We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”
Review of Woodstocker Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodstocker Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I were looking forward to our stay at the Woodstocker, particularly given the great reviews it had received.
On the plus side, the hosts were very friendly, and the English breakfast excellent.
However, there were negatives. We stayed in the Lincoln room, and the picture on the website does not reflect the current decor, as the wall lights have been removed and some furniture altered, making it less attractive.
The website mentions "air conditioning" and "fresh flowers", neither of which was present, and the "flat screen TV" was so small you had to kneel about two feet away from it if you wished to read any captions.
There was also an unusual smell in the room which we could not identify.
Perhaps we were unfortunate in our choice of room, but the Inn certainly did not live up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dounerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidbignose!, D3 - Co-owners at Woodstocker Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

We thank these clients for taking the time to alert us to their concerns after they departed from the inn. We are of course disappointed that the inn failed to live up to certain expectations during this visit.
We note the points raised about our Lincoln room, which they felt was not reflective of our website pictures.
1) The bedside lights, and general room lights have recently been replaced as many clients seemed to find the lights in the picture ineffective. Therefore we must assume the client does not like the design of our new lighting.
2) The window air-conditioning unit was removed at the end of September as the cooler weather had arrived. We do not recall the client advising us of a problem with the temperature in the room. Had they done so we could have reinstalled the unit in under five minutes. In 2013 we plan to remove the window air-conditioning unit in it's entirety from this room and additional bedrooms, and have a permanent professionally unit installed.
3) The flat screen TV/DVD/CD unit is the same unit as is displayed on our website picture. The unit is indeed subtle and not overpowering, but we accept reading subtitles might prove a challenge.
4) We are not currently aware of any 'unusual smells' in the room. Again had we this been brought to our attention whilst the client was at the inn, we could have certainly investigated the matter and even tried to relocate the client to another room if one had been available.
5) Fresh flowers were to be seen in the inn as we always have them, and usually each bedroom has a single fresh flower in a holder, which is again a subtle feature. Had the lack of a fresh flower in the room, which may have been missing, been brought to our attention, we could have quickly rectified it.
6) One piece of furniture has been removed from the room (a cabinet) to try and declutter the space and we have upgraded the bedside cabinets to glass and metal tables.
7) When we next update our website we will of course be changing the picture of this room but we felt the above room enhancements were subtle and would not need new pictures. Plainly this client has disproved our assumption.

Overall the subject of how 'attractive' a room is difficult to quantify but we understand that this client was disappointed in their room choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 667 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Woodstocker Inn was selected for us by American Vacations and what an excellent choice. The owners of the Inn David and Dora are fantastic hosts who made us feel welcome from the outset. We were fortunate enough to be given an upgrade to the Westminster room which has two baths. Instead of going to a local spa we purchased some spa products from the local pharmacy and enjoyed our own spa treatments. That evening we bought some wonderful food from the farmers market and had a romantic candle lit (thanks to David) meal in the dining room. What do we love about the Woodstocker? Everything. Fun hosts, great rooms, an amazing library, outstanding breakfasts and a guest kitchen. David and Dora, see you next year. We will be sending our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThomasWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed just one night; Dora and David are friendly, fun, hospitable, and run a top rate inn. Everything about the place is great. Rooms, beds, hosts, food, etc. Squeaky clean, really comfortable bed, excellent breakfast. Highly recommended, we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Call early, we got lucky the day we called and got in last minute, but all the other nights were boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidbignose!, D3 - Co -Owners at Woodstocker Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

We are very appreciative that these clients were able to sum up our inn, and offer comments that we feel reflect what we set out to achieve. We strive to be consistent with our style of inn keeping, and a great bed in clean surroundings is we feel the essence of any stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

A very cheerful, welcoming B&B, with energetic hosts (and dog!) and plenty of amenities, including tea, coffee, biscotti,fruit cake and candy any time of day or night. Breakfast was cooked to order: great fresh eggs, sausage and smoked salmon. (No sweet pastries, but that was probably just as well.) We stayed in the Shaftesbury room which was bright and large (two double beds). Some of the other rooms looked smaller and dark so pick your room carefully.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vatravelingbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

In for a too short stay in June. Great airy room (Westminster) and an even better bathroom! loved the creative lights and the red moose leaping over the tubs. A giggle after a manic day leaving Boston late. Great hospitality. Want to come back and stay again.

Room Tip: loved my room (westminster) and bathroom complete with tub/ shower/ skylight and red moose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dziran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I agree with the other reviews. The management is friendly and make you feel at home. They take the extra step of leaving magazines in your room, a couple of chocolates, leave soda in the fridge and a basket of chocolates outside the room in the guest area. The place was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom, although a bit dark (in Room # 1, anyway) is very nicely done with a soaking tub and a jar of soaking salt to relax in. The breakfast is great and very enjoyable.

the only down side is that some of the rooms have air conditioning wall units. These are very noisy ! Also, if you want to relax watching some TV bring your binoculars because the TV screen is about 12 inches.

Still, I rate the B&B "Very Good". Good food, good enough room, great location, very comfortable and excellent management.

Room Tip: ask for a room with central air and a viewable TV if you like watching TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herbert&Zil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spent a great few days at The Woodstocker Inn. Fantastic. David, Chris and Daisy the dog made us feel very wecome.Unfortunately we did not meet Dora as she was back in England. Our room was good and the shower excellent. Just glad we found the dimmer switch!!
The breakfasts were first class and the fact you could make tea and coffee and help yourself to home baking at any time was a great facility.
One of the best inns we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MagsLarbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
1.4 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
454 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
296 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
1.3 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 15 in Woodstock
471 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Charleston House
The Charleston House
#7 of 15 in Woodstock
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstocker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstocker Inn

Address: 61 River St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1227
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: $211 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original village 'green eco' Inn - 15 AWARDS more than all the other Woodstock B & B/inns combined! Including - Telegraph UK - Worlds Best British owned inn. Innkeepers of the Year, Top 12 in World, Top 10 in USA all on Bed & Breakfast com, D3 - European owners provide adult indulgence, eclectic mix of relaxation, cakes & chocolate using organic sources. We operate a 'warts & all' policy. Motto 'only as good as our guests say we are!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Woodstocker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstocker Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing