We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jackson House Inn
Nearby Hotels
Braeside Lodging(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
506 On The River Inn(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Woodstock Motel(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Shire Woodstock(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
$159
$129
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge(Quechee)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 White River Junction(White River Junction)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White River Inn and Suites(White River Junction)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveler rating
482
10
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
482
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrick's breakfastsmary todd lincolntwo courseslocal farmswelsh rarebitb battention to detailfrette linenseach morningbreakfast creationsbacon and eggsmy husband and ifloor to ceilingfront porchbalcony overlookinghis passiongrounds are gorgeous
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
302 - 307 of 492 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed just for one night in this lovely inn but wished we could have stayed longer. The owners of the Inn were very welcoming and Breakfast was delicious!!! We stayed in the Nicolas 1 suite which was very spacious and had a wonderful gas fireplace. The Inn had great little touches like a Keurig coffee maker in the bar area so you could make yourself a cup of coffee anytime. Also they had coffee out first thing in the morning for those of us who can't wait until breakfast for our first cup of the day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahBurlington_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kterwelp, Owner at Jackson House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you for choosing to spend time with us for your "in-state" getaway - it was a treat to meet both of you! This winter has definitely been a season for fireplaces and on-demand coffee; we're happy you enjoyed both. As you note, though, that fresh Vermont-roasted coffee in the morning remains most important to many of us! Here's to spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is probably the nicest b&b I've stayed in anywhere. The owners, Rick and Kathy, have obviously spent a lot of time and money refurbishing it when they bought it three years ago. It is beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable, both our room and the rest of the inn. They keep a fire going in the great room adjacent to the breakfast room. And speaking of breakfast, Rick is an inventive gourmet cook whose breakfasts I will not soon forget. Rick uses local and organic products when possible and does a wonderful job describing what you are eating and how it was made. Both Rick and Kathy are unobtrusively helpful with restaurant suggestions and things to do. I would definitely stay here again if I were anywhere close by.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cranberry Room, the only one on the ground floor. Though it is small, it's nicely decorated and cozy, and the bathroom has a modern tiled walk-in shower. One plus for this room is the adjacent library, a great place to sit which feels like an extension of the room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kterwelp, Owner at Jackson House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell others about your time at our inn, and for such kind compliments. We have enjoyed blending the beauty found in a historic building with the comfort we hope makes everyone feel at home. And, the floor-to-ceiling fireplace has definitely been a popular location during this incredibly cold winter, at breakfast and throughout the evening! Woodstock offers so many options for activities and for dining - we're happy you found our suggestions useful and would love to share new ideas with you if a return visit to the area comes to pass.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at many Inn's and B&B's throughout New England and the East Coast, and we recently returned from our 4th visit to The Jackson House Inn which remains our favorite!. The Inn is as charming and smoothly-run when Rick and Kathy acquired it over four years ago, and the beautifully restored historic building, unique rooms, common areas and grounds provide a peaceful and cozy retreat we look forward returning to each winter.
More importantly, Kathy and Rick are warm, knowledgeable and wonderful hosts. They are very well-connected locally, providing excellent insight about dining, skiing, dog sledding, or other activities, and their recommendations are always spot–on. Rick's breakfasts are always a special treat, and his passion and love for food comes through not only with his cooking, but his description of each meal, which is quite unique!
Overall, The Jackson House Inn is a very warm, comfortable and relaxing "home", and we look forward to our next visit!.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLSMIELE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We just spent the most amazing two nights at the Jackson House Inn. We stayed in the Cranberry room that was small ,but sophisicated and beautifully decorated. It overlooked a snow covered backyard that that was a true winter wonderland.
I loved the the charm of the other rooms including an incredible library that was filled with books on Vermont, including about 150 cookbooks by some of the top chefs in the country. There was a bar in another area had small tables and a kurig coffee machine for coffee, tea or apple cider. I enjoyed sitting at the stone fireplace relaxing after a long day of cross country skiing.
However,he BEST part of our stay were the most incredible breakfasts that we had both mornings. The breakfast was both delicious and creative as any 4 star restaurant. The presentation was really unbelievable!!
Kathy and Rick were gracious hosts that were quite available to help you make arrangements or give you information on the events in the area. I look forward to returning to the Inn in the summer.

Room Tip: I loved the Cranberry room. It was on the main floor facing the backyard. It was quiet, small and you could walk outside to the backyard.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelly t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Me and my wife visited the Inn in last week of February. This is very homely Inn and the name "House Inn" justifies it. Kathy and Rick have put a lot of efforts in keeping it very welcoming and clean. The Suites are amazing but the single rooms are a little small. This is not in the city center of Woodstock like other "BIG" inns which are a lot commercialized. 3-4 min drive to the city center.
Breakfast made by Rick is very special. He has passion for food and you will not get this experience at other places.
There are no fancy facilities like Fitness Center, Pool or even a refrigerator in the room.

Room Tip: Prefer suite over a room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews