as far in advance as possible, and do not expect to obtain a permit within 24 hours. In fact, if it's the weekend, it may take a few days for you to obtain the permits.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view - the Lavender room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimrueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 167 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

We have just spent a week staying with Andres and Ana at their lovely home. We were independent walkers visiting Grazalema to see the Spring flowers. They provided us with maps and walking instructions-nothing was too much trouble for them. The 6 rooms are all different (as this is an old building )and comfortable with a seating area or balcony-5 have wonderful views. Breakfast is on the terrace overlooking the swimming pool with the views stretching all around.
The guesthouse is a 5 minute walk down the hill into the village where there is a good choice of bars and restaurants to eat and drink. We highly recommend them.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mature-traveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Our walking company suggested this place for our base in Grazalema and we are glad they did. The owners are extremely friendly and made us very welcome on our arrival. The room had great views and really was just what we had hoped for. If you are looking for a comfortable base offering a homely feel look no further.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miloleicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This B&B surpassed expectations. Tucked away on a quiet street, but still moments from the main square, La Mejorana felt somewhat like a home away from home. Andreas and Ana were welcoming and happy to help out in any way they could. They speak english well. As mentioned by other reviewers, the common areas are lovely (fire going in the fireplace in the living room on cool evenings), the breakfasts are plentiful, and there is WIFI throughout. We had a room with a sitting area and a lovely view and found it a perfect place to be, even on a rainy day. We stayed for 3 nights and were sorry to be moving on.

Room Tip: I would request a room with a sitting area if planning on staying more than a night or so...a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sasfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This small hotel is tucked away down the narrow, pretty streets of Grazalema. It has quite an imposing entrance and once through the door you enter a cool, pleasant interior. The ground floor has the public areas including a living room, dining area, breakfast room and terrace.
The rooms are upstairs and are individual and comfortably furnished. There is no television in the room but I didn´t want one anyway. Breakfast on the terrace is lovely if the weather is right and there are good views down towards the town.
The best thing about this hotel is the owners, Andres and Ana who really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and at home. A perfect place to stay if you are in this part of Spain.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZiadR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

A beautiful house with lovely rooms. Good shower, good (free) wi fi, excellent residents lounge.
Perhaps offering a pay laundry service would be a good idea? Most of the guests seemed to be backpackers/walkers and this would certainly be a big plus.

Room Tip: The house is in a quiet location and I think all of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Godreamanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We arrived late and requested a room and this was no problem at all for Ana and Andreas the hosts. They run a relaxed bed and breakfast, with beautifully decorated rooms, 4/5 with excellent views. The hosts are very knowledgeable about the area and recommended some hiking routes which were excellent and the best local restaurants. We ended up extending our stay by 2 nights we liked it here so much.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helsglod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grazalema
1.2 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
#2 of 4 in Grazalema
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
#4 of 4 in Grazalema
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Penon Grande
Hotel Penon Grande
#3 of 4 in Grazalema
71 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel del Carmen
Hotel del Carmen
#1 of 1 in Prado del Rey
87 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel El Horcajo
Hotel El Horcajo
#36 of 40 in Ronda
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mejorana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mejorana

Address: Calle Santa Clara 6, 11610 Grazalema, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Grazalema
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grazalema
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of "Parque Natural de la Sierra de Grazalema" (nature reserve), a really well known enclave because of its exceptional landscape beauty, "La Mejorana" rural house is located. This house stands out thanks to its majestic air and preserved traditional architecture. It has six double rooms that have been decorated with exquisite style and taste. Every room has a private bathroom with bathtub and some wonderful views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Mejorana Hotel Grazalema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing