We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make yourself at home...”
Review of Woodstocker Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodstocker Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2006

A warm, lovely, and eccentric place nestled in beautiful Woodstock, VT. Dora and David were fabulous hosts, providing spacious and well-designed rooms and serving unbelievably tasty breakfasts. Lots of snacks, a fantastic library, and an atmosphere so close to home that I felt comfortable enough to eat in my pajamas. Get cozy and bring your favorite teddy bear... you're in for a treat. I will happily return.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank elove27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
There are newer reviews for Woodstocker Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 649 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2006

what a terrific time we had at this pretty inn. i can not compliment the chef David for this hearty breakfast, and eclectic taste in both art...(the man's leg being amputated one of the more unusal prints!!!) and amazing books to suit all tastes...with in walking distance of the very quaint village/town of woodstock,well worth a visit....we'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fluffy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2006

We spent two nights in the woodstocker and loved the inn and woodstock.
David and Dora made us feel welcome and encouraged us to use the inn saying that we should imagine it was like our mum and dads house.
David (D1..?) gave us a tour of the rooms, which they designed themselves.........fantastic taste!
I would encourage anyone staying in Woodstock to try the Woodstocker, comfortable rooms, friendly atmosphere good breakfasts and a short walk from the centre of Woodstock.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bark8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2006

We stayed three nights at the Woodstocker (not to be confused with The Woodstock Inn) in Woodstock and were thoroughly impressed with the standard of the accommodation and the 'home from home' feel. David and Dora are gradually converting every room from New England chintz to contemporary chic - and the results are dramatic. We stayed in The Richmond Suite, beautiful wooden floors, flat screen TV with surround sound (Van Morrison CD's supplied!), massive bed and huge bath tub. Complete with plastic duck. Afternoon teas with home made lemon cake and real milk were wonderful - the breakfasts were some of England's best (where else do you find marmite outside the UK?) The atmosphere at breakfast time was very relaxing and gave the opportunity to chat with other guests. We unreservedly recommend a stay at the Woodstocker.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NeilandCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2006

We stayed at the Woodstocker for 2 nights in early October. From the moment we arrived, Dora and David made us feel immediately welcome and at ease. They have apparently only been running the Woodstocker for 12 months and have recently completed a major transformation into a chic but relaxed home away from home.

Our room was quite large with a huge, very comfortable iron framed bed. The bathroom was beautiful; twin roll-top tubs, twin wash basins, a power shower, under-floor heating and a rubber duck! Both the bedroom and bathroom feature lighting installations that will keep any gadget freaks amused for hours. An unobtusive LCD TV with a good selection of channels was located in the bedroom, although is not really necessary as Woodstock and the surrounding area are so beautiful.

Breakfast, as other reviewers have mentioned, is fantastic. A good selection of fresh and organic fayre is complemented by great local coffee and a hot menu which seemed to vary daily; one day we had a traditional english breakfast, the next scrambled eggs with some great salmon.

There is an incredibly well stocked library, which doubles as a communal area, to meet and chat with the other guests. A small kitchen leading off of here is stocked with sodas and hot drinks, as well as a selection of candy and home made delicacies (although these got eaten quite quickly!!)

The "secret garden" at the rear of the rear of the property leads on the foot of Mount Tom, which is a nice climb if you're feeling energetic.

Staying at the Woodstocker is a lovely experience. Whilst the rates are not the cheapest in the area, they are worth every penny.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spikylaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2006

My dad and I recently took a road trip through the Northeast, and had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Woodstocker. Our room (the Shaftsbury) was quite spacious and super comfortable, and we loved the great breakfasts (locally made sausage, homemade granola and fruit compote, made-to-order eggs, etc.) as well as the treats that were available all day. We especially enjoyed the really fun, interesting group of people that the Woodstocker attracts. It was our first time in Woodstock, and Dora and David were the perfect hosts. We hope to return soon!
--Julie C. from Mountain View, California

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JSC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2006

Dora and David are operating in their comfort zone, with no reason to try to impress their guests. The phenomenal library, gallery of art, and marriage of contemporary boutique style decor with homestyle comfort woo guests to settle in and close out the world. Pampering Mother Earth and visitors with "green" products and wholesome organic foods is a priority. The newly renovated rooms with their over-the-top bathrooms are a wonder to behold and a dream to experience. They've got it right, stop in and enjoy this treasure.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaP602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
1.4 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
423 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
288 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
0.4 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
0.7 mi away
The Charleston House
The Charleston House
#7 of 16 in Woodstock
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstocker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstocker Inn

Address: 61 River St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1227
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: $253 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original village 'green eco' Inn - 15 AWARDS more than all the other Woodstock B & B/inns combined! Including - Telegraph UK - Worlds Best British owned inn. Innkeepers of the Year, Top 12 in World, Top 10 in USA all on Bed & Breakfast com, D3 - European owners provide adult indulgence, eclectic mix of relaxation, cakes & chocolate using organic sources. We operate a 'warts & all' policy. Motto 'only as good as our guests say we are!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Woodstocker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstocker Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing