We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canterbury House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like a home away from home”
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Woodstock, Vermont: The Canterbury House Bed & Breakfast "An absolutely enjoyable stay in a B&B.

Date of stay: July 30-Aug 3, 2008.

Reviewers: Frequent visitors to New England (especially Vermont)

This was our fourth visit to the Canterbury House a delightful bed & breakfast located in the picturesque town of Woodstock, Vermont. On our first visit back in 2003, we fell in love with the town. With its lovely old homes, tree lined streets, and quaint shops, Woodstock is one of the prettiest small towns in Vermont. We have returned to Woodstock three times since 2003 and each time we have chosen to stay at the Canterbury House.

The Canterbury House is a charming early 19th century home located within easy walking distance of the center of town. The inn keepers are engaging and friendly and made us feel very welcome on our first stay (so much so that we feel this is our home away from home whenever we're visiting in Vermont). The rooms are pleasantly decorated with antique furnishings and the breakfasts are delicious and beautifully presented. We have enjoyed each day spent in this lovely B&B and wholeheartedly recommend it as a place to stay when visiting in central Vermont.

  • Liked — The location, the friendliness of the innkeepers, the house (bedrooms, parlor, dining room)
  • Disliked — We enjoyed everything about our stay
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ECandGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    13
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
50
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We recently spent 3 days wonderful relaxing days at the Canterbury House. We stayed in the Chaucers Garrett. It is a huge, very comfortable and thoroughly charming room. The King size bed was pure comfort, providing a wonderful sleep.
My wife loved the sitting area which was comfortable and inviting and beckoned you to curl up and read a book or just watch television. The room is quiet and private

The innkeepers Susan and Bob Frost seemed like old friends who we had not seen for years although we just met them. They are gracious and friendly and made us feel at home. They know the area and are ready willing and able to help their guests plan a wonderful itinerary in the Woodstock area. Their suggestion of lunch at the Long Trail Brewery after a morning of hiking was great, as was their dinner suggestion for the Prince and the Pauper which was perfect and so nice to be able to walk to dinner.

Breakfast is an important part of the B&B experiance and in our opinion we have never had better breakfasts. Sue's waffles are out of this world and after eating the veggie egg bake my wife had to get the recipe. Breakfast is not for the timid eater. It will last you till dinner.

We loved Woodstock and we loved the Canterbury House; it provides warmth charm and the hospitality of the innkeepers. We have stayed at a great number of B&B's up and down the East Coast and the Canterbury House is tops.

Helpful?
Thank john07757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenonah NJ
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2008

I must say that I disagree with the other comments. My husband and I had a great stay at the Canterbury. WE loved the breakfast and it is family style but it didn't seem to bother anyone. The Inn keepers are very friendly they showed so much to do and were to eat dinner. I didn't think there were to many rules I never heard the one about breakfast. It was a nice time. I can assure that more then one person can fit into the bathroom. This is one of the best inn in Woodstock.

  • Liked — Very Friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank megan1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for one night during a new england vacation this summer. During our vacation we stayed at 6 different B&Bs so we had a good mixture with which to compare.

The rooms here are clean and comfortable, but VERY small. The bathroom was the size of a closet and had room for one (small) person at a time.

The location is great as it is truly a short walk to the adorable downtown of Woodstock and the popular Village Green.

We had breakfast at the "family style" communal table at the single seating of 8:30am. The inn keeper pulled up a chair and kept the conversation going with stories. The food was especially good.

The only downside is that the innkeeper Sue seems to like to keep very tight control of guests while they are staying at her Inn. She had a long list of "rules" and even down to sitting at the table with the guests (but not eating) during breakfast. One could give the benefit of the doubt and say that she liked to be social - but another side of the coin is that you could feel constrained and feel she is overly controlling.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
21 Thank cmm_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstockfan, owner, Susan Frost at Canterbury House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 20, 2007
Normally, I do NOT respond to a travellers review in a public forum, but because CMM_travels comments are vague and confusing, I felt some clarification is needed.

CMM_travels commented that our rooms are VERY small with equally small bathrooms. The Canterbury House has 7 rooms of various sizes (all price accordingly) with en suite bathrooms.

I am confused by her statement and I quote "The only downside is that the innkeeper Sue seems to like to keep very tight control of guests while they are staying at her inn. She had a long list of "rules" and even down to sitting at the table (but not eating ) during breakfast".

First , I NEVER intended to be controlling and do NOT believe I am, but without specifics, it is difficult to respond.

Second, the few "rules" we have are to the benefit and comfort of EVERY one of our guests. (i.e....we are Non Smoking)

Lastly, we DO mingle with our guests at breakfast AND we consider that to be an important part of the bed and breakfast experience.

In closing, as innkeepers, (for 10 years) we ALWAYS welcome ANY type of feedback AND...we take it VERY seriously. We appreciate CMM_travels comments and regret she was not totally satisfied with some aspects of her stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2004

The rooms at this inn are very very small. The bathrooms are so small that only 1 person can fit at a time. I think the innkeepers seperated 1 room into 2 so that they could double the rent. Who can blame them?
It is Woodstock, VT. The innkeepers are nice enough. The couple does not go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. You eat an average tasting (sorry Sue) breakfast at one table with everyone else who is staying at the inn. it is a little awkward. I recommend eating breakfast downtown instead. The inn is located about 1/2 mile from the downtown square. It is next door to a small grocery store. We are going back to VT next summer & are not staying at this inn. We are staying at the gorgeous (and pricey) Mountain Top Inn.

Helpful?
54 Thank s d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
2.3 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
401 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
284 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
0.2 mi away
The Charleston House
The Charleston House
#6 of 16 in Woodstock
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Canterbury House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 43 Pleasant St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1129
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing