We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely New England Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Village Inn of Woodstock

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Ranked #2 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
“Lovely New England Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Staying in this lovely Inn gives us many happy memories. We are returning again this Spring for our fourth visit. Evelyn and David are so welcoming and hospitable. We stay each time in room #1 which is so tastefully decorated. Daily breakfast served by Evelyn is so special and couldn't be better in their charming breakfast room. It is a delightful way to start our day. We enjoyed our stays there more than I can say. Evelyn and David help us with ideas where to dine. It is perfect and our very favorite Inn to visit! Woodstock is such a beautiful Vermont town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyTraveler05091, Owner at The Village Inn of Woodstock, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with others on TripAdvisor, and also for choosing to visit with us again. We can't wait to see you, looking forward to seeing your smiling faces!!!! Have a great few weeks, we'll see you this spring!!!! Warmest wishes, Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    44
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
29
441
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our experience at the Woodstock Inn was more than just a weekend excursion. Upon arrival David greeted us with a sincere attentiveness where we immediately knew we had made the best choice lodging at the Woostock. The lobby and sitting area were designed in a cozy victorian style setting with an artesian rug, 1930ish style high back chairs and couch, a delicate wood carved shelf sprinkled with china tea cups and saucers. Through a breeze-way opening you walk into the quaint warm dining area with each table set for comfort to invite and awaken your appetite. The breakfast and dining service is worthy of royalty and we were treated as such. We were given our key and directed to the 2nd floor to our room....the magic continued. Our room (#2) was just how it appeared on their website....we were home. Beautiful, spacious and warm. The fireplace was the cherry on top only to add to the quiet solitude we'd hope to find...and we did. We then met Evelyn who's unique smile and personality convinced us even the more we made the best lodging choice. Just like David she was attentive and more than available to guarantee a wonderful experience. THANK YOU EVELYN!!!!

Very local to restaurants, coffee/tea shops and pubs we ventured to a quiet hidden away pub called "Prince and the Pauper".....the magic continued. My girlfriend and I dined and talk. Little did she know that I had conspired with our waitress early on to assist in my proposal to her. I'd asked to have her engagement ring delivered on a dessert tray. When it arrived I took her by the hand stood her up bent on one knee looked her in her eyes and asked her to become my wife and life-long partner.....she said yes. All of the other diners applauded. You can't make up this type of experience. And it all began with the Woodstock Inn.
We checked out and took out luggage but left our hearts. We will return again, again and again. I would more than recommend the Woodstock to anyone. For quality, pricing, service and cleanliness it is definitely the best and only choice. ......Looking forward to visiting again soon. Glenn & Sheri.

Room Tip: There is only one tip we can offer....Woodstock Inn, Woodstock, VT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyTraveler05091, Owner at The Village Inn of Woodstock, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Congratulations to you both, Glenn and Sheri! It was our pleasure having you here. It is always an honor to be a part of such a special occasion. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time both here at The Village Inn of Woodstock, and in the village. Have fun planning your wedding, we hope that you'll think about Woodstock as the perfect place for a destination wedding. We look forward to seeing you both again, and thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. Cheers from Vermont, warmest wishes for a very happy future together!!!!

Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, CT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We now stay at the Village Inn every time we go to Woodstock. This past visit was no exception to what we have come to expect from this fine inn. Conveniently located in town, you can enjoy wonderful strolls to town for shopping and dining. If you want to just stay in and enjoy your room (we had a wonderful room with a wood fireplace), you can always grab a quick snack from the market close by. The breakfasts are always a treat and you get a choice of other items if you don't want the main entree ( you probably will be very happy with the main serving, however). In addition to the quality of the inn, we must remark on the high qualities of the owners Evelyn and David, who make you feel "like family" (not intrusive but friendly!). Finally, don't forget the afternoon wine/drink gathering in the inn's tavern. We highly recommend the Village Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CTTomChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyTraveler05091, Owner at The Village Inn of Woodstock, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted to be your choice of where to stay in Woodstock. It is great to see you both every year, we love having you and so many other repeat guests, it makes us so very happy! We look forward to seeing you again, thank you again for both your loyalty and for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughquag, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I booked the weekend for our 20th anniversary. We knew of no one else who'd been there, but chose this place mostly because they presented the place so elegantly on their website.
Evelyn and David were helpful, friendly and nice, and the place was every bit as well decorated and cozy as it looked on their site. The breakfast was very good - and the first thing I thought to myself was that these were the best waffles I've ever eaten - and now I see others here are saying the same thing!
It was a very short walk to the village, which was a charming, Norman Rockwell scene. the weather was rainy and foggy for most of our stay - so we look forward to going back
in the summer or fall to enjoy this beautiful setting again.
Thanks, Evelyn and David!
Lenny & Anna

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyTraveler05091, Owner at The Village Inn of Woodstock, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with the tripadvisor community. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us over the holidays, it was a pleasure meeting you. So glad that you enjoyed our breakfasts, we love to cook for our guests! We hope that you'll visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

What a beautiful place to stay. Everything was wonderful. Our room was perfect. So pretty and so cozy!! I just loved it. Breaksfast was delicious!! The best waffles I have ever had! I can't wait to visit again. Thank you Evelyn & David!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracee526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyTraveler05091, Owner at The Village Inn of Woodstock, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience here on tripadvisor, we really appreciate it. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed our signature waffles. Check out our blog for the recipe if you want to make them at home. We hope that you'll join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I have been going to the Village Inn for almost 10 years and have never been disappointed. To the contrary, Evelyn and David seem to just make it better and better. From the outstanding breakfast to the beautiful rooms to the warm "happy hour" in the tavern, everything is great.

When you are going to a B & B, you want a good breakfast, not a warmed over buffet. This is one area where the Village Inn excels. It is a three course experience, with everything home made from local ingredients. Evelyn even bakes the bread for toast herself. My wife and I are partial to the oatmeal bread.

This past week was the first time we've visited since they started doing "happy hour" in the tavern area. It was nice addition. We enjoyed talking with the other guests and David and Evelyn. It made the visit even more enjoyable. Ask David about the French 75. We didn't get to have one but it looked awesome!

My wife and have gone to a number of places in the Woodstock area, but none come close to the Village Inn. While Village Inn's rooms are great and the food excellent, Evelyn and David are probably the best part of the Inn. The go above and beyond and continue to make us come back again and again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaymondM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyTraveler05091, Owner at The Village Inn of Woodstock, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the fabulous review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience! We try very hard to keep improving the inn and our guests' experience, and it is great to hear that you enjoyed our guest reception in the tavern. This has turned out to be a great way for guests to mingle in the tavern. We look forward to seeing you again, and hope that you have a great 2013!!!!

Cheers,
Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had to arrive late in the evening and the innkeepers were gracious and gave us instructions how to get to our room. The gas fireplace was beautiful and the bed is very comfortable. The whole inn is decorated for Christmas and we are so happy to be staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lboutin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyTraveler05091, Owner at The Village Inn of Woodstock, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, and are so glad that you enjoyed our holiday decorations. The fireplace rooms are our favorites, and are a great way to enjoy the beautiful snow and then come home and warm up by the fire. We hope that you'll join us again! Happy 2013!!

Warmest wishes,
Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
2.3 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
2.2 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn of Woodstock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn of Woodstock

Property: The Village Inn of Woodstock
Address: 41 Pleasant St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn of Woodstock 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian splendor meets modern convenience at this boutique hotel in the village. This luxury Vermont inn features 8 romantic guest rooms, all with private baths, period antiques, color cable TV, Wi-Fi and air conditioning. Guests enjoy sumptuous 3-course candlelight breakfast, featuring a selection of entrees, inn-made breads and pastries, served at individual tables. This romantic Vermont bed and breakfast also offers a tavern and terrace with pond and perennial garden exclusively for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Village Inn of Woodstock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn Of Woodstock Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing