We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Grazalema”
Review of Meson el Simancon

Meson el Simancon
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Grazalema
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Switzerland
Level Contributor
248 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Good choice in Grazalema”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Positive: friendly service, nice traditional interior
Negative: food ok but nothing special; location of terrace onto parking lot is a bit disappointing, but the hills are visible beyond...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    89
    27
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and good food”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Was taken to Meson el Simancon by friends and had a wonderful lunch from the Menu of the day. My choices were the Tomatoe, Mozerella and basil salad, followed by a Pork steak (grilled) and finished off with a Tiramisu. All washed down with a Rose, selected by our waiter, that had the flavors of fortified wine and suited our needs perfectly. If you're trying to avoid too much alcohol, watch out for the local tradition of a shot of the local liqueur that you may be gifted with - It doesn't do not to drink it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonMoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good local food”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

For simple dining - Ham, cheese, chorizo and black pudding - good as you can get. Local wine - excellent choices. Sit outside - enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank williamsjd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Competa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing Food, Good Wine Choice”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Two nights in Grazalema and we were recommended to try two restaurants each run by two brothers. This was the first. (El Torreon the other) The restaurant has a rustic feel with deer and stag heads on the wall as well as hanging hams. It was small and cozy.
I started with the prawns in oil and garlic. The prawns were plumtious and a good size but the dish was a bit bland with lots of oil. It had little taste. My wife had the Salteado de judias Simancon, which was basically tinned green beans with bits of ham. Very disappointing and also bland.
For main course I had the Lomo de Jabali (wild boar), which amounted to four tiny slices of the meat accompanied by once again tinned vegetables and roast potatoes. The meat itself was tender and nicely cooked but so small that four mouthfuls and it was gone. My wife had the steak, as did a friend in our party and both asked for them to be cooked medium and had to be sent back as they arrived blue. As well as potatoes again the other veg was tinned. When the steak came back it was slightly better cooked but lacked flavour.
The saviour for us was the wine list which had a good selection of wines we liked at very reasonable prices. The wine choice probably just allows me to rate the restaurant 'average'. The menu looked good as well as appearing good value but based on the food we were served, especially tinned vegetables, I would say it was bordering on poor value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlickH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent trout, very nice wine”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a very cosy and friendly restaurant. We had dinner by the fireplace which was excactly what we needed on a cold march evening.The wine was surprisingly good : Ibarguen 2010, a local wine and the trout really really delicious! Very nice staff, and very affordable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beatricejoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson el Simancon also viewed

Grazalema, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park
Grazalema, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park
 
Grazalema, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park
Grazalema, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park
 
Grazalema, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park
Grazalema, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park
 

Been to Meson el Simancon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing