We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place for a leaf-peeping vacation stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Ranked #2 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A lovely place for a leaf-peeping vacation stay”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

A long planned fall foliage vacation and extensive research on B&B's in southern Vermont led us to The Village Inn of Woodstock. This bed & breakfast had garnered many rave reviews and was located just at the edge of the main street in the chic town of Woodstock. Their web site was very helpful and we booked our stay in room 5, the inn's only 2-room suite. We have to say that we found the fact that the bathroom was a pass-through between the bedroom and the sitting room to be a bit awkward. But otherwise, the room was beautiful, immaculately clean and richly appointed with a wonderfully comfortable king size bed. All possible temperature options were available including heat, air-conditioning, fireplace and screened windows. A small refrigerator in the room was extremely convenient.

Our inn-keepers, Evelyn and David, met us at the door and we were warmly greeted. Check-in was fast and efficient and we were then given a tour of the house, it's features and public spaces including a beautiful bar area.

At check-in, Evelyn asked our coffee/tea preferences and every morning the correct beverages appeared quickly on our breakfast table as soon as we arrived in the comfortable dining room. Evelyn clearly prides herself on her breakfasts and there is always a fruit starter, home made pastry and choice of eggs or daily special served with home-baked bread. Saturday's breakfast special of waffles was the best we'd ever eaten but all the food was excellent. And, if Evelyn's fresh baked cake and the bowl of candy in the lounge didn't satisfy our sweet tooth, the bon-bons left in our room were extra yummy and appreciated.

Although the inn doesn't serve dinner, Evelyn and David were both always very helpful with restaurant recommendations and there are lots of choices in the area. The inn is also conveniently located within a couple of blocks of both a mini mart and fantastic gourmet prepared food and sandwich place called Pane E Salute. Having the small fridge in our room meant we could stop in to either of these places and keep easy lunches and snacks on hand for quick breaks in between sight-seeing.

We did have one small bone to pick with our inn-keepers. None of the rooms at the inn have telephones and when we inquired we were told that everyone has a cell phone these days. Whether that's true or not, we were also told on our check-in tour that cell reception in the house was spotty. Hmm...

Nevertheless, we had a great time and the inn lived up to it's reputation. So, thank you, Evelyn and David. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryCoupleNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    45
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
29
444
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The Inn itself is a nice facility, as are many B&Bs. The food is outstanding!! Breakfast is guaranteed to please even the pickiest eater. The difference here is that the setup facilitates discussions with the other guests. There is a nice, well stocked bar just off the breakfast room. We came in after a day of leaf peeping and had David set up a couple of drinks for us. We were soon joined by other guests who similarly appreciated the convenience and conviviality! We were able to learn much more about the area by listening to others' adventures.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneeasytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This was my girlfriend's first time in VT and her first stay at a B&B. This trip was my birthday gift to her ... our stay at the Village Inn could not have been more perfect. The room was spacious and luxurious, very romantic. The breakfasts each morning were delicious, especially Evelyn's baked treats. The dining room and bar were cozy and inviting. Evelyn and David are so relaxed and hospitable, we felt like we were staying with friends. Since 1980, I've traveled to VT every 2 - 3 years in October for the autumn colors. I've been to Woodstock before but this was my first time staying there and my first time at Village Inn, but it definitely will not be the last. Everything about the inn and the town of Woodstock are just what you imagine when planning a romantic getaway, a warm, cozy B&B in a quaint New England town.

Room Tip: From what we saw, each room has something special to offer, whether it's the view, the bed or th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
280 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The Village Inn is a beautiful home along a busy highway; a highway that puts you within easy walking distance to almost everything Woodstock offers; because it is a busy highway you will experience the noise from the road in the front bedrooms; being experienced Inn and B&B stayers, we came prepared with the necessary earplugs one needs on occasion to deal with these minor distractions. The recent hurricane damage and the truck traffic associated with the necessary repairs were major contributors to the noise during our stay; for us this was not a distraction; we recognized the need to do the phenomenal amount of repairs needed in the area.

The people of Vermont are to be commended and applauded for the hard work and efforts in getting the state roads passable for it's residents as well as he visitiors during the fall foliage season.

We stayed for 4 nights at the Inn; each day it felt more and more like home; Tanya's prescence at breakfast was a delight as she went over the daily breakfast "choices". Our rooms were immaculate, the bathroom is small but one needs to realize that homes built at the time this home was built did not provide for the addition of large bathrooms. What is important is the cleanliness of the bathroom and ours was perfect. The bed was very comfortable, a flat screen TV and wireless connectivity provided the information for the next day's activities.

Every day the food was excellent, particularly the belgian waffles and maple sausage; Evelyn and David are excellent inn owners and hosts who provided the right balance between travel assistance and allowing guests to feel at home.

We truly enjoyed enjoyed are visit to the Village Inn and Woodstock.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper request a room in the rear of the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merrymonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Our second visit to the Village Inn. We arrived with a warm welcome and a wonderfully clean room (#5). David and Evelyn, even with a broken hip, were inviting and helpful with orienting us to the area. Breakfast was fantastic. The location was great for walking into town for a coffee or dinner.

We ate at the new Caribbean restaurant (name slips my mind) and Osteria. Both served very good food. However Osteria was trip back to Italy. Do not forget to make a reservation at Osteria. If you do not get a chance to eat here you have missed the best of Woodstock.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunns4sail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The owners of this Woodstock, Vermont Inn were very welcoming and accommodating.
Our room was well done and very comfortable. It had Victorian decor, and had every thing we needed for a comfortable stay. This Inn is within walking distance of town's main attractions, shopping and restaurants. The breakfast was delicious and we would definitely stay here again.
Our stay here came after a very negative experience at a bed and breakfast in New Hampshire so we were very happy with everything here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Pa.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I, and our very dear friends decided to have a get- away weekend in New England. We scheduled it for August 26th-28th. We had booked a flight to Manchester, New Hampshire so that we could really get away for 3 days without taking a lot of traveling time. Unfortunately when the week arrived, the weather forecast was predicting Hurricane Irene. We attempted to call the Village Inn at Woodstock to see if we could reschedule our weekend since the weather forecast was rather frightening for the entire coastal area leading up to New England. The owners very adamantly said no, there was no chance that we could reschedule the weekend. Since we were 4 professionals with many obligations for Monday we felt we couldn’t take a chance that our flight would be canceled on Sunday, so we decided to drive instead. We very reluctantly left our homes in Philadelphia despite the terrible forecast of potential flooding, hurricane winds etc. We really didn’t feel like we wanted to loose hundreds of dollars because the owners were unwilling to change our weekend. (Now mind you, this was not just a tropical storm forecasted)

We drove up to Vermont and really found we relaxed and kept our anxiety about the potential weather problems from interfering with our trip. We arrived at the Village Inn and found the accommodations to be very comfortable. Our breakfast on Saturday was very good. We thoroughly enjoyed the town of Woodstock. It is very charming and just beautiful. Unfortunately Hurricane Irene was looming over our heads –you couldn’t turn on the news without worrisome forecasts. We really felt that we had no choice but to leave early Sunday morning, before the storm hit the New England area. We very nicely asked David and Evelyn if they could kindly provide breakfast at 7AM. Now of course we knew it would be difficult to cook a special meal for us, so we would be happy if they could leave out cereal and milk, or perhaps a toaster with bread and maybe coffee. Despite extraordinary circumstances (Hurricane Irene) we did not fit into their 8AM-9: 30 AM schedule for breakfast, so we were out of luck. Not only did they refuse!!!! To serve breakfast early, but were extremely rude when we asked if they could just leave us something to self-serve. They very emphatically informed us that breakfast begins at 8AM!! I would never stay in this Inn again and would rate the host and hostess as the most self- centered couple totally unwilling to accommodate their guests.

Room Tip: I sent this review previously and am very upset that this hasn't shown up yet. I feel that peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnwoodstock, Owner at The Village Inn of Woodstock, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
We are so very sorry that we obviously failed to meet the needs of these guests. Unfortunately weather is completely out of our control; it is why we personally buy trip insurance when we travel, and also recommend it to our guests. Nonetheless, we do appreciate that they joined us prior to the arrival of the hurricane, which was not predicted to impact Vermont.
When I spoke with the guests, I explained that I would be happy to prepare a continental breakfast (which would include yogurt, fruit, granola and pastry and juice) for them to take with them. We have done this for many other guests in the past, and it has always satisfied. The guest was insistent that his group wanted to be served breakfast at 7 a.m. I am sorry that we are unable to accommodate each request that a guest makes, but it is not possible for us to do so. In any event, the guests said that they would join us at 8 a.m., but instead chose to leave early. I did not charge these guests for their bar tab ($39.60) since I thought that this seemed fair since they chose to leave before breakfast. I am sorry that they are so angry, and apologize that we did not make them happy. We do hope that you will take into consideration that 198 reviewers have given us a"5" on this site, and that 5 have reviewers given us a "1". We look forward to meeting you!
Thank you,
Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
2.3 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
2.2 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn of Woodstock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn of Woodstock

Property: The Village Inn of Woodstock
Address: 41 Pleasant St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn of Woodstock 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian splendor meets modern convenience at this boutique hotel in the village. This luxury Vermont inn features 8 romantic guest rooms, all with private baths, period antiques, color cable TV, Wi-Fi and air conditioning. Guests enjoy sumptuous 3-course candlelight breakfast, featuring a selection of entrees, inn-made breads and pastries, served at individual tables. This romantic Vermont bed and breakfast also offers a tavern and terrace with pond and perennial garden exclusively for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Village Inn of Woodstock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn Of Woodstock Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing