We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Charleston House
Ranked #7 of 15 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My sisters and I just returned from an overnight stay. We loved this B & B! The rooms are beautifully decorated, the beds are comfy and the hosts are very welcoming. The breakfast is absolutely wonderful-no need for lunch! It has a very convenient central location and even though Woodstock is very walkable, it is nice that there is a free trolley running with various stops throughout the town. We would definitely return and recommend this establishment that is perfectly in keeping with the other quaint and historic buildings in Woodstock.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdk1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 162 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at this Inn in early May during our driving trip around New England.
Woodstock is a delightful town and The Charleston House is a comfortable, spotlessly clean
establishment with luxuriously appointed rooms. We were the only guests and our hosts were
charming and helpful. Breakfast was traditional and delicious with attentive, friendly service.
We enjoyed the family feel of the Inn with framed photographs and delightful pictures.
A really pleasant experience as part of our holiday in U.S.A.

Room Tip: Advisable to select a room at the rear of the Inn as could be noisy on the main street in the holid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penelope L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was on a five day motorcycle journey through VT and when heading back south to my home in CT, it started to rain. I got to Queechee, VT and pulled into a shop with WiFi and searched for nearby accomodations. I came across The Charleston House and called them, explaining my precidament. They said "Yes - come on down - we've got plenty of room!". I headed south to the hamlet of Woodstock - a elegant and inviting little down, filled with historic buildings and quaint shops and found the Inn - a beautifully kept vintage home. Once inside I met Dixie and his wife Willa (the owners) who were more than gracious - they even moved their car to allow me to park the bike under their carport! They put me up in the most gorgeous room I think I've ever stayed in complete with a mile high bed (with stairs), a fireplace, AND a Jaccuzzi Tub! That tub was especially welcoming as I had been roughing it the past couple days staying at campsites and cabins. I so enjoyed that room and the next morning they prepared a wonderful breakfast and sat with me an chatted about the area and my trip over the next hour. As the Inn was quet as it was an off day, they allowed me to stay as long as I needed to so I could take a stroll through the shops in town which I so enjoyed.

I will definitely be back to this place to visit this lovely B&B and the wonderful folks who own/run it!

Room Tip: The Summer Kitchen Room is where I stayed - I would highly recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

yes, the charleston house is charming and in the heart of woodstock, a beautiful vermont town. yes, willa and dixii are warm and inviting. however, the breakfast that willa puts on the table is second to none. it is delicious and it is plentiful. in fact, i skipped lunch each time i had willa's breakfast. i can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trailon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have just spent two wonderful nights at this lovely B&B.
The entire property is spotlessly clean.
Our room was beautifully and luxuriously appointed with no comfort- detail overlooked.
Breakfast was served in an elegant dining room and it was a sumptious, gourmet feast!
Willa and Dixi are the consummate hosts--warm, friendly, helpful.
An added bonus is the asy walking distance to dining and shopping.
We try to plan a getaway at this time every year.
The Charleston house will now be our Woodstock choice!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaFiVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is an Inn with a period feel in easy walking distance of the shops and restaurants in Woodstock. Our room was large and comfortable with a four poster bed. Although we were at the front of the property, we didn't have any issues with noise from the road.
We've never previously stayed at a hotel or B&B where none of the rooms had locks. It was a bit unsettling at first but everything was fine!
The breakfasts were gigantic - beautifully cooked and presented but too much for everyone around the table at our 8:30 sitting (the other sitting was at 9:30). The dining room and table were very attractive and it was good to have the opportunity to talk to other guests.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank nobletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Arrived here for 1 night to be told there was a free upgrade available for us! On seeing the room, Summer Kitchen, we decided to stay 2 nights! Lovely B&B, spotlessly clean & beautifully furnished. We had both a fireplace and jacuzzi bath. There is parking at the B&B and free wi-fi.
Breakfast is served at a table with other guests which was very interesting. The breakfast was delicious and different on both mornings. We had no special food requirements but Willa did check this with us on arrival.It is only a few minutes walk to Woodstock and its shops & restuarants. The owners were always available to help guests and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuMacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
2.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
0.1 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
2 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 15 in Woodstock
484 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Lincoln Inn & Restaurant at the Covered Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charleston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charleston House

Address: 21 Pleasant St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1111
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: $164 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charleston House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid the ambiance and historic tradition of the village, A part of what makes Woodstock special. Walk to surrounding art galleries, museums, shops and Vermont's National Park. Comfort and warm hospitality. Period antiques, fine reproductions, an eclectic selection of art, and Oriental rugs. 9 rooms, all with private bath. Some rooms with TV, fireplace and jacuzzi tub. Sumptuous candlelit breakfasts. Air-conditioning. Free wi-fi. Close to ski areas, golf courses, and Dartmouth College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Charleston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing