We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa de Las Piedras
Ranked #2 of 2 Grazalema B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Superb Restaurant”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our small group stayed two days here. The hotel is comfortable, full of character and well positioned in the village. However the reason that this stay stands out well above all the other places we stayed at in Andalucia was the restaurant. The quality of the food was simply wonderful. We were brought a number small tapas at the beginning of the meal and the management were most enthusiastic to know what we thought about each one. The service was exemplary- we felt that we were treated almost as visiting dignitaries. The staff were alternately friendly and humorous in attending to us and then most serious in receiving our verdict about each stage of the meal.
The meal was a huge success and it was unfortunate that we could not finish the wonderful paella which was the centre piece of the occasion. However, during our walk the following day, our charming guide pulled out several boxes of the unfinished paella, which we enjoyed al fresco. The kitchen had seen how we had enjoyed our meal and been been thoughtful enough to provide it again for our picnic lunch.
We decided to make an exception on this trip and dine again in this same restaurant. The meal turned out out to be even better and again the hospitality was unstinting We thanked the staff personally for making our stay such a success, and I photographed them all to record such a happy occasion.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    38
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

If you like 5 star anodyne hotels, don't stay here. On the other hand if you like characterful (read higgledy-piggledy) traditional rooms and really spectacular local food, then you are going to love this hostal. My only complaint in three visits is an inability to handle very large walking parties at breakfast time and other guests.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneTurner63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This Inn has some nice elements including a fireplace and airy terraces however the whole layout is confusing and messy. Visual appeal? Rock bottom.

We were too tired to look elsewhere so took the double room with its plaid bedspread and "Starry Night" over the bed. Certainly adequate for a night's rest....until the plumbing noises followed by people noises.

Avoid the breakfast at all cost. Go to the supermarket, buy some fruit and yogurt and buy a coffee at a bar. In our two weeks here we haven't many good breakfasts however this one hit a new low. Even the coffee was bad.

Positives? helpful staff, clean, hot water. It has a lot of potential under the right management.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria-Enrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Casa de Las Piedras was a short walk from the town parking lot (check out what has to be one of the spookiest looking churches I've ever seen in the main square). The bathrooms were in the common hall, but that wasn't a problem since I don't think anyone else was on the same floor. The bathrooms were clean and the water was hot with good pressure. The door to the room was a little difficult to open and the rooms were under lit, but the room was spacious and neat. It got a little chilly at night (drafty windows), but there was a space heater in the room that kept the room warm. The staff was helpful and had good information on local hikes. All said a great deal for 25 Euros per room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Excellent hotel reasonably priced with lovely clean and warm rooms. Centrally located and staff very helpful and friendly. Information readily available for local treks and will even arrange transport to beginning of routes. Only complaint is that breakfast not available until 10.00hrs so if you wish to start treks early you have arrange own. Other members of our party stayed at the apartments which had all amenities and even supplied wood for the open fire! If coming again would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sojo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varberg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

February. The rooms were freezing cold. A popping element could not really provide warmth. Only one electrical outlet in the room. But the warmth of the staff and by the fire in the common areas on the ground floor compensated for it. It is a genuine old house with a lovely atmosphere and fine details like colorful old tile floors. In summer it must be wonderful to sit outside on the cosy patio.
Best of all is the restaurant. They serve amazingly good food. Actually, the best we had in our two weeks in Spain. The whole party of seven people really liked it.
The picturesque village itself is very beautifully situated. It seems to be visited by very few foreign tourists which is a shame.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luzula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The Casa de las piedras is perfectly located for walks or climbing and is right in the middle of Grazalema. Rooms are neat, comfortable and warm with great hot showers. Lovely room with wood fire downstairs and loads of local info on walking routes. Excellent friendly staff.

The restaurant cannot be missed. Service was absolutely superb and the food was excellent value, such as you might pay three times as much in the UK. Recommend the rabbit (conejo) and the trout, the soap de Grazalema and the ensalada de naranja con queso de cabra- orange and goats cheese salad. For example- I'm sure the rest of the menu is excellent too. The waiter will recommend other things they have, all very locally sourced.

All in all excellent value (and I'm
a Yorkshireman!)- €46 a night without breakfast for a double, €37 for a superb 2 course meal with wine and beer.

One extra tip: if you want to walk in the reserve area arrange your permit at least 2 days in advance.

And don't forget to have a nice glass of Pedro Ximenez to ward off the cold evenings!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeSanglierCruzVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grazalema
1.1 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
#3 of 4 in Grazalema
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
#4 of 4 in Grazalema
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Penon Grande
Hotel Penon Grande
#2 of 4 in Grazalema
63 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel El Horcajo
Hotel El Horcajo
#31 of 40 in Ronda
96 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel del Carmen
Hotel del Carmen
#1 of 1 in Prado del Rey
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Las Piedras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Las Piedras

Property: Casa de Las Piedras
Address: Calle Piedras 32, 11610 Grazalema, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Grazalema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grazalema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa de Las Piedras 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RURAL HOUSE - fully renovated traditional house from the 'age of splendour' of the textile industry in Grazalema (18th Century), situated in the centre of Grazalema. • ROOMS with private bathroom, heating and air conditioning • ROOMS with shared bathroom, and access to a kitchen and washing machine • Traditional Spanish patios; lounge with fireplace, tv, boardgames, and small library, internet access and WIFI open to the public • * Restaurant with a tipycal patio • Painting exhibitions, open to the public APARTMENTS - 1-2 bedrooms, kitchen-living area with fireplace, central heating, washing machine and microwave. SERVICES - cot, baby bath, rucksack suitable for carrying children, iron, dryer and TV for use in rooms available from reception • We organise: Tours sharing a car to the best walking routes, white villages, views of caves, archaeological sites, museums and more • Place to live your bikes or horses. Let us know in advance. • Transfer for you luggage or bikes if you prefer to hike to the next Hotel. • Up-to-date and informative website: accessing our website will keep you up-to-date with the latest news, offers, events and more that take place in our establishment as well as in the village and the area. You can also find information on activity-based visits and the companies that can provide this. The Area: The village of Grazalema is the best preserved village and the most central in 'Sierra de Cadiz' and the National Park of 'Sierra de Grazalema'. It is perfectly positioned for you to visit the other villages in the area and larger towns such as Ronda and Arcos. It is also a great place to stay to go hiking and take part in all sorts of other outdoor activities and there is an archaeological route that passes through the majority of the villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa de Las Piedras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing