We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Woodstocker B&B
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Braeside Lodging(Woodstock)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quechee Lakes(Quechee)
View Hotel
Super 8 White River Junction(White River Junction)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White River Inn and Suites(White River Junction)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveler rating
586
71
13
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
71
13
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdaisy doocompotewestminster roomguest kitchenenglish breakfastfrench pressb bfruit cakewell stocked librarynew englandcandy barsrichmond suiteenglish coupleorganic coffeegranolasmall kitchenbiscotti
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 676 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We loved our short stay at the Woodstocker Inn! David and Dora made us feel very welcome, not forgetting Daisy Doo! Nothing was too much trouble and their ideas for exploring the area and seeking out the best fall colours were very helpful.
Our room- the Westminster -was extremely spacious and tastefully decorated and the bathroom with its twin bathtubs and fun lighting was an added bonus!
Breakfast was first class and it was lovely to be able to use the guest kitchen to make tea and help ourselves to home-made fruit cake.
A perfect place to enjoy this lovely region.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter. Westminster is great.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank C D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Date of Stay : August 2011

I really do have no excuse for taking such a long time to write this review.

We arrived for our first visit to Woodstock our first stop on a two week trip to New England, the day before Hurricane Irene hit Vermont. Not especially good timing one might think but actually as testing and worrying a time as it was for our hosts, the Stayed Calm and Carried On!

No water and intermittent power throughout our stay didn't affect the level of service one little bit. David and Dora were absolutely wonderful, friendly and generous hosts and even Daisy Doo seemed to make an effort (or was it because we bribed her with treats) to be extra nice to us.

We stayed in the Westminster room which is wonderfully furnished and has a bathroom to die for - twin tubs and separate shower. It's just a pity there was no running water thanks to Irene so we never did get to try the tubs out. Oh well that gives us an excuse to return and I'm sure we will.

Breakfast is excellent and in keeping with the whole Woodstocker experience. The inn is spotless and David and Dora certainly have a eye for detail and it's no wonder they're making a roaring success of their venture.

It's nigh on impossible to put into words our appreciation and gratitude for the effort David and Dora made to make our stay so memorable (they could've spared us the hurricane mind) and enjoyable.

It's obvious from the previous reviews that the Woodstocker Inn has bounced back from the events of August 2011 and we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank No1Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I were looking forward to our stay at the Woodstocker, particularly given the great reviews it had received.
On the plus side, the hosts were very friendly, and the English breakfast excellent.
However, there were negatives. We stayed in the Lincoln room, and the picture on the website does not reflect the current decor, as the wall lights have been removed and some furniture altered, making it less attractive.
The website mentions "air conditioning" and "fresh flowers", neither of which was present, and the "flat screen TV" was so small you had to kneel about two feet away from it if you wished to read any captions.
There was also an unusual smell in the room which we could not identify.
Perhaps we were unfortunate in our choice of room, but the Inn certainly did not live up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dounerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidbignose!, D3 - Co-owners at The Woodstocker B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

We thank these clients for taking the time to alert us to their concerns after they departed from the inn. We are of course disappointed that the inn failed to live up to certain expectations during this visit.
We note the points raised about our Lincoln room, which they felt was not reflective of our website pictures.
1) The bedside lights, and general room lights have recently been replaced as many clients seemed to find the lights in the picture ineffective. Therefore we must assume the client does not like the design of our new lighting.
2) The window air-conditioning unit was removed at the end of September as the cooler weather had arrived. We do not recall the client advising us of a problem with the temperature in the room. Had they done so we could have reinstalled the unit in under five minutes. In 2013 we plan to remove the window air-conditioning unit in it's entirety from this room and additional bedrooms, and have a permanent professionally unit installed.
3) The flat screen TV/DVD/CD unit is the same unit as is displayed on our website picture. The unit is indeed subtle and not overpowering, but we accept reading subtitles might prove a challenge.
4) We are not currently aware of any 'unusual smells' in the room. Again had we this been brought to our attention whilst the client was at the inn, we could have certainly investigated the matter and even tried to relocate the client to another room if one had been available.
5) Fresh flowers were to be seen in the inn as we always have them, and usually each bedroom has a single fresh flower in a holder, which is again a subtle feature. Had the lack of a fresh flower in the room, which may have been missing, been brought to our attention, we could have quickly rectified it.
6) One piece of furniture has been removed from the room (a cabinet) to try and declutter the space and we have upgraded the bedside cabinets to glass and metal tables.
7) When we next update our website we will of course be changing the picture of this room but we felt the above room enhancements were subtle and would not need new pictures. Plainly this client has disproved our assumption.

Overall the subject of how 'attractive' a room is difficult to quantify but we understand that this client was disappointed in their room choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Woodstocker Inn was selected for us by American Vacations and what an excellent choice. The owners of the Inn David and Dora are fantastic hosts who made us feel welcome from the outset. We were fortunate enough to be given an upgrade to the Westminster room which has two baths. Instead of going to a local spa we purchased some spa products from the local pharmacy and enjoyed our own spa treatments. That evening we bought some wonderful food from the farmers market and had a romantic candle lit (thanks to David) meal in the dining room. What do we love about the Woodstocker? Everything. Fun hosts, great rooms, an amazing library, outstanding breakfasts and a guest kitchen. David and Dora, see you next year. We will be sending our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThomasWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed just one night; Dora and David are friendly, fun, hospitable, and run a top rate inn. Everything about the place is great. Rooms, beds, hosts, food, etc. Squeaky clean, really comfortable bed, excellent breakfast. Highly recommended, we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Call early, we got lucky the day we called and got in last minute, but all the other nights were booked.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidbignose!, D3 - Co -Owners at The Woodstocker B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

We are very appreciative that these clients were able to sum up our inn, and offer comments that we feel reflect what we set out to achieve. We strive to be consistent with our style of inn keeping, and a great bed in clean surroundings is we feel the essence of any stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews