We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heartily fulfills its name, clean, bright and nice folks”
Review of Woodstocker Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodstocker Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2006

We are neofytes at the bed and breakfast venue but if you take this place at its name the beds were excellent and so was the breakfast. The owners, a young Canadian couple, are enthusiastic and very soliciticous. I don't think we were too demanding but everything we asked for was done with a smile. They asked to see our Packard's if they visited Connecticut sometime so we will post some here for all to see. We thank them, Gary, Sandy and Aunt Grace for a lovely stay. Gus & Marge Hampson.

1  Thank Gus-Marge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

640 - 646 of 670 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2006

The Woodstocker Inn is a very comfortable B&B right in the heart of Woodstock Vt. A great place to stay within walking distance of downtown Woodstock. The rooms are charming, breakfast is delicious and the owners make everyone feel welcome. We'll stay there again

Stayed: June 2006
1  Thank mwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, DC
1
Reviewed July 16, 2006

We honeymooned in Vermont during the spring (the off, off season!) and were at first mostly impressed that the Woodstocker was open for business. The outstanding hospitality that followed - great breakfasts cooked to order, scintillating conversations, a totally unexpected bottle of bubbly for us to enjoy and the lovely little bit of Englishness in the American countryside, truly made our two night stay one of the highlights of our week. We're looking forward to visiting again to see what they Dora and David do with their planned renovations and re-decorating.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2006

I stayed at the Woodstocker Inn for my one night in Woodstock, Vermont, and had a terrific stay. Innkeepers Dora and David were very personable and welcoming, and I felt like I was visiting their home. I loved that everything I noticed was organic, from the hand soap to the complimentary breakfast, which was plentiful and delicious. The bed was nice and firm, the AC was a little noisy but they supplied ear plugs in the bathroom if you wanted them (which I didn't need). David and Dora could offer suggestions on where to eat in town or what to see around the area. Breakfast included organic yogurt, granola and compote, as well as eggs or omelets, sausage and bacon, organic coffee, OJ and I'm sure there was more. The Wi-Fi does not work in every room in the inn. Possibly my favorite thing about the Inn was their shelves and shelves of books! They kept a wonderful library full of all types of books, most of which were hilarious or filled with odd humor, photographs, or secret New England treasures. They were the types of books you could read for an afternoon, or for half an hour if that was all the time you had. They also kept a stocked fridge with beer, soda and water complimentary to guests, and dishes of wrapped candy were set out around the inn. Unassuming touches like these, and the complimentary cards in your room and the glass of wine the innkeepers offered as they passed by you in the library at night, really made the inn shine. I'd suggest this inn to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrimsonSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2006

Arrived at the Woodstocker after a hellish month at work and getting a speeding ticket to boot. Within minutes of being greeted by the owners, Stanley the hypoallergenic dog and his eager helpers David and Dora the stress and tension just fell away. Immediately we were made to feel at home. We dropped off our bags in our charming room and were then given a tour of the inn.

There is a bright funky library for guests to use where you can quaff beer and stuff your face on chocolates, all complimentary, while you pass the time perusing this eclectic mix off books. There are plenty of local guides to give you ideas for your day trips. We were then shown the new rooms that were in the process of having upgrades. They all looked amazing and will give the guests plenty of indulgent options. When they are all finished, promise of September, the inn will have a unique European boutique feel but with out losing its New England charm. There is a secluded garden behind the inn where you can sit and listen to the stream which flows through the property. This is your best chance of meeting Stanley the wonderful Wheaten terrier. I have always been very allergic to dogs so it was amazing for me to be able to pat and stroke Stanley like a normal person. Stanley also likes this arrangement.

The inn prides itself on being eco-friendly. All the soaps and tooth paste they provide are natural and do not damage the environment. All the food they serve is organic. Which brings me on to breakfast. David is the cook and as a member of the sausage society, yes it really does exist, I was expecting a top breakfast. I was not disappointed. Blueberry and maple sausage, English bacon and eggs like your mother use to make. My wife went for the famous Woodstocker granola and was so impressed we went home with the recipe.

I don’t know if it was the beautiful Vermont countryside, the wonderful Inn or a combination of both but we spent a couple of nights at the Woodstocker and I felt as rejuvenated as having spent a week in the Caribbean. We are already planning a return trip and can’t wait to see the new rooms.

Andy & Sharon

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripping66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
long crendon .england
1
Reviewed July 11, 2006

A place to stay needs to be more than just that and David and Dora make this charming Woodstock Inn a delightful place to holiday . The rooms are comfortable with nice touches such as interesting and up to date magazines and sweets .The guest kitchen with proper coffee and tea facilities with a fridge of chilled drinks was so much nicer than having trays in the room . Breakfast was a treat of home made granola and preserves .and great sausages. Special porridge was made on request that was delicious.
It's a short and pretty walk into town from the Inn and a pleasant longer walk from the back of the Inn up to the top of Mount Tom to get great views of the area.
David and Dora are great hosts , have lots of information about the area and just made us at feel at home .

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2006

Thank Sparky1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
1.4 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
456 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
0.4 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 15 in Woodstock
480 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Lincoln Inn & Restaurant at the Covered Bridge
5.2 mi away
The Woodbridge Inn
The Woodbridge Inn
#8 of 15 in Woodstock
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstocker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstocker Inn

Address: 61 River St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1227
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: $181 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original village 'green eco' Inn - 15 AWARDS more than all the other Woodstock B & B/inns combined! Including - Telegraph UK - Worlds Best British owned inn. Innkeepers of the Year, Top 12 in World, Top 10 in USA all on Bed & Breakfast com, D3 - European owners provide adult indulgence, eclectic mix of relaxation, cakes & chocolate using organic sources. We operate a 'warts & all' policy. Motto 'only as good as our guests say we are!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Woodstocker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstocker Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing