We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed our stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grazalema
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 7, 2012

A lovely room with a balcony overlooking the mountains - a spectacular view to the village of Grazelema. Well furnished and clean; we were very satisfied. An amazing array of stuff for breakfast and we enjoyed an evening meal one night.
We enjoyed a few hours by the pool after a walk over the mountains, quiet and peacefull.
It was a fair distance from Grazelema but that posed no problem as we had a car - ten minutes to drive but would have been a long walk along a narrow, twisting road. We found the location ideal for relaxing in.
It was a great base to do some walking from and we plan to go back to this hotel again to explore this fantastic area.
Anna, the receptionist was very helpful and a delightful personality.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony facing Grazelema.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N_IrelandMarmalade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 620 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

Found the beautiful mountain village of Grazelema on a trip from Seville to Ronda and have visited it a few times. The hotel actually sits on a hill facing the mountain village and as a result means you need a car. The hotel and the area is unspoiled and as far away from most people's perceptions of coastal Spain as you can get. Remarkably beautiful, unspoiled and like stepping back in time.
The hotel is welcoming and in March when I last visited was not in the least busy. It is built into the side of the hill and most of the common areas and the rooms themselves offer splendid views over the landscape, which is breathtaking. There is a lovely outdoor area with a pool and a jacuzzi and a garden to sit in. Walks can be made in Grazelema in the day. In the evening I would recommend a car.
The rooms are comfy, the hotel is good value and if you want to discover Spain sans lager louts and noisy x-pats this is for you.

Room Tip: There are two junior sweets but the basic rooms are nice too. The ground level (floor one) opens ont...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravenbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

we chose this hotel after staying at the same one in Marbella, both very different, I was looking forward to breakfast here after the Marbella one, this was good but not up to the same standard. But having said that there was plenty of choice and you can get bacon and eggs cooked freshly.
Other cooments on trip advisor mention the children, its probably best to stay midweek and not in school holidays, there were a few during the week we stayed but lots of families arrived Friday eve, and Spanish culture means they stay up late, so it was a bit noisy in the sitting area but we didnt have any problems at night with kids running around and we had a ground floor room
There are mountain bikes to hire, a kids play area and small animal area, a clean but cold pool and a jacuzzi overlooking the mountains
The hotel is about 3 miles away from Grazalema, there is a bar nearby which served ok food at a good price
The hotel food in the evening was good, a hot and cold buffet, plenty of choice, my only critisim is the food could have been hotter, and we ate at the 8pm opening time
If you walk into Grazalema in the evening, be warned its a bit of an up and down walk, no street lights so take a torch for coming home, there is a stone path about half way to the town that cuts off about half the walk. Deffinately worth leaving the lights of the hotel to see the night sky, no light polution
there are lots of resonable bars to eat at in the town
there are lots of walks and bike rides to go on but it isnt flat!!
We had a great time, the staff were friendly and helpful, some bar staff dont speak much English but receptionist do, the rooms were comfortable and quiet and we werent really bothed by children but I can imagine it would be noisy in the school holidays but we would definately recommend it.

Room Tip: the ground floor rooms open straight onto the garden and short walk to the pool area, but according...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salanddave315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The Hotel Fuerte in Grazalema is in an excellent spot for nature, fresh air and exercise, it is well run and it delivers what it says on the tin. It has an excellent outdoor swimming pool, with wonderful views of mountains from the pool aswell as from the hotel. There are footpaths leading away from the hotel across country and through the woods for walkers and hikers.

The hotel was full on our visit, and most of the guests were Spanish. The staff all spoke more than one language (mostly English). Signs on one of the noticeboard in the hotel also indicated that it is one of the TUi hotels marketed to its German clients, and various certificates are on show to show that German standards of hotel management are applied.

The hotel is well organised for families - there are children's activitiy clubs but we did not use them. At the end of a path there is a menagerie which is part of the hotel with a couple of ostriches and on our visit two new piglets. You may spot rabbits running in the fields surrounding the hotel.

We tried half board. It was possible to eat indoors or outside on the terrace. The food was good and there was plenty available. The children particularly enjoyed their breakfast -freshly prepared crepes and fresh fruit for some, anything they could find which came with chocolate for the others.

We used the bar before one meal and it was really good - great views, calm environment, good service and stiff g and t's!

The rooms are a reasonable size with a large double and an extra single which we requested and it was all clean and inviting. On our floor you could open the windows and step out onto a terrace. There is a games room with ping pong and pool - although the bats and cues have taken a bit of a battering.

Another recent reviewer has pointed out that their experience of this super hotel was spoiled by the behaviour of the children of other guests - I can see how this might happen if you are not used to the rhythm of Spanish life, with it's later mealtimes and bedtimes - but if children are unruly, that is not really the fault of the hotel, is it? I did not feel that families dominated - on our visit in the second weekend of September 2011, it was mostly couples. As a parent I was pleasantly surprised that the hotel had an instant civilising impact on my kids - who were immediately relaxed by the rural mountain setting and clear night skies, and made uncharacteristically appreciative remarks like "oo, this is very nice daddy". We would happily have stayed for a few more days. It is an excellent four star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank late_night_typist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

If you want a peaceful holiday forget this hotel. It is in a wonderful situation in the middle of a national park with beautiful views all around & balconies overlook the local village & mountains. The rooms were nice & comfortable and very clean but that is where the beauty ends. The hotel has 77 rooms and mostly all the rooms were occupied by Spanish families and their 'screaming' children. There is no escape from them, they came down to dinner after 9pm and as the meals were buffet style they proceeded to pile their plates high with food only for it to be thrown away, then they would run around the dining room screaming & shouting making it impossible to get near the buffet to get your food. We decided we would eat as quick as possible - no leisurley meal here - and take our wine into the bar/lounge area to sit and have a quiet drink - forget it. Once the families had finished in the dining room they let the kids free in this area, shouting & screaming till the early hours of the morning. They have no consideration for anyone; one parent poceeded to change her babies 'dirty' nappy in the lounge on one of the hotel sofas with no changing mat and no thought for anyone around - quite disgusting. The hotel cannot make any money as these parents spend no money in the bar/lounge and make it impossible for anyone else to, it is just a major playground for their children.
After a day sightseeing we decided to go for a swim - forget that as well. This hotel is soley for the children to run around screaming & shouting with no consideration for any guest who were there without children of which we were a minority. We found out very shortly after our arrival why so many children, what we weren't told when booking is that children stay & eat free here!! The only time the hotel was remotely peaceful was at 8am for breakfast as they are all so comatosed after their nightly antics they didn't get up till mid morning.
If you do have the unfortunate experience staying here walk to the top of the drive where there is a local restaurant & bar, the food & people are lovely and any children are well behaved. Again this is such a shame as the area and scenery are spetacular - wasted on the majority of the people who stay there!!

Room Tip: clean & tidy
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank uktravellerHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INMACULADAMEDINILLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Grazalema, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Dear Client

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel Fuerte in Grazalema.

With reference to your complaint about the noise, we would like to inform you that both the Director and Personal Staff are aware of the amount of children that we have staying here in the hotel, especially at weekends, bank holidays, and school holidays. During these periods we try and control the situation by organising activities for the children in the Forti Club run by a qualified Monitor. The children do not always use this service so the children are then under the responsibility of the parents. This makes the situation more difficult to control.

Referring to the buffet, on the restaurant door there is an information notice asking all our clients to only take what they are going to consume otherwise food is thrown away daily because people do not follow the rules.

In one of the toilets on the 3rd floor next to reception we do have changing facilities for babies, we apologise for this disturbance of those who do not decide to use this service.

We are very sorry that you were dissatisfied with your holiday. We know by your well expressed instances of the bad behaviour of some guests who do not know how to respect and educate their children.

The Manager and Staff try their best to make our clients have a comfortable and enjoyable stay and we are grateful for you informing us about your experience and hope you would return one day in a different period of the year, where you will be able to see that you can find the tranquillity that you were looking for.

We hope to see you back here in this hotel and apologise once again for your bad experience.

Kind regards
Inmculada Medinilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Clean rooms in a natural environment. Our room had a nice terrace in the garden.. From the hotel you have a splendid view on the village of Grazalema at the opposite side of the mountain and you can enjoin the sunset while dining outside. Very nice swimming pool. For the kids animation is free, but the animators speak only Spanish which is not that easy to understand for kids from abroad. Good location to experience the pueblos blancos and the stunning nature.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielleV5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Excellent breakfast which can be taken on an outside terrace overlooking the village of Grazalema and surrounding mountains.In spite of being in a deserted area, the hotel is very noisy. They don't make any attempt to segregate the areas, e.g. the bar from the sleeping quarter. Closing in between doors would make a lot of difference. Both nights we stayed there, we were kept awake till ~ 2 am.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvodbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grazalema
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
#2 of 4 in Grazalema
145 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
#4 of 4 in Grazalema
95 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Penon Grande
Hotel Penon Grande
#3 of 4 in Grazalema
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
12.5 mi away
Hotel del Carmen
Hotel del Carmen
#1 of 1 in Prado del Rey
87 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel El Horcajo
Hotel El Horcajo
#36 of 40 in Ronda
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Grazalema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Grazalema

Address: Baldio de los Alamillos Ctra. A-372, 11610 Grazalema, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Grazalema
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grazalema
Price Range: $65 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Grazalema 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
cological 4 star hotel situated in a cork tree forest in the heart of the Natural Park of Grazalema and only 20 Km from Ronda.77 rooms equipped with central climatization (cold in summer and hot in winter), telephone, minibar, safety box (extra), music channel, hair dryer, satellite TV, Internet connection (extra), cot (free of charge on request), WIFI in Bar Noble area (free).The hotel has a restaurant specialised in local cuisine, terrace bar, pool bar (seasonal), lounges with chimney, Tv room, game room, outdoor pool with sun beds and solarium, outdoor jacuzzi, limited parking space (free of charge), mini animal farm with children's playground. Baby carriage, cot and baby bath free (depending on availability), internet room Complementary activities: bike rental, trekking, horse riding etc.Half board consists on breakfast and dinner, except August when guests can choose between lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fuerte Hoteles, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Grazalema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing